USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Image of Sunrise Medical Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Mid wheel drive power electric wheelchair.
• Two base sizes (mini and full).
• Two controller types (programmable and non-programmable).
• Four shroud colors.
• Special "Overland Suspension".
• Onboard battery charger.
• Product Weight: Full: Overall - 147 lbs.; Seat - 36 lbs.; Base 111 lbs.
Mini: Overall - 139.5 lbs.; Seat 36 lbs.; Base 106 lbs.
• Product Width: Full - 24.5" Mini - 22.5"
• Product Length/Depth: Full - 39" with footplate; 33" without footplate.
Mini -38.5" with footplate; 32" without footplate.
• Product Weight Capacity: 300 lbs.
• Seat to Floor Height: Full - 21.25"-25.25". Mini - 19.25"-23.25".
• Speed: Full - 6 mph. Mini - 5 mph.
• Turning Radius: Full - 22.5". Mini - 20.25".
• Seat Width: 18" or 20".
• Seat Depth: 18" or 19".
• Back Height: 26.5".
• Drive Tires: Full - 14" x 3" Flat Free. Mini - 10" x 3" Flat Free.
• Battery Type: Full - Group 22 or Group 24. Mini - UI or 40AH.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1100
Durability?3.5500
Ease of use?4.0000
Meet expectations?3.6400
Overall Rating:3.550.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Jeff from Garfield, AR USA submitted this review on November 18th 2016 at 04:21 PM. Jeff is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Nice looking, quiet,very maneuverable
Weaknesses:Of course the risky dink armrests. But much more critical is the fact that the batteries go to nothing after about five minutes of use. It was the same for all three sets of batteries. I have purchased two additional sets of batteries. Here may be a clue, if I charge the batteries individually and out of the chair, they last all day, however, if I use the on-board charger, they only last a few minutes. Could the on-board charger be bad?
Comments:This will have to do for now
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Richard from Washington DC submitted this review on January 24th 2009 at 06:20 AM. Richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great maneuvarability and speed. comfortable
Weaknesses:If operating correctly, no weaknesses, see below
Comments:Recently my Guardian began acting up. The green go lights quickly disappeared after very little travel. The rehab co installed new "ONE" batteries but the green light fade out continued. Then Rehab two days ago installed new "Eleven" batteries. But the green light fade-out continued. It seems the problem is not the batteries but the green lights. Almost always when I go out even for a short trip I return home with just three yellow lights. This is scary. Rehab doesn't know what the problem is. Help, from Richard
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ronald from Phelps NY USA submitted this review on December 13th 2008 at 08:08 PM. Ronald is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:My gardian Aspire has been rode hard and put away wet and cold many a night. I use it 8 to 10 hours a day in a garage.It is very manoverable and powerfull. It gets used to push all kinds of stuff. My kids and wife call it the Bulldozer.
Weaknesses:Iagree with others that the armrests are weak. wish itwould take a 22nf battery for longer life. controler plug connector doesn't hold up well enther, Have had to clean and twist pins to get a better connection. led lights are to bright for night driving.
Comments:Overall well built and manoverable. i boughtthis chair used.and have had it over 2 years with only 1 set of new batteries. my GO-GO only goes about a year on batteries.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
lance from springfield, missouri submitted this review on December 1st 2007 at 12:42 PM. lance is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:has plenty of power when fully charged, fastest electric chair i have seen
Weaknesses:gears are prone to grinding. had gearbox replaced twice and they still grind all the time = very annoying & noisy. makes the whole chair shake. front tires easily peel off the wheels if you bump anything at all with them. then you must replace the whole wheel/tire/ caster assembly.
Comments:had this chair for 3 years now and despite many claims that this chair has a 25 mile range i can guarantee you that it doesnt even come close to that. i walk my dog with this chair daily on a 1 mile circuit. the sidewalk is even and flat. i get 5 maybe 6 walks before i must recharge the chair. the chair would be lucky to go 7 miles under ideal conditions on a full charge. 25 miles is just impossible!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Chris from Fresno,ca usa submitted this review on May 17th 2006 at 06:40 PM. Chris is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:powerful, once could go almost anywhere
Weaknesses:of late my chair had massive power issues.keept loosing power within 100yards. It went through extensive testing with the service center all about called me a lair after three tests both district manager and sales center followed me around and actualy watch problems but still service center claimed it was ok. finally had to replace it.
Comments:can no longer recommnd this chair a friend also has this chair and claims gearing is now going bad. leaves me wondering with everyone all of a sudden reporting major problems why there is no recall being done on this product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Craig from Duluth, GA USA submitted this review on March 8th 2006 at 04:53 PM. Craig is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my third review of this chair, a full-size Aspire F11. I've had 18 months to beat on this chair now. The power base (6 wheels, 2 motors, batteries and plastic bodywork) has been flawless for my purposes. Fast, comfortable and maneuverable. The seatback and armrests both failed me though, but both parts supposedly have been redesigned by Sunrise and were replaced quickly. The original seatback frame broke, hanging me upside-down by my seatbelt and the height adjustable armrest on my joystick side became an unwelcome and uncontrollable swing-away type. Height adjustment had failed months before, as noted in a prior review. With the redesigned parts this chair, especially the armrests, I've got nothing to really complain about. The new armrests can be pulled in closer to the seat, inside the wheel width keeping them from being split on door frames. The new height adjustment is done with a sturdier screw knob. This chair is no longer marketed as a Guardian product; it is now a Sunrise Aspire.
Weaknesses:I suppose the only weaknesses that haven't to my knowlege yet been addressed is the brightness of all the LEDs on the P&G VSI 50/70 amp integral joystick/controller and inability of a seated rider to engage or disengage the free-wheel rods. I solved the bright LEDs with a piece of electrical tape. Ideally, P&G would allow the option of all LEDs lit as now, or only the highest LED for the battery meter and only the selected speed or mode.
Comments:I'm still impressed with this chair and it is getting better and better as Sunrise addresses the weaknesses. I think the new Sunrise Aspire is an exceptionally good chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Chris from Clovis,Ca USA submitted this review on September 23rd 2005 at 06:44 PM. Chris is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:this is my second chair the first was a Pride Scooter. This is a very versitile chair. Apartment Living is made much eaiser. I am able to get around virtually anyware. The tight turning radius make life easy,hallways are a breeze now.This chair is pretty much self contained for all weather use with exception of joy stick(although I would not recommend extended use in rainly conditions.With care curbs are a breeze.I just upgraded my batteries to the extended range ones making access to outside world better.Bus trips are a breeze with this chair
Weaknesses:like others the arm rests need serious attention not only are they much to fragile but are also way to short for the average person.This is additionally more of a problem if you have Carple tunnel or repetive strain problems. My suggestion is to install the same type of end that joystick has without controls.The chair base holder pins assembly needs to be redesigned with less loose play. the headrest could also use replacement so it meets the head in comfortable postion. As it is now one is almost forced to push head back to meet headrest.I would also suggest a wider foot plate, even with my size 7 shoe it seems a bit crampted to me.
Comments:pound for pound this is quality equiptment(give those other brands run for their money) and for most riders will give years of service if maintained correctly. As with all this type of hardware good training is a must to aviod injury.accessories are way to expensive do your homework. Example: a cover for the joystick assembly to guard against getting wet can cost upwords of $30.00 useing a large zip lock bags works just as well.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Craig from Duluth, GA USA submitted this review on July 4th 2005 at 05:21 PM. Craig is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my second review of my Aspire F11. The powerbase itself is strong, fast and durable. I've no complaints about it after 10 months of 15 hour a day use. It's great having the 8 amp charger on board when I go places overnight.
Weaknesses:The foam armrests are set just a bit wider on my 18 inch seat than the drive wheels on the base (25 1/2"), so the armrests take the beating instead of the tires bouncing off of doorframes and the like. The armrests don't handle it well at all.

The height adjustable armrests are a waste of money. The plastic adjusters stick out even further than the armrests, so both had broken off and disappeared within 30 days of my receiving the chair. My armrests are now fixed height, like it or not.

The charger fan is a little loud, but is white noise so it doesn't bother me much. The 'charge' light on my chair is now covered with a piece of electrical tape since it is very bright and flashes while charging. I park my chair next to my bed and charge while I sleep. Flashing lights don't lend themselves well to my sleep.
Comments:I've covered LEDs on the P&G integral controller for charge level and speed/profile setting because they're just too bright. I've also covered the holes for the annunciator for the horn and system sounds with electrical tape so they're at a more reasonable level.

It may not sound like it from my comments, but the longer I have it and with a little added electrical tape, the more impressed I am with this chair. I REALLY LIKE IT.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Craig from Duluth, GA USA submitted this review on September 16th 2004 at 12:01 PM. Craig is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have the F11 model. It's comfortable, fast, powerful and flexible. It's also shorter than my old E&J Magnum and very manuverable.
Weaknesses:The foam armrests are set wide and are very easy to chunk or split if you brush a door frame. The on-board charger fan is loud and the charge light is very bright and flashes while it's charging. Not good if you charge your chair next to your bed at night. The joystick LEDs are blinding at night and the joystick emits a couple of chirps upon startup that may disturb others.
Comments:I really like this chair's comfort, power and range even though it seems designed for a noisy, well-lit lab rather than real life.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
James from Ruidoso, NM, USA submitted this review on April 8th 2004 at 03:09 PM. James is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Changing of color fender shields. Climbs the 8 degree ramps in home without bogging down. Additional cushions were easy to attach and arm rest adjusted to new height.
Weaknesses:Foam arm rests are easily damaged. Loud clicking sound from underneath when lightly touching controller, which is disturbing to others. Hand control lights are blinding in darkness.
Comments:This was only purchased to use in home. I have been able to get around sharp corners and works great shopping in stores. My outdoor 4 wheel scooter was always too large to take inside buildings. I enjoy the independence without being pushed around.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Susan from Fresno, Ca USA submitted this review on January 20th 2004 at 01:05 PM. Susan is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Narrow and compact to get through small doorways
Weaknesses:Foam Rubber arm pads are too easily torn if you hit a door or some other object
Comments:Likes the chair overall
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy