USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare At'm Take Along Chair
Image of Invacare At'm Take Along Chair
Folding power wheelchair.
Break down to 3 components for transport. Seat folds like a lawn chair.
Component weight: Base= 34 lb, seat= 14lb, batteries=28 lb.
Width: 25 inches.
Length: 35.5 inches.
Sling seat.
Seat width: 16 or 18 inches.
Front casters 1" x 6", rear wheels 2.25" x 12.5".
Weight capacity: 250 lb.
Top speed: 4 mph.
Ground clearance: 2 inches.
Charger: 3 amp off-board.
Battery: 17 amp hour.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1400
Durability?2.7900
Ease of use?4.9300
Meet expectations?2.9300
Overall Rating:2.710.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Sue from Estero, FL. USA submitted this review on February 7th 2011 at 10:42 AM. Sue is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Excellent for traveling! I don't walk more than 3-4 steps with a walker but drive everywhere and put this together myself. If used properly and maintained well, it is great! It's not meant for long term sitting, but for traveling and shopping it has been excellent. Also, insurance covers replacement parts & batteries. I also have a portable scooter, but prefer this chair. There is no other lightweight portable wheelchair made that works as easy.
Weaknesses:Because it is so light you have to be diligent about explaining exactly how it works to any airline baggage people. One airline dropped it while transferring it from plane to plane and broke the battery. They paid immediatly for the repair. Totally not due to the quality chair. Not intended for going over bumps or heavy duty driving like a full size chair.
Comments:It's been great for me over the years. I did replace the tires with solid ones a couple of years ago. But I've had more problems with my full size Jazzy chair that cost $1,000's more!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Susan from Long Beach, MS USA submitted this review on February 23rd 2010 at 02:41 AM. Susan is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light weight & folds like lawn chair, long lasting battery (used for 5 years on first battery)battery light weight & fast charging
Weaknesses:front wheels too small. Tire can easily roll off rim. Chair needs storagepocket for sweaters & things. Narrow chair
Comments:comfortable and easy to use. Airlines love handling this chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Karen from WA submitted this review on June 4th 2009 at 08:13 PM. Karen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable, portable
Weaknesses:Everything else! You can't depend on this chair.
Comments:I've posted before about my disappointment with this product. I've limited my use of this chair to the airport and mall type situations. Kind of an expensive chair for several outings a month!

Save yourself time and money. If you need something truly portable and dependable, buy a scooter.

This chair is really an expensive piece of junk.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Betty from Acworth, GA submitted this review on February 20th 2009 at 08:33 AM. Betty is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to maneuver. Lightweight.
Weaknesses:Drive train busted right after I replaced the wheels and batteries. My job requires too much from this wheelchair. I am in it 9 hours a day, running around from desk to desk as a teacher. No traction in the rain. Barely gets up ramps on good days.
Comments:Only for occassional use.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Karen from Washington submitted this review on May 12th 2008 at 09:44 PM. Karen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable and portable
Weaknesses:everything else!
Comments:Follow up post:

Good news! The airline trashed my At'm on the return from my vacation last summer. They refunded me the full price of the chair since repairs would have cost more than a replacement!

Did I replace it?

I don't have "stupid" tattooed on my forehead! ;-)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
c j from redwood city california....usa submitted this review on August 7th 2007 at 12:16 AM. c j is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:a very good chair....4 years old and going strong....need new battery due to not charging.....we new it wasn't good in wet weather.....handles great.....in and out of car in 1 min.....no problems on 6 degree hills....
Weaknesses:front wheels too small so changed them with larger wheels from a regular wheel chair, seems to correct most of problems. changed to solid wheels and drive sleeves came with new wheels.... paid approx. $100 or $150
Comments:I was amazed at all the negative comments on this chair....this chair satisfied our needs
it is a great chair!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Karen from Washington submitted this review on June 21st 2007 at 08:25 AM. Karen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, portable, comfortable
Weaknesses:Not reliable, major design flaws.
Comments:Third review:
One year + 1 month. Now out of warantee and battery charger won't work! Trying to find a replacement on the internet - I'm on vacation; what fun - and saw my previous reviews of this product and thought I would add to the list of seemingly endless aggrivating situations you will have to endure if you buy this chair.

Meanwhile, I've had to rent a scooter until I can replace the charger or get home to my regular power chair; probably the latter! I know batteries go, but I've never heard of a charger failing. My regular power chair has to be 10+ years old and the batteries have been replaced several times but the charger is still going strong.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
WILLIAM from ATLANTA,GEORGIA,USA submitted this review on March 30th 2007 at 04:51 PM. WILLIAM is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:1)light weight of component parts makes it easy for my wife to lift it in and out of car.
2)Ease of assembly allowa helpers to assemble and dis-assemble it with minimal skill.br />
3)Is excellent for out of home travel by car, boat or train and can be stowed under the plane allowing use to and from plane in airport.
4)one battery charge will last for a whole day and night of use such as at Disneyworld
5) Is easily maneuverable in tight quarters such as restrooms,etc
6)I reasonably priced if purchased from internet suppliers but shop wisely.
Weaknesses:1)I have two machines and have had one replacement of JoyStick apparatus for electrical dysfunction.
2)Have had multiple flat tires needing tube and tire replacements so always travel with extra tires and tubes and either be able to pop a new wheel in yourself or be able to instruct someone to do it. It is really quite simple and can be done with you in the chair if you are are unable to stand as I am. A bicycle REPAIR SHOP CAN FIX AND SUPPLY THESE MUCH LESS EXPENSIVELY THAN A WC REPAIR SHOP.
3)InvCARE HAS JUST MADE A fLAT-FREE TIRE REPLACEMENT IE FOAM FILLED) AND i HAVE ORDERED NEW TIRES FOR BOTH CHAIRS AND HOPEFULLY THEY WILL PREVENT THE FREQUENT FLAT BUSINESS.
4)A battery will last about a year so either keep a replacement or know where a replacement can be obtained rather quickly
5)The contact point between the tire and the motor driven axle involves whaat is called a Knurled cylinder and these wear down very often leading to poor functioning power on grades and during wet conditions so have these replaced when ever the chair seems to be losing its pulling or braking . These cylinders on the axle are relatively inexpensive ($9) apiece and can be replaced rather easily. Always have someone BE READY TO HELP YOU STOP IF YOU ARE GOING THRU WATER AND YOU GO DOWN AN INCLINE. i WAS PITCHED OUT OF MY CHAIR HEAD FIRST INTO THE GROUND BEFORE I LEARNED THIS LESSON.
6) fINALLY THE FRONT TIRES WILL POP[ OFF THE WHEEL QUITE EASILY IF YOU HIT A PAVEMENT CRACK ,ETC AND ATTEMPT TO TURN, SO APPROACH ALL SURFACE CHANGES AT 90 DEGREES AND ALSO HAVE AN EXTRA FRONT WHEEL ASSEMBLY CLOSE AT HAND FOR EASY EXCHANGE IN CASE THE TIRE COMES OFF. iT CANNOT BE EASILY REALIGNED TO THE WHEEL AND FIXED..
ATTENTION111111 BE FOREWARNED , IF YOU ARE TRAVELING ANYWHERE AWAY FROM HOME AND YOU CANNOT DO WITHOUT THE CHAIR, CARRY An EXTRA FRONT AND BACK TIRE/WHEEL ASSEMBLY WITH YOU. These REALLY SHOULD BE FITTED UNDER THE SEAT LIKE SPARETIRES.
Comments:tHIS IS A LIGHTWEIGHT TRAVELCHAIR FOR LOCAL AND LONG DISTANCE TRAVEL ALLOWING THE USER WHO CAN TRANSFER IN AND OUT OF A VEHICLE THE ADVANTAGE OF USING REGULAR VEHICLES RATHER USING ADAPTED VANS NEEDED FOR HEAVIER, NON-PORTABLE CHAIRS. THE EXTERNAL DRIVE SYSTEM HAS LED TO REAR WHEEL PROBLEMS BUT HOPEFULLY THESE WILL BE ALLEVIATED BY THE SOLID TIRES.
i AM AN ORTHOPEDIC SURGEON AND I RECOMEND THIS CHAIR FREQUENTLY WITH THE CAVEATS I HAVE MENTIONED. BUT BE SURE AND SUGGEST TO ANYONE YOU SUGGEST IT TO, TO GO TO THE INTERNET FOR THE BEST PRICES AS MANY WHEELCHAIR STORES ARE TRIPLING THE INTERNET PRICE WHEN SELLING IT RETAIL.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Karen from Washington submitted this review on August 30th 2006 at 12:50 PM. Karen is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Portability, comfortable seat
Weaknesses:replacement part costs, steering, etc.
Comments:This is an update to a previous post. Replacement of front wheel/tire/bearing assembly is $72.35 from Invacare, but you get two. Since this is still under warrantee, replacement for this wheel assembly will be covered, but the chair is out of commission until they arrive. Lesson, don't leave home without a spare. I ordered this chair on May 12,2006, and it came with solid (flat free) rear wheels. Much better than the pneumatic rear wheels on the demo chair I tried. Since this is a friction drive chair I expect the rear wheels to have a much shorter life than normal. Cost to replace - $484 - more than 1/3 the cost of the entire chair! If you have pneumatic and want to replace them, expect to pay $583. The cost of these replacements are high because you are getting the complete wheel with tire AND bearing assembly. Short sighted design, I think - or maybe just profitable for Invacare.

The trouble I mentioned in my previous post about the door threshold happens when I try to get back into my apt. from the carpeted hall. The rear wheels just spin on carpet when they meet an obsticle.

Yes, I know this chair is not intended to replace my kick-ass power chair which weighs in at 200+ pounds. But I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a power chair to climb curb cuts and not throw a tire when you hit a bump at a slight angle. If you can't walk at all, this scenario is a sure bet to ruin your day and destroy your dignity! ;-)

I e-mailed Invacare on July 3 about the steering problems and didn't receive a response. I would like to add that when these steering problems happen, forward (or downward) motion continues even when the joy stick is not engaged. A dangerous, potentially life threatening situation. I feel so strongly about this problem that I have filled a complaint with the US Consumer Product Safety Commission.

All in all, I would think twice about purchasing this chair. The need for a truly portable power chair is there and I would like to think some manufacturer will come up with a better solution.

Meanwhile, since I'm stuck with this thing, I'll continue to enjoy it in Costco and Ikea - when I finally get the wheel replacement!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Karen from Washington submitted this review on August 29th 2006 at 07:11 PM. Karen is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy to transport
Weaknesses:pretty much everything else!
Comments:Don't expect this chair to go on anything but a dry, solid, flat surface. Because of the friction drive, surface level changes (driveway intersecting sidewalk) cause unpredictable handling - like shooting you down that driveway into traffic! Chair will not climb curb cuts with high ridge(aka a lot of them) - I have trouble getting over the sill of my front door! My front tire came off the wheel and is not repairable by user; entire wheel/tire assembly must be replaced (read EXTRA COST)! Expect down time and know it won't do much. Better than a manual, but not much and much less dependable. A good idea; too bad they did such a bad job of it! If you want something for the mall or airport, this works well, but pretty pricy for shopping excursions.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Mario from New York, NY submitted this review on June 20th 2006 at 08:06 PM. Mario is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Best transportable power chair in terms of feature and looks. Very manuverable. Comfortable seat.
Weaknesses:Joystick position not adjustable, except for left and right placement, if your arm is long, this will be a non-issue. Drive wheel design is interesting, but ultimately unreliable. The constant rubbing dramatically shortens the life of the wheel and inner tube causing premature tire and/or tube failure leaving the user stranded. A simple design change using a 12.5 inch child's bicycle wheel with a fixed spocket, a modified bicycle chain, and slight modification to the drive gears will greatly enhance the reliability of this otherwise wonderful chair.
Comments:An Invacare representative at this year's New York Metro Abilities Expo in April told me that Invacare is replacing the inner tube tires with solid inserts due to problems with the air inner tube. I ordered the chair at the end of May hoping to get the new version. Unfortunately I still received the air inner tube version from their factory. I use this chair exclusively inside my house with hardwood floors. After five weeks a small crack developed in one of the inner tubes causing me to become bound to a manual wheelchair for days. A friend of mine took out the inner tube and noticed that there were alot of rubber shavings inside the wheel. Apparently the constant rubbing has taken its toll on the inner tube. I contacted my vendor and Invacare, but they both told me that they are not building the chair with solid inner tubes, but I could purchase a new set of wheels with solid inner tubes for only a little over $400. But they will send me a set of new inner tubes under their 6 month tire warranty. I wonder how long I have until the next leak? I also noticed that the left gear applies about 1/8 inch less pressure to the wheel than the right gear. The right gear actually compresses the tire until it bulges out on the sides. I guess this is probably why it failed so soon.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
LYNN from PLEASANT HILL,, CA USA submitted this review on July 14th 2005 at 05:18 PM. LYNN is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I bought this chair at the Abilities Expo in 2003. At that time it was marketed by Premere Designs in Fresno, CA. I LOVE THIS CHAIR!! It is so easy to travel with and folds easily into the trunk of a compact car. I get stopped often by people who are interested in getting this chair for themselves or someone else. I am thrilled to know this product is again available through Infacare. I plan on getting another one of these for a backup.
Weaknesses:Not a heavy duty power chair - for instance, not good traction in rain.
Comments:This chair is perfect for someone who needs it for travel, around the house, shopping, appoinments etc. It is not a heavy duty chair for someone who must use it outside to get from place to place.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ronald from Watsonville, ca, usa submitted this review on February 23rd 2005 at 11:17 PM. Ronald is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I tried this chair at Ability Expo a year and a half ago. At that time, if I remember correctly, it was not marketed by Invacare. I loved using it and I was easily able to break it down and set it up from a seated position(Pride Ledgend). It was fun to drive and responded quickly. Nine months later I went to buy it on the internet and it had disapeared, or at least I could not find it. I am in India right now and went through the whole travel thing using airport chairs. Two of them were transport only chairs and I was left for significant time without any way to move myself. I wish I had this chair for the trip home!!!
Weaknesses:Unproven reliability, but Invacare seems to have a good name.
Comments:As soon as I get home I am buying this chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Frank from Fresno, CA USA submitted this review on February 9th 2005 at 03:41 PM. Frank is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Extreamly lightweight and manuverable. Have taken it on airplanes and trains, as well as automobiles. It is very versitile.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:An excellent product that gives the end user much more independence than a larger, heavier power chair might.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End Pro-2 All Sport Wheelchair
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Folding Transportable Power Wheelchairs)
Adventure
Alero
Barrett Gem
Cirrus Power
E-Wheelchair PW-8F20
E-Wheelchair PW-8F20
Evantgarde a-100F
Express 2000
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Hp 5
HP4
HP5
HP8
HS-6200
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jewel
JH02-A
Kerrier
Legio
Meteor Independent
Meteor Independent Maxi
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51LX
P9000 XDT
Power 9000
PowerTek F35
Quickie P-11
Quickie V121
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Rover LWF
S4 Powered
Traveler
Traveller LY-EB103-N
V 121
V 521
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy