USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie Freestyle
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie Freestyle
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
Two base sizes (full and mini).
Can accept tilt and rehab seating systems (on Full model).
"Overland Suspension" with all wheel suspension and 3 bar linkage system.
Product Weight: Full: Overall - 147 lbs.; Seat - 36 lbs.
Product Width: Full - 24.5" Mini - 22.5".
Product Length/Depth: Full - 39" with footplate; 33" without footplate Mini -38.5" with footplate; 32" without footplate.
Seat to Floor Height: Full - 21.25"-25.25" (High-Back Comfort Seat) Mini - 19.25"-23.25" (High-Back Comfort Seat) Full - 17.5"-21.5" (Rehab Seat) Mini - 15.5"-19.5" (Rehab Seat) Full - 19"-22" (C.G. Tilt Seat) Mini - 17.5"-20.5" (C.G. Tilt Seat).
Speed: Full - 6 mph Mini - 5.5 mph. Turning Radius: Full - 22.5" Mini - 20.25".
Battery Type: Full - NF 22 or Group 24 Mini - UI or 40AH.
On-board charger.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1030
Durability?2.003.670
Ease of use?3.504.330
Meet expectations?2.003.000
Overall Rating:1.803.330.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Edward from Nictaux, Nova Scotia, Canada submitted this review on March 2nd 2013 at 08:16 AM. Edward is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very dependable and well built. Very easy to use.
Weaknesses:poor quality electrical connections for our climate.
Comments:My wife has been in this chair for over seven years and the only problems we've had in that time is a few poor electrical connections and the onboard charger died after about five years. I can't complain because in that five years, it was in the back of my van when it was written off by a hit from the rear and it was wet several times from rain or snow. We're still using the batteries that came with it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tim from Benton, AR, USA submitted this review on June 28th 2009 at 06:19 PM. Tim is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The motors make good scrap metal.
Weaknesses:Electronics are weak. In less than two years we have replaced the controler and both motors and it is messing up again already.
Comments:I bet they make more money selling replacement parts than on the whole chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Alli from IL submitted this review on June 21st 2009 at 03:48 PM. Alli is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Turns on a dime.
Weaknesses:I have the mini base and this chair is VERY bouncy when going over grass/curb cutouts/small bumps (can't handle the big ones), I had to get a headrest or I would get whiplash from walking my dog around the neighborhood. It has a manual tilt and it is hard to figure out.

Slow to respond.

I'm not sure if this is the chair's fault or not but I took it on a plane ride and I don't know what they did to it but it was just destroyed.
Comments:I don't like this chair but it's all I got.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Tommy from McComb, MS. USA submitted this review on June 20th 2009 at 06:53 PM. Tommy is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Maneuverability is great. Very good for small spaces. Speed is good.
Weaknesses:Weak electronics. In 5 years I have replaced ALL electronics at least once. I've had several motors. This chair has been at provider more than at my house. A backup chair is an absolute necessity. Does not work well with heavy dew, rain or snow.
Comments:I've had this chair for 5 years. I will never have another Sunrise chair. Tech service with Sunrise is a nightmare. I understand Sunrise is great manual chair maker and should stay with that line. Leave the power chairs to the people who specialize in them.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Douglas from Berkeley, CA, United States submitted this review on May 5th 2008 at 01:02 PM. Douglas is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Quiet operation, easy to recharge, variable speeds, handles quickly and turns responsively under most circumstances, is comfortable (when equipped with proper cushion).
Weaknesses:Sometimes a little slow to respond.
Comments:My late father was disabled; he used this chair (full model) for the last two years of his life. It was his "chariot" and he loved it. His chair was highly reliable; we never had any problems with it. He recharged it at night and it carried him to where he wanted to go by day. We got him a very high quality gel cushion and he never developed any sores from sitting all day in the chair. Overall, the chair worked well for him.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
wayne from Mt. Juliet, tn, usa submitted this review on April 11th 2008 at 02:20 PM. wayne is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:small turning radius.
Weaknesses:very poor reliability. frequent electronic failures causes excessive downtime. failures with charger, tilt, steering, drive and motors make this chair totally unacceptable to meet the needs of a quad cp teenager. cheap poor quality switches on tilt seating result in repeated and excessive downtime. Downtime is so excessive that another power chair must be kept operational in order for quad cp teenager to be moved.

Wiring harnesses of very poor quality. motors are noisy. Not water resistant, can not be gotten wet! programming for drive profiles totally inadaquate for switched joystick drive operation. due to very poor programming capability of drive profiles quad cp teenager is not able to independently drive this chair. She has been able to easily drive all of her previous Invacare powerchairs.
Comments:Quickie should be fined for marketing a chair of such poor quality. DME and Quickie should recall all of these chairs and provide refunds so that users may obtain reliable equipment that meets their mobility needs.

This review submitted by father of 16 year old honor roll female student now trapped with a poorly designed and manufactured powerchair that requires as much repair time as it provides mobility time.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
casey from st. helens,oregon submitted this review on March 19th 2008 at 11:57 PM. casey is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:the tilting is probably the only strength in this piece of crap!!
Weaknesses:How to start? i've had the batteries replaced at least 4 times, both motors multiple times, right wheel gets stuck all the time which spins me in circles at high speed nearly throwing from the chair!!! the wiring harness has been replaced several times as well as that stupid black box on the back of the chair for my head controls(asl) the wheels them selves, the on board charger and the egg shell switches in my head aray.
Comments:anyone that thinks quickie should give us are damn money back should get together and contact them cause thees more power in numbers.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Scott from Portland, Oregon, U. S. A. submitted this review on March 4th 2008 at 03:57 PM. Scott is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Quikie - Freestyle
I like the turning radius in tight spots, and also it's comfortable seating
Weaknesses:if it rain too much, it will short out the steering and control "box" that is the most vulnerable of the this particular Power chair, i think it should weatherproofing all round the Power chair!!!!!!!!!!!!
and no one ever told me before this happened!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
UGH
Comments:I got this product by a donation from UCP of Oregon, the previous own this Power chair died about less than months ago.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Glenn from Houston, Texas USA submitted this review on October 10th 2007 at 01:28 PM. Glenn is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Over all the chair is comfortable, I use a J-2 seat. The tilt is great it allows me to do pressure releases.
Weaknesses:The chair ran well until 15 months. That's when it all started, I have replaced 3 wire harness, 2 motor control boxes and my right motor is going out. Each time something goes out my chair is down 1-3 weeks before I get replacement parts.
Comments:I'm a quadrplegic and confined to this chair, each time the chair breaks down it effects my life, I need help doing almost everything until I get the chair fixed. My chair is only 27 months old, and now out of warranty, it's a shame when you pay over $ 15,000.00 for a chair and the warranty is only 1 year. A car company will give you 3 years or 36,000 miles.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Rodney from aurora, Colorado, USA submitted this review on October 8th 2007 at 10:21 AM. Rodney is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:i have the tilt/recline chair and it is very comfortable. The only time i am out of the chair is to go to bed at night. so far , my wife and I have avoided all ulcers. i have been in this chair since 2005.
Weaknesses:The batteries and motor in this chair are definitely not as good as the reclining feature have replaced the batteries already and now need to replace the motor.the charge in a full charged battery last less than 6 miles and when we go to doctors appointments i am always looking for an outlet because I know the power will run out before i get out of the office.
Comments:I would recommend to the veterans administration to complain to the vendor and let the vendor know about the battery problems
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Jenny from Georgia submitted this review on May 16th 2007 at 01:51 PM. Jenny is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great turning radius. Pockets on side under armrests are nice.
Weaknesses:Battery did not last long at all. My daughter could not make it through the day without needing more charge. The chair died on her several times and made her very upset.
Comments:Would not recommend this chair for an active child. Not a stable or smooth ride. Very rough over bumps. Very, very noisy. The motors make a loud clicking noise when stopping. Only had it less than a month and already had problems w/ the electricals.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Ray from Winter Park, FL, USA submitted this review on October 20th 2006 at 02:05 PM. Ray is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:manuvarability is fantastic
Weaknesses:I'm only getting about a one mile range
Comments:I was using a Quikie P-200 for 11 years that I got in NY, I used to go everwhere with full confidence that it would provide 25 miles per charge at a top speed of about 8 mph.
Unfortunately,the parts were no longer available and I was told that the Frestyle would be almost equivalent to what had, Wrong! not even close!
The technician checked the batterries and they checked out o.k.but still 1 mile range.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Patrick from North Delta,British Columbia,Canada(nearVancouver) submitted this review on May 14th 2004 at 05:43 PM. Patrick is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tremendous maneuverability inside the home.We hardly had to do any renovations in order for me to come home from the rehabilitation centre. I can turn completely around in the middle of my kitchen and moving from room to room is a cinch when I can drive down a hall stop at a doorway and spin before driving straight in.Other units were going to require that we remove door frames so the openings would be wide enough so the chairs could "turn" in. My Quickie has excellent power and I
more often find myself telling attendants to notify me if I start to leave them behind while shopping inthe supermarket. It
runs so smooth you can lose trackof others.
Weaknesses:Remaining battery strength is shown with an idiot light style bar graph that represents little of rreality. Experience is your
best gauge for use based on your own charging activity.No accurate guidelines are provided for how far or how long battery
charges will carry you. When the "low" battery light comes on it is too late!
Comments:I was able to try several models before purchasing and have not regretted my decision. I'd replace it with the same one if misfortune ever took it from me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy