USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by allen
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by William
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Written by john
Alber E-motion
Written by John
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by Kathleen
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by JP
Lifestand LSC
Written by Max
Pride Mobility Go Go
Written by Allan
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by James
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by alex
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Aquila Corp Airpulse PK
Image of Aquila Corp Airpulse PK
Automatic alternating pressure relief cushion which inflates and deflates two cells groups to change pressure contact points and maintain circulation.

• Three control models including one that is powered from 24 volt power chair batteries
• 7 standard sizes. Custom sizes also available
• Digital displays for firmness and cycle times
• Microprocessor is programmed to match client weight
• Fully adjustable pad firmness and cycle times
• Full inflation customization capabilities
• Pad wall thickness is a full 30 mill
• Quick conversion allows isolated cells to be quickly added to full dynamic function
• Positive ventilation feature disperses deflated air directly to the pad surface on every cycle
• Control module weighs 2 lbs for standard battery model, 1 ½ lbs for power- chair model
• Self contained battery model operates for over 45 hours per charge
• Battery can be charged at any time with no loss in capacity
• Low pressure and low battery alert
• Remote control and mini remote control options
• Cover is machine washable
• Pump expected life is 4 years. • Battery expected life is 5 years
• One year warranty included with purchase. Warranty extension and/or maintenance agreement also available
• Same day turnaround for warranty work/repairs
• Demo program available
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1962
Durability?4.635.004.50
Ease of use?4.744.834.00
Meet expectations?4.535.004.50
Overall Rating:4.425.004.50
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Michael from Princeton Junction NJ, USA submitted this review on July 14th 2011 at 12:32 PM. Michael is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:This was a cushion of last resort for me. I have severe MS and am functionally quadriplegic. I lead an active life but am unable to weight shift and it's just not possible to tilt as often as I should. I've used a Jay 2, Roho, Roho Hybrid, Isch Dish and none of them worked. I've had flap surgery for a stage IV and further hospitalization for bilateral stage II pressure ulcers so it was getting desperate. The try-before-you-buy program is a no-brainer. It was clear the first  day I used it that the cushion was better than anything I'd had before but the 14 day trial allowed me to stress test it on Boston sidewalks (they're the worst) and also pressure map it so when I committed, I was sure it was right. Yes, the cushion is expensive, but you really, really don't want to get pressure sores and besides: 20% Medicare co-insurance is also expensive. Actually, after my last hospitalization, I'm now on air 24/7, using an alternating air pressure mattress. Cushions are very personal things, but if you are high risk for pressure ulcers, I would recommend that you take a careful look at this cushion.
Weaknesses:This is not so much a weakness but more a consequence of a technically sophisticated piece of DME. There are tubes, cables, a pump, microprocessor, etc. and unfortunately things can break, cables can get snagged. As with a rehab power chair, my advice is "know your equipment" so at least when things go wrong, you can get someone to help debug and fix. It is well engineered but anything more complex than a concrete block will, at some point, break.
Comments:Despite a few issues, I found Aquila to be an exemplary company. They take customer care very seriously and have been excellent throughout pre-sales, sales and post-sales service. You should rightly be nervous about being dependent on a complex device, but I have found Aquila's service to be excellent.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lesley from Branford, Ct. USA submitted this review on December 31st 2010 at 08:44 PM. Lesley is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to set up, easy to use. Booklet is simple and straightforward.This product is a Godsend! Without it, my husband would be unable to sit up for extended periods of time, due to extensive flap surgery. The company was extremely helpful with both our order and the follow up afterward. We give this product two thumbs up and highly recommend it!
Weaknesses:Slight hum while it is on. Not a big deal.
Comments:We purchased the product outright, then submitted it to the insurance company, which paid us back 100 %! We had our plastic surgeon write a prescription and also a letter of medical necessity (in case we needed it). Regarding the mapping, send in as much information as possible and answer all the questions.The pad is custom built to the patient.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Dan from Coon Rapids, Minnesota submitted this review on June 2nd 2010 at 12:59 PM. Dan is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am a quad and have been in a wheelchair for 37+ years. Until the last four years I had been very lucky and had few problems with pressure sores. However, in 2007 I started having chronic issues with pressure sores resulting in two surgeries. During my time in a wheelchair I have used a number of different cushions including a foam horseshoe cut out, roho, gel filled, and custom made cushions. Over the last three years I've developed a pressure sore that limited my seating. I spent the entire day between seating normally and tilting. This greatly impacted my work and time with my family. I tried all types of cushions. Recently I received the cushion from Aquila and started using it right a way. I have been able to sit up 14 to 17 hours per day without tilting. My chronic pressure sore has been improving, notwithstanding the long days sitting.

The people at Aquila were very helpful in getting the right cushion, measurements, etc. The cushion was very easy to install. I would strongly recommend the fan.
Weaknesses:The cushion is expensive, but well worth the cost.
Comments:This cushion has given me my life back. As noted above the staff at Aquila were very helpful. I just wish that I could have gotten insurance to pay for it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Nancy from Florida submitted this review on May 6th 2010 at 08:25 PM. Nancy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:few, I purchased this cushion about 4 years ago. It was $3500. It helped somewhat when I had a stage 4 sacral wound. But then it became problematic. The cells which are foam with air began to flatten out. I had to send it back 3 times at my expense to have it modified. Customer service is not very nice if you start to have problems with their cushions. And we were stupid enough to buy another battery and cushion for over $2500 because they convince me the new model was better. Well it was painful and I have not used it for about 6 months. we are out over $7000 when you include all the shipping costs we incurred. It definitely is not worth the money.
Weaknesses:Many
Comments:I do not recommend this cushion system
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Rick from Dresden, OH submitted this review on December 21st 2009 at 03:39 PM. Rick is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:When patient seated correctly it works wonderfully!
Weaknesses:It requires exact seating positioning.
Comments:I had a chronic decub on my right ischial for 18 years. It healed over within 2 months of using the Airpulse PK. Even my hips are better off with this cushion.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Bruce from East Haddam, CT USA submitted this review on June 20th 2009 at 12:18 PM. Bruce is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Extremely well-concieved and designed cushion.
Customized to each user's problems, weight, and seating bias.
User controls permit adjustments to typical changing needs.
Customer service is excellent. They maintain users' records and
will modify the cushion for more extensive changing needs.
Materials used are of high quality and durabilty.
Weaknesses:Noise from air pump providing alternating presure relief can be
mildy distracting and annoying. But most users become
accustomed to it. Aquila will work with user to minimize the
problem. They did with mine.
Comments:The effect of the Airpulse PK has been nothing short of amazing. I am a long-time C7 quadriplegic. In recent years, I have had chronic problems with Stage II ulcers, many small lesions (cracks), and a severe rash. Affected areas include the pereneum, cocsyx, buttocks (ITs), and groin. Causes have been pressure and the moisture from prespiration. I supplied Aquila with a pressure map and filled out their forms in detail to provide a profile. Their custom cushion shortly began to improve my situation, but I added their supplemental air circulation fan (MCU or Moisture Control Unit). That add-on had a significant further effect. The improvement has been dramatic. I have been completely free of all the problems noted above for almost two months, and the skin is virtually normal.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Billy from Enterprise, FL submitted this review on January 14th 2009 at 12:50 PM. Billy is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I went from sitting 1.5 hours two times a day on my ROHO to sitting 12-14 hours a day on my Airpulse PK.
Weaknesses:Bulky when removing it from chair to truck. Cost but turned out to be well worth it.
Comments:I think it's great, I can fish again!I spend all day on the lake thanks to my Airpulse PK.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Terry from Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States submitted this review on January 7th 2009 at 10:25 AM. Terry is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:EXCELLENT caring customer service; easy-to-use; durable; relatively quiet considering the mechanics involved; very comfortable
Weaknesses:Owner's manual/instructions could be a bit more detailed; somewhat expensive, could be cost prohibitive without insurance assistance
Comments:I have used a static air cushion for 25 years & it just stopped working for me. I have been struggling with skin sores in the gluteal creases on both sides for the last 3-4 years caused by constant pressure & moisture from body heat. After we started using this cushion, with GREAT care & consistent use of the Airpulse PK, within three months all of my sores are gone! I read the testimonials and thought that they seemed too good to be true, I am very glad I was wrong! It's true that I actually did heal as I was sitting on the cushion. Also, I can't say enough good about their customer service. It is EXCELLENT! Not only are they willing to take your calls as often as you need to call them to get your questions answered but, they are actually PROACTIVE and have called me to check on my progress. I can't think of another company that does that. Two pieces of advice that I can give are 1) Be sure to give very accurate measurements & weight so Aquila can set up your cushion perfectly for your individual needs & 2) consult with a skin specialist & a plastic surgeon to obtain strongly worded letters of necessity for your insurance company. The letters should state cost & downtime involved with any surgeries that could occur if this cushion is not paid for by the insurance company. Ask the doctors to be very detailed. It won't only scare you but will also influence the insurance companies to see the cost of the cushion is a tiny fraction of the costs of surgery!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Nancy from Florida submitted this review on September 21st 2008 at 09:59 PM. Nancy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I had a Stage 4 pressure wound in my sacrum for 3 plus years. I was in a nursing home in Johns Hopkins for 9 months and in and out of hospitals and nursing homes in Florida for about 2 years. I went to 4 wound centers and a few wound doctors. They all said I need flap surgery. Due to the nature of my illness I would not have survived the surgery.

I had several infections and was treated with over 53 antibiotics. I almost died 6 times due to this. I was desperate when I started Googling for a wound center, mattress and wheelchair cushion.

I found Aquila. I have been on the Airpulse for almost 2 years. My wound healed August 2007 and I have been wound free ever since. I am able to spend hours up because of this cushion whereas in the past I was confined to lying flat in bed.
Weaknesses:The foam is a little hard and uncomfortable around the thighs but has not caused any skin issues. Also I wish there was a dealer locally to me that was a rehab specialist to measure me properly for the cushion. Other than that I am very satisfied.
Comments:I highly recommend this cushion.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Harold from Milford, MA USA submitted this review on August 4th 2008 at 10:24 AM. Harold is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Since my wife began using the Airpulse PK cushion, she has had absolutely no pressure sores - for five years. I strongly recommend this product - I tell everyone about the cushion in the New England SCI community. Please use this product - it will save you many trips to your Wound Care Center.
Weaknesses:This is not really a weakness, but I wish Invacare would have a pocket on the back of the wheelchair into which the air compressor could be placed.
Comments:The team at Aquila has been very helpful - they are a pleasure to do business with.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Maria from La Crosse, WI, USA submitted this review on April 13th 2008 at 12:41 PM. Maria is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Cushion was immediately comfortable, easy to operate, custom fitted to the client, durable and effective.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:After my client with spinal cord injury developed a stage 3 pressure ulcers on his ishiums, he was unable to sit in his wheelchair without being in severe pain. He was bed ridden and frustrated for about 5 months before being offered the Aquila cushion. The cushion and staff of Aquila have been life savers. My client immediately was able to sit on the cushion for several hours, and now he enjoys being up in his wheelchair for 8+ hours per day. Aquila worked to make additional changes to the custom ishium cells, which have provided the extra relief needed when sitting longer. The staff at Aquila are incredible! Customer service and satisfaction comes natural to them. I highly recommend this cushion to anyone and speak with high recommendations whenever given the opportunity.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Victoria from Fall Branch, TN USA submitted this review on March 10th 2008 at 02:39 PM. Victoria is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Reliability, durability.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I've had this for over a year. It took all of my pain away. I can sit in my chair for hours. ROHO's didn't help at all.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
J. from Spokane, WA submitted this review on February 15th 2008 at 04:08 PM. J. is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:As a registered nurse with 10 plus years experience in Durable Medical Equipment for wound patients, I am more than pleased to be able to offer comments regarding the Airpulse PK. Many years ago I represented the Pegasus ALtern8 and at the time, I believed it was the bst on the market. Since I have become acquainted with the Aquila's Airpulse PK , I now feel confident that the Airpulse PK offers all and more than the Altern8 for those people who are confined to wheelchairs. The PK offers a lightweight,portable easy to charge system that both relieves pressure and helps to stimulate bloodflow secondary to the alternation of the cells.
I have had the opportunity over the past year to help place this system with 12-15 patients. All but one have had positive results. If it is something that you are considering to help increase living your life in an upright position without the risk of developing pressure ulcers, this is the system you should evaluate. Aquila offers a non-refundable, low cost 2 week evaluation.
I have become well acquainted with the manufacturers in Wisconsin. They will go above and beyond to support their product. The story of how this product came to be is quite inspiring. It lends to the passion behind the people whoe work at Aquila.
I had the opportunity to do an in-service presentation for the local Wound Care Center in my hometown of Spokane, WA. I presented to the whole Wound Care staff including 6 doctors. When the in-service had concluded the Medical Director of the center stated "this is a very compelling product." They have been instrumental in referring me to many people who have been able to benefit from this state-of-the-art piece of equipment.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Brad from West Plains, Missouri USA submitted this review on October 19th 2007 at 09:20 PM. Brad is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to operate, custom fitted to the patient, very quiet, and most importantly it is effective. This is the real deal, folks!
Weaknesses:Ok, I confess. I too was hit with sticker shock. But after a year with this cushion, I would gladly pay it again.
Comments:This cushion has a place in the market for anyone restricted to any kind of wheelchair, paraplegics and quads alike. After mom's reconstructive surgery to build a flap the results of a ravaging DU, she returned to her static cushion. In six months she developed a stage 2 sore. She reluctantly remained in bed to reverse the damage. She recovered. Yet only a few months later, mom would see a recurrence in the same ischial area in her left trans-gluteal crease. And all this after the harrowing experience she had recovered from involving the reconstructive flap. We were in despair when we came upon the Aquila Corp on the Internet. We did a lot of research and finally decided to make the purchase of the cushion. The Airpulse PK has been a blessing to my mom and our family. Mom enjoys a good quality of life as a healthy paraplegic. We can now preserve the marvelous flap done by the plastic surgeon by utilizing this automatic pressure relieving device that ensures adequate pressure relief and blood flow to mom's seat. I can recommend the Airpulse PK wheelchair cushion system without reservation.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Lee from Maplewood,NJ,USA submitted this review on July 15th 2007 at 07:38 PM. Lee is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is the only cushion that has eliminated the pain in my left ischial. From constant pain to zero pain - instantly! And the Aquila staff is wonderful - caring and super responsive.
Weaknesses:It was hard to get a demo in our area, and the cushion is expensive - but insurance finally covered it, and it was definitely worth the battle and the wait.
Comments:I got this cushion about three years ago. I had a developing bed sore on my left ischial, and for years I tried all the cushions on the market suggested by doctors and therapists - foam, gel, static air and all kinds of combinations of them. Nothing helped, and my doctors and therapists did not know of any other options. So I searched the Internet and found the Aquila customized alternating pressure cushion. I am writing this to make more people aware of this great cushion- it is the only one that has worked!!!!! I wish that everyone could afford to try it, because then you'd never give it up. Maybe more advocating by users to the medical community will get this cushion covered more routinely by medical plans.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Sean from Hendersonville, NC submitted this review on July 12th 2007 at 08:26 AM. Sean is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable, easy to operate, quite, durable ... and provides peace of mind. I can sit without worry for the first time in years. If that is not a strength ... I don't know what is!
Weaknesses:Absolutely none!
Comments:If not for this product, I would have ended up having flap surgery and spending months in bed. The APK changed that instantly. Within a few days, my right ischial showed dramatic improvement. Within a few weeks ... a quarter-sized ulcer was all but a lightly colored pink spot! This, simply, is one of the best products on the medical market!

Product support .... Unequaled! The good people at Aquila have been nothing but superb, polite and responsive to my every need. I guarantee you will not find product support like this from anyone in the industry. Yes, it's that good!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Cathy from Birmingham, AL USA submitted this review on October 5th 2006 at 04:40 PM. Cathy is a clinician who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:durable, easy to work with the on/off times. The company works very diligent with you to customize the cushion and meet the patient's needs.
Weaknesses:The foam in the front of the cushion may be a little to firm. Check the skin of your very fragile patients...
Comments:I have only done one of these cushions. I think they have a place in the market for people who are quads who need to stay in a manual WC but can't do an independent pressure relief. See strengths/weaknesses...
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Pam from AZ submitted this review on August 15th 2006 at 11:13 AM. Pam is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable
Weaknesses: 
Comments:This cushion has made a world of difference for me. I feel like I couldn't live without it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Walter from Denver submitted this review on July 5th 2005 at 04:28 PM. Walter is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great cushion, comfortable and quiet.
Weaknesses:Sticker shock
Comments:This is best cushion I ever purchased. It maintains the same cushion pressure at high altitudes and low altitudes. At first I was in shock, until I looked at the price of other cushions. My old cushion was 1/4 the price, but this was a static cushion. I was really impressed with small and quiet controller. A++++
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Diane from Austin, TX submitted this review on June 29th 2005 at 09:53 AM. Diane is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Simple to operate, custom fitted to the patient, very quiet, worked great.
Weaknesses:Little difficult to remove the cover from the cushion for cleaning.
Comments:I ordered the cushion and the company built a cushion designed specifically for my husband. The order process was quick and easy and the cushion worked great. I noticed improvements almost immediately. I especially like the demo program the company offers.

I highly recommend the cushion to anyone!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
David from Rome, Georgia, USA submitted this review on June 12th 2005 at 09:24 AM. David is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:very quiet and it worked as they advertised
Weaknesses:I honestly don't see any weakness with the cushion.
Comments:I have had a persistant sore which would not heal. I tried many other cushions and nothing worked. I saw the cushion on the internet and called aquila. The sales person I spoke with custom designed a cushion made just for me. I noticed improvement within a week. After a month my sore is completely healed! I absolutely love this cushion!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Edwin from Ireland submitted this review on April 5th 2005 at 07:08 PM. Edwin is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I have used a few motorized air cushions before but this is the best one that I have ever used to date. I have only had it a month but i have already found it to be a great help.The only downfall is that it is fairly expensive.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Vicki from Elkhart, IN 46517 USA submitted this review on February 11th 2005 at 02:26 PM. Vicki is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It has alarms on it and does do a good job.
Weaknesses:It is just a little noisey, but it could be just me.
Comments:I would recommend this cushion to any one. The company stands behind thier product great. It seems to do what they claim it does. Of course I would never recommend sitting up on any type of cushion if you already have a pressure ulcer. I had some problems when I first got my cushion, but as soon as they heard about it, they replaced it and made it even better. I have several problems particularly with my left ish area. So they fixed it to baby that particular area even more. I think this company and it's product are great. Again, I highly reccomend them.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Roger from Florida submitted this review on December 4th 2004 at 10:34 PM. Roger is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable, easy to operate, quite
Weaknesses:The owners manual could be a bit more informative.
Comments:The controller is very easy to operate and EXTREEMLY quite. This cushion was custom made for my condition and it worked fantastic, no pain and best of all, no more pressure sores! I have tried other cushions and nothing comes close to the comfort I recieve from this cushion. I called their technical support with a question about the controller settings. They were very freindly and helpful. I higly recommend this cushion for anyone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Dale from St. Francis, MN, USA submitted this review on October 7th 2004 at 01:17 PM. Dale is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I began using the AIRPULSE cushion April 1, 2004, to assist in the healing of a re-curring D.U. It had been a problem for well over a year, and was brought on by the use of a splint to help a broken femur bone heal, but it created a continual abrasion to the ischial area in my left, trans-gluteal crease. The resulting wound was the approximate size of a dime and not quite a quarter inch deep. In about 5 days after April 1st, my wife and caregiver noticed an improvement to the wound, a better and healthier looking tissue and even a reduction in the diameter. We were astonished to notice similar and gradual improvements every few days that was accomplished without increasing bed rest time! It was on May 15th, 2004, just 6 weeks later, that my wife jubilantly exclaimed "IT'S HEALED! IT'S COMPLETELY CLOSED!" I notified Steve Kohlman, President and CEO of AQUILA, immediately of the success and he was happy to tell me that it appeared to be in record time but graciously wouldn't accept all the accolades, and added that I was a perfect candidate in that my flesh healed very quickly.
I sit on the AQUILA cushion now and will till my dieing day, which hopefully is in the far, distant future.
Sincerely,
Dale F. & Gloria D. Berven
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I'd recommend the AQUILA cushion to anybody who is in a wheelchair or anybody who has circulation problems.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bruce from Cottonwood, Arizona USA submitted this review on October 5th 2004 at 04:34 PM. Bruce is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:After sitting on every conceivable brand of cushion I decided to purchase an AirPulse PK. The cushion changed my life. The Hybrid model has allowed me to travel by plane still protecting me, because the cushion is able to alternate off the built in battery. This high technical piece of equipment has not only allowed me to be in my chair longer, but also has prevented further break down on my behind. I also have found that the customer service at the Aquila Corporation has been so helpful in all aspects from the time I purchased the cushion and still to present time with any questions I may have. These people have been professional and attentive to my every need.
Weaknesses:NONE
Comments:After sitting on every conceivable brand of cushion I decided to purchase an AirPulse PK. The cushion changed my life. The Hybrid model has allowed me to travel by plane still protecting me, because the cushion is able to alternate off the built in battery. This high technical piece of equipment has not only allowed me to be in my chair longer, but also has prevented further break down on my behind. I also have found that the customer service at the Aquila Corporation has been so helpful in all aspects from the time I purchased the cushion and still to present time with any questions I may have. These people have been professional and attentive to my every need.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Lucia from WI submitted this review on June 17th 2003 at 08:46 PM. Lucia is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Completley adjustable inflation level and cycle action instead of fixed presets. Very stable pad with contoured tops. Does an excellent job at pressure relieving, the best I have seen! Very quiet operation when it is running.
Weaknesses:Owners manual could have more pictures and a little clearer instructions for setting controls.
Comments:Wonderful product. No sign of any redness from day one. Excellent customer relations. They even made a special custom pad to keep pressure completely away from the left ischial. We couldn't be happier.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy