USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Hurricane
Image of Pride Mobility Hurricane
4 wheel electric scooter
• 8mph top speed.
• Lighted touchpad controls.
• Soft-ride suspension.
• Infinitely adjustable tiller with auto-leveling console.
• Full lighting package.
• Maximum speed of 8 mph.
• Overall Length 59". • Overall Width 26".
• Per-charge Range* (Max) up to 20 - 30 Mi. (varies w/ passenger weight).
• Maximum Speed up to 4/8 MPH variable.
• Turning Radius 74".
• Total weight, incl batteries* 270 lbs.
• Weight w/o Batteries 205 lbs.
• Wheels: Front 4" x 13" - Rear 4" x 13".
• Ground Clearance 4"
• Battery (typical installation) (2) 12V deep cycle (AGM or gel cell), Size: 40 AH.
• Drive Train Sealed transaxle, 24 volt DC motor.
• Battery Weight* 32.5 lbs. ea.
• Battery Charger On board 3A.
• Weight Capacity 400 lbs.
• Seat type (standard) Sport Scooter Highback with headrest and sliders.
• Standard Seat Weight 44 lbs.
• Standard Seat Width 18".
• Standard Seat Depth 16" usable.
• Body colors Candy Apple Red, Viper Blue, Forest Green, Onyx Black
• Heaviest Piece Weight Base/Tiller w/Basket & Mirror 82 lbs.
• Disassembly 7 pieces
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews820
Durability?2.883.500
Ease of use?3.753.000
Meet expectations?3.003.500
Overall Rating:2.623.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


maurice from ottawa ontario canada submitted this review on May 19th 2012 at 07:53 PM. maurice is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:shassy broke where steering collum is.bought it from my brother-in-law witch had it for over five years.Ihad it for 6 years.weild it with a steel bar 4 feet long by 3 inches wide,due to my brother-in-law driving over pot holes full speed.No other problems with it ever since.havent change batteries since 2006 no repairs on it.Igreece everywhere it needs to every year.I swear it's the truth.like cars some has flaws in it some don't.About the batteries,it's no lie.very satisfied.T.Y
Weaknesses:BODY DRIVING OVER POT HOLES LIKE MY BROTHER-IN LAW DID CAN'T BLAME THE COMPANY.
Comments:THE ONLY THING I CAN SAY IS THAT I AM VERY SATISFIED WITH MINE.PEOPLE SAID THAT THE BATTERIES LAST 3 YEARS.I MUST BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Roger from Mesa Arizona submitted this review on December 4th 2009 at 11:33 AM. Roger is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Was nice in the beginning.
Weaknesses:Clicking sound from left rear tire area. 3 techs have come out and said that the transaxle needs to be replaced. This has been going on since August 2009. It is now December 4, 2009. After 3 emails from Spinlife, the company that I bought it from has told me that it is not the transaxle, it is the transaxle and now, I am told that it is not covered under warranty. I bought the extended warranty for it and now, it is worthless. The owners manual states that the transaxle is covered for 3 years, 100% 1st year, 67% 2nd year and 50% 3rd year. I had to replace the batteries 16 months after I bought the scooter. I woulds not let my friends or ememies buy a Pride GARBAGE scooter. They are GARBAGE!
Comments:Garbage in....GARBAGE out!!!!!~~ DO NOT BUY A PRIDE SCOOTER!!!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jeff from Raeford, NC USA submitted this review on October 23rd 2008 at 01:41 PM. Jeff is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good in all terrain, and had the power to go almost anywhere.
Weaknesses:I received my first Pride scooter, the Hurricane model, about September of 2003. At the time, it was the only scooter I could find that could handle the terrain of even getting to my mailbox. I also needed it to travel the 1 mile to the nearest store, as I am unable to drive a car.
Being a former tool & die maker, and engineer, I soon came to realize this scooter was not manufactured for durability. Nor was this scooter even reliable enough for a disabled person to be using! I will not include all of the letter I typed to the manufacturer and supplier after nearly two years of constant problems due to the size of the letter.
Had to have service after only a few months due to battery not charging. Charger was replaced, but took almost a month to get replaced. Notified repairman of other problems at that time:
a.) The socket that the charging cord plugs into is too loose, and comes out when removing cord. NOT SAFE! The "recommended" method of unplugging the cord states "...firmly hold the socket down by placing fingers on each side of the socket. Grasp the plug, NOT the cord, and pull firmly". Needless to say, when the socket STILL comes out of the housing, you are then holding two LIVE 110 volt wires connected to the back of the socket!
I was electrocuted twice. Luckily, I do not wear, or require a pacemaker.
b.) Excessive run-out (wobble) in wheels. This would cause premature drive unit failure. This was told to the repairman when the charger was replaced, but nothing was ever done. I had a friend assist in removing 1 rear wheel. I noticed immediately the straight shaft mounting, which is not good for durability, and eliminating wheel run-out (wobble). It should have a Morse taper mounting for increased stability, durability, and would then have less wheel run-out (wobble). Wheel – to – shaft clearance was then measured at .007”-.008” which is excessive and would cause the wheel to wobble on the shaft, causing excessive wear to the bearings, oil seal, and drive unit .
This was also the source of the "clicking noise" many people mention. It is the rear wheels wobbling on the drive shaft due to the above-mentioned mounting defect.
c.) Asked repairman then about getting better seat (belt or upper body restraint, poor fit, and have to have seat in lowest position AND fully forward because I am so small). Nothing was ever done about this. Why did the salesman take extensive measurements of me, if not for this purpose?
d.) Excessive wobble in seat. Repairman said, “it was supposed to be like that”. This also should be Morse taper mounted, and with a pin through the center (as the seat already has the pin mounting).
e.) Seat needs to be approx. ½ to 1” lower for me. Also, 1 to 2” farther forward. The salesman, Larry XXXX, did measure me when he first came to sell me the scooter. These measurements were evidently "for show only", as they obviously made no attempt at making the scooter to fit me, or making adjustments to the scooter when it was delivered.
Approx. 3 weeks later, while bending over the side (armrest) of the chair, 1 rear mounting bolt broke off from the chair. I was not leaning over excessively! This is caused by the excessive and constant "wobbling" of the seat under normal use, and weakens the mounting screws fit into the wooden seat bottom. But, this did break right rear tail-light cover, and cover for tool and fuse compartment. If this had happened while I was riding , I would have been thrown from the chair!
Batteries failed within 6 months, but due to the many problems, the dealer got the factory to replace the entire scooter.
The replacement scooter had exactly the same problems, and they "neglected" to realize I had no-flat tires on the first model. After several flat tires, and NO asistance from the dealer or factory, a former employer assisted me in lining the tires with Kevlar cloth (he makes bullet-proof vests). However, due to the other same defects as the first model, it did not last an entire year. The "clicking noise" of the excessive wobble in the rear wheels DID eventually cause seal failure in the transaxle, and after "nursing" that along and adding a "plug" to keep adding oil to the transaxle, the motor eventually failed (also due to this "wobbling rear wheel" problem.
Comments:Glad to hear they no longer offer this model! If you are considering a used one for someone who is disabled, and would be in dire shape if stranded somewhere, AVOID this scooter!
Even repeated & well documented contact with the factory leads nowhere!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Rick from Indianapolis, IN submitted this review on September 8th 2006 at 12:14 PM. Rick is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I read some reviews and felt I MUST comment:
- clicking sounds from back of Pride mobility scooters are absolutely normal, and an expected side effect from when the electronic brake is switched "on" and "off" (every time the toggle forward/reverse lever is pressed or depressed)
- if your HMO accepts Medicare, a REQUIREMENT of being a Medicare provider is to service or replace deffective units distributed to their patients FREE OF CHARGE. I read that in the application. If you used medicare to acquire your vehicle, you have every right to take legal action.
- Batteries dying "suddenly" are a clear sign of a bad cell, or multiple bad cells. Pride only warrantee's the original batteries for 6 months, and on the larger scooters, the dealer has the option of ordering without them in order to buy them for less money elsewhere (Pride charges excessively for batteries). Visit a dealer - any dealer - they should be able to get both cells replaced for at or around $200.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Donald from Morton, Illinois, USA submitted this review on July 15th 2005 at 01:19 AM. Donald is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I love the Hurricane for out door use. I live about 5 blocks from my church and I ride my Hurricane rather than get my truck out and drive there.
Weaknesses:I first thought I could load it into the back of my truck, the dealer thought this would work out "OK"
I was told by the Dealer that it would be fine for such things as shopping, but that is only true in some cases.
I had electronics problems with the first Hurricane, so they finally sent me a new Hurricane. This one had a clicking noise in the rear end. I had the dealer listen to it last fall, about two or three weeks after I got it and he agreed there was a problem and he was going to contact the Pride company. The scooter finally quit. Something in the rear end. Who is going to pay for this? This Scooter was bad when I got it!
Comments:The dealer tells me I have to pay labor carges, I don't think so!!! Call me
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Gary from Lynden WA. submitted this review on January 18th 2005 at 10:03 PM. Gary is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have driven this scooter over 14 miles in a day. I weigh 250 and it will haul me up a steep incline. I transport it in a small trailer.
Weaknesses:I need a warning device such as a tractor kill switch in the seat as I have left the key in the on position many times. The turning radius is excessive but that is expected with a four wheeler with big tires. There is no where near enough adjustment on the tilt mechanism of the seat back. Pride sent me a second set of seat hinges and I am experimenting with a better tilt mech.
Comments:I have attached a metal large milk crate to the rear docking mechanism and supported it from the safetly wheel axles. I can carry a lot of weight in and on the box.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Matthew from Sacramento CA USA submitted this review on January 7th 2005 at 11:25 PM. Matthew is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The comfort of the larger seat and the option of speed settings were the final factors in my decision about a four wheel scooter that only the Hurricane offered..
I am six foot four inches and top the scale at 250lbs. I use the scooter primarly outdoors for extended training and social events.i.e I attended an airshow and was able to negotiate a steep entrance to the airfield and then went from one side of the airport to the other at my choice of speed. Fantastic!!! After a few back surgeries my walking stamina has improved, but the scooter makes life so much more enjoyable and special events are attended for much longer periods.
Weaknesses:I understand the Hurricane is no longer available. I can only guess it is due to the choice of operating speeds. The seperate toggle switch, located on the tiller, clearly indicates the mode of response from faster to slower speeds. The icons on the instruments; turtle vs rabbit cues the user how fast the scooter will then go. If a user is slower in control and coordination, or balance adjustment, as needed in turns or banked sidewalks, control could be lost and a serious accident could occur. The only design weakness I find is that the main head light does not meet the ground when the adjustable tiller is brought back for better control.
Comments:I appreciate the power and speed when I need it.The scooter will not bog down in grass or gravel pathways.I find the construction exceeds the design's description . Users must practise and understand what the range of operations are as listed in the clearly written owners manual.I am purchasing an ramp/platform for the back of my van as the Hurricane is too large for the inside of even my extended Town and Country Van.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Peter from NY, USA submitted this review on December 15th 2004 at 01:16 PM. Peter is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Moves fast.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:My kid brother came home from Iraq wounded, requires a walker to walk. We got him this to get around. He's an office clerk. The job is about 2 miles away from home. He drives this too and from work. He sits in the scooter at work. He shops with this. He has no car. His apartment is too small and cluttered for it, but most places it fits fine. He depends on this a lot. He is doing Physical Therapy, because he could regain some mobility, for now this is the best thing for him.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
C. from Bronx,, NY submitted this review on November 8th 2004 at 04:29 AM. C. is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:My hurricane scooter PMV 5000 Tiller were damaged during delivery to my HMO Dec 4 th 2004 and upon taking it out the following morning alone with my daughter and Aide. The scooter
were making loud noised and shaky and jerking, dirty and scarthed when I picked it up from my HMo. In short from the fisr
encounter the scooter had problems yet HMO did nothing nor did
Home Care Supply they refused to send the defective scooter back
to the manufactoring and over a 2 year period the scooter constantly cut off on bridges and crossing major stree with more that four lanes of trafffic and turning over on me injuriy my leg, knee and thight yet Pride wouldnot do anything but fit it over and over and did so very poorly. When the hurricane threw me
over for the third time this June a witness who picked me up from under the huge hurrican informed me That the models were
defective and has broke his mother (65yrs old )leg. The sooter
not easy provide easy assess to train, busses and door way unless they are very large. My ride is not smooth and airy it was ruff and jerky. I would not reommend this scooter unless it is certain that the scooter had no defect. It is a beautiful scooter that a given but mines in my opionon was defective and caused me pain sufferring to date and the refusicalof the company and allowimg my injuries to occure is shoking. I donot recommend the hurricane scooter.
Weaknesses:extremely loose and shaky, floor base and seat fall on my back
constanly this was alleged to be new and the arms were loose and unacceptable shaky Home Care Supply refuse to addresssed
Comments:notin my opoionon a safe scooter users and possible danger.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
bubba from chester, ca. submitted this review on April 2nd 2004 at 09:15 PM. bubba is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:getting thru doors, works great. ready to go when i am. im a 6 ft tall 230 lb. man, when i turn on the 4 way flashers, folks tend to get outta the way....heh heh
Weaknesses:batteries.......when they go dead, they go now! i have been known to push it home....with one leg and one arm, that was fun!
Comments:children tend to want to stick decals on it, big bird, pooh bear and the like.........or they want a ride...alone. grrrrrr
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Chair
Go Go
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel Scooter
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory 9 Scooter
Victory Sport
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Muscle Mobility Scooters)
X-Treme XB-420M
625
Avenger
Aztec
Breeze
Breeze III
Breeze IV
Breeze IV
EW 36
EW 66
Hercules
Mayan
Odyssey
Orbis
Pathfinder XL 4
Pegasus 6
Pegasus 8
PF1
Power Ranger II
Series 8
Special Edition
Sportster B&C
Supercub 44
Tramper Buggy
Voyager
Westminster
Wheetlech Mercury M48
Wrangler
Β  Β 
Β 

Β 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy