USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil C500 Stander
Image of Permobil C500 Stander
Front wheel drive power wheelchair with standing feature.
• Front wheel drive.
• Standing feature.
• Drive while standing optional.
• Corpus seating.
• Length 47", width 25.75" to 28.5", height 47".
• Seat to floor height 21".
• 8" seat elevator.
• weight with batteries 320 lbs.
• Maximum user weight 220 lbs.
• Group 24 batteries with 8 hour charging.
• Range 19 to 25 miles.
• Top speed 5 mph.
• Four pole motors.
• Ground clearance 2.75".
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1120
Durability?2.361.500
Ease of use?3.000.500
Meet expectations?2.091.500
Overall Rating:2.001.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Terry from NJ, USA submitted this review on February 21st 2016 at 11:35 AM. Terry is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Provides more independence than the manual chair.
Provides a mechanism for more effective pressure relieving.
Weaknesses:Possibly defective/inadequate parts used. Several repairs have been made (despite limited use)to replace broken, loose or missing bolts. Very recently, the back support became separated from the chair base leaving me in a very precarious and unsafe position.
Loose wiring
Flimsy back support and the four black knobs continuously loosen.
The arm rests are unsupported and do not allow for positional adjustments while seated in the chair.
Comments:On 2/18/2016, I returned home after being out in a modified vehicle which I operate from my pERMOBIL C500 power chair. Just prior to entering the doorway of my home, I stopped and began elevating my footplate to avoid contact with the screen door slide rail. Seconds after the foot plate began to elevate and without warning, the back support of my chair separated from the chair causing me to suddenly fall into a supine position. I lay there with no direct contact to the controls in a very awkward, unsafe, and precarious position. IF THIS MECHANICAL FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING THE CONSEQUENCES WOULD HAVE BEEN TRAGIC.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Terry from Oceanport, New Jersey submitted this review on February 19th 2016 at 11:40 AM. Terry is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair has provided me with some independence and allowed me to periodically for pressure reliefs.
Weaknesses:In the short period of time that I utilize the chair, bolts holding the arm rest and back support have repeatedly and unexpectedly broken and left me in a very dangerous and awkward position.

I currently operate my modified vehicle from the c500 permobile and most recently,( 2-18-2016) I returned home from driving and as I was entering my home the back of the chair separated from the seat and again left me in a supine position. If this occurred while driving, a tragedy would have occurred. It appears from my observation that two screws caused the back of the chair to leave me in a dangerous and precarious situation...
Comments:Possible manufacturers defect with equipment or the quality of components used for construction are inferior.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
allen from rockhill s.c.usa submitted this review on April 17th 2014 at 10:52 AM. allen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:chair has plenty of power
Weaknesses:chair is not dependable stays broken down
Comments:I would avoid this chair at all cost!!!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Kathleen from San Diego, CA USA submitted this review on April 12th 2014 at 08:56 PM. Kathleen is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Powerful and the batteries seem to last a long time and distance. It runs at a high speed. Multiple positions.
Weaknesses:Large, cumbersome and difficult to get around in an able bodies world. The chair has increased my sons dependence on others because all the complicated pieces that have to be attached to improve comfort.
The foot elevator was one feature we liked but raising the legs does not take pressure off feet so we still need to remove his feet from foot plate.
The chair is very noisy when moving any parts recline ets.
Too tall to fit at tables comfortably and foot plates and front wheels under foot plate get in the way.
The battery charger is super noisy so we hide it is the bedroom closet so he can sleep.
Comments:This is the second standing power chair so I am not enamored with the fact that it stands up. We had the Lifestand Compact before which was simple did everything you needed and was extremely user friendly and it was a lower to the ground which made it easier for transfers and to fit underneath the tables. It was also a much lower price point making it more affordable. Unfortunately, Permobil bought them and stopped distribution in America.
I usually complain every morning and every night when I transfer him in and out of the chair and have to take it apart or put it togehter.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
JP from San Diego, CA USA submitted this review on April 12th 2014 at 08:41 PM. JP is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The multiple extras such as standing, tilting, recline and speed make it fairly comfortable to use 16 hrs/day. All of the obvious adjustments makes life easier in a chair. Batteries last a long times. The stand feature is helpful for a guy to go to empty the bladder, I'm not sure about women users?
Weaknesses:The chair is a way expensive fording you to buy all the bells and whistles if you want a standing frame that can recline. The legs elevate which I thought would be a great feature, but when you raise the legs it places extra pressure on the feet as if you're standing unless you get somebody to fold up the foot plates and remove the knee brace required for standing. So you have to be bugging somebody to assist you all the time which makes you more dependent than less, not to mention, you have to remember where you left the knee bracket, put your feet back on the footplate to then stand up. I've had issues with the seat lifter required for standing and its been fixed a few times, replaced twice because the chair gets stuck in a raised position which slow it down and interferes with loading into the car. We quickly discovered how to over ride the system and reboot because the kill switch acts up all the time.
The seating system is probably great if you happen to be the same size as the person that designed it. It appears to be adjustable with side supports on the surface,but not reality.
Front wheel drive sucks. It does not get into tight spaces! It gets stuck in tight spaces. the rear end is scratching up walls and knocking into stuff and people. It's much easier to control the swivel wheels when their in front where you can see them, and whats they're doing.
The wheels on the foot plate prevent you from easily going up sidewalk ramps unless you raise the footplate,
Comments:I had problems with the chair from the beginning because the sales rep from the DME apparently measured wrong, he did not check and make adjustments when he delivered it and I ended up with the chair not fitting correctly. When I complained about the the discomfort and back pain he told me it would take time to adjust to the new seating system. I made multiple complaints and visited the therapist and could never get it right, so I didn't use the chair for more than an hour a day. When my family and I finally realized he had never adjusted the seat correctly when he delivered it he finally took the chair back and adjusted the length of the seat so I was sitting correctly. The side supports do not really adjust to offer support to fit the rider if you're thin. The flimsy plastic seat back cracked multiple times. It was blamed on me being to spastic, not the design. (I'm 5' 8" and weigh about 130)
We had to go through the permobil rep to get anything done. The seat back has since been replaced three times and I now have a newer design that appears to be stronger.
Part of the problem is I had wanted the smaller chair (always go for the smallest chair you can to make maneuvering into tight spaces easier and the rep told me I could not possibly fit, and I listened so the chair is really big.
Permobil needs to follow up with the DME's to review and evaluate their service and recommend alternative providers. Unfortunately your stuck when you get a lousy DME until you get a new chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Allen from Rockhill south carolina USA submitted this review on March 12th 2014 at 06:15 PM. Allen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:Doesn't recline enough. Not reliable at all!! To many service calls for repairs
Comments:My chair has not been dependable at all. Every time I have stood in the chair it has broken with in two weeks. They have replaced every actuator and the wiring harnesses. Not a good chair for me
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Steve from Baton Rouge, LA, USA submitted this review on January 24th 2014 at 04:21 PM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair functions as advertised and is easy to maneuver. The standing and reclining functions add to the chair's comfort.
Weaknesses:The durability is questionable and customer service is almost nonexistent.
Comments:In 20 months the frame has twisted, bolts have sheared, the back has broken, wires have broken, and the leg brace has bent twice. They say it's extraordinary wear and tear, outside the 24 month warranty. Yet,95% of the use is indoors using the chair for its intended purposes. They want me to spend $9,600+ in parts on a chair that cost $36,800 less than two years ago.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
TJ from Barrington, IL USA submitted this review on October 12th 2009 at 03:30 PM. TJ is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The standing component has greatly improved my independence, ADLs, and has decreased various medical issues. By changing my position and standing, I relieve the pressure on my back rear, end, hip, and knees. I am able to work out the various aches and pains that occur while sitting for long periods. I no longer have red sore spots that have occurred because I can stand up and take the pressure off. I am able to execerise my own range of motion to maintain flexibility and avoid contractures. I no longer have to wait for someone to assist me to go to the bathroom. Being able to stand has definitely helped me to be independent in this important area. I feel that my kyphosis has improved as I am able to stand straight in the chair. While standing I can maintain my bone density to avoid osteoporosis and fractures. I have also noticed that while delivering speeches or talking while standing, I can speak louder, more clearly and breathe easeir. Since my goal is to be a lobbyist this is a very important function for me. With the seat elevator, I am able to reach and for the first time in my life independently operate the microwave, open cabinets, reach for items on my desk, use the dorm bulletin board, open and close my curtains and windows, reach for my text books on the book shelf, use the coat rack, perform lab work, and many more daily activities that most people take for granted. I love being able to turn on the head lights as I often have evening classes and go out with my friends in the evening. With the lights I am able to see the path and not go off of it.
Weaknesses:The only weakness is that sometimes the chair has trouble going over bumps while driving on campus sidewalks.
Comments:This is the best chair I have ever had. I am 24 years old and I like the ability to recline on my own to relieve any back pain. It is also very cool to drive the chair while standing to be able to reach the light switch, thermostat, etc.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
C from Cincinnati,Ohio,United States submitted this review on March 9th 2007 at 11:55 AM. C is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I like the fact that the chair stands, the chair is built better than other chairs that I have had in the past.
Weaknesses:I feel that when I transfer I am going to break the seat because it wobbles. I do not feel sturdy or safe when I transfer.
Comments:I like the chair overall.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Denny from Englewood,Florida USA submitted this review on April 26th 2006 at 08:20 AM. Denny is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I started out useing a JAZZY 1122 powerchair in 1999,the year of which I became a parapalegic.The Jazzy broke down so often I was afraid to go anywhere or do anything.Through my VA contacts.Drs.and rehab specialists I was introduced to the Permobile wheelchair family.I thought oh lord another very expensive wheelchair and probably more heart break for myself and wife.Well that was six years ago I started out in a Chairman Entra with RoHo seat cushion and a reclining specialty seat arrangement on the Entra.Unlike the Jazzy chair,Permobile brought a clinical rehab specialist to build the chair around my Drs.specific wishs. Jazzy just sold me a chair very expensive at that and paid little to no attention to my Drs.concerns. In other words Permobile is expensive but one ends up feeling like their chair is built exactly for the user from the day I took ownership of the chair I never once have had one problem with it.I have since added a Permobile C500 Stander because of leg blood clots.My Drs.thinking if this patient can stand a little bit each day perhaps his blood clot problems will stop.Before we I approched my new provider here in Fl. with many questions,specicaly would the C500 Stander fit into my minivan.Permobile brought one out from their warehouse in Orlando,Fl.over 700 miles from my home free of charge to see if it would fit.It fits with no problem with a few inchs to spare.No charge to me what so ever.I have been in the C500 Stander for almost a year now.No problems what so ever.Once again though Permobile built the chair around my rehab professionals concerns and my needs.Its not your typical go to the showroom affair and pick out a wheelchair.I tried out a RedMan Stander and it fell over with me in it.That was quite a night mare.My C500 Stander is built rock solid and is not like a kids erector set. I have stood outside in sand,grass,and small inclines and traveled forward and reverse standing.It fits perfectly under desks,dinner tables etc.Never one problem.I thank the provider DME Shoppe in Fort Meyers,The VA and all those folks that have made this possible for me for a truly great product.One review I saw here mentioned their Permobile stander has no incline gauge.Mine does have agauge its mounted out of site though.Thats my only dislike so far.
Weaknesses:Incline gauge is not within users sight.
Comments:A great wheelchair far above the rest.Permobile goes far beyound their competition to make sure the end user is well satisfied. Permobile has improved what was already a great product ten fold.
Perhaps because the wheelchair is made in Europe and not China that its a wonderful system.Finding the right provider has to be ones number one concern.Providers that will go out of their way to
help the end user and respect the users rehab and Drs.concerns for the end users health and well fare like Permobile has done for me.Thank you Permobile !
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
angie from TN submitted this review on September 20th 2005 at 12:02 PM. angie is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tilt table feature, lift vertically in sitting position about 8-10 inches. Good for reaching higher shelves. Pulls good in grass and loose gravel with good suspension. Weight distirbution great when standing. Mine has headlights, turn signals, brake lights and hazard flashers! Great if you live in the city.
Weaknesses:Unable to raise feet without leaning back or in other words as your feet come up your back rest goes down. Corpus seat back too thin (about 1" thick)and after spending 4 hours against it, the hard plastic back tray can be felt and I was almost in tears. Adjustments can be complicated to figure out with 5 toggle switches and not very good icons to indicate what does what. Forward position pushes you too far forward, scrunching you over. Chest bar mounts stick out inside arm rest causing you to bang your elbow if you don't watch when resting your arm. Arm rest has little padding. Rear of base longer than my Invacare Pronto 250-S causing me to bang it into to places where I usually have no problems turning in.
Comments:Finally received my C500 (took me 1 1/2 years to get it)after it had been taken back to the factory and the standing feature was enabled. Thanks to Ken (Permobil)for being so helpful and straightening this mess out..
Chair will stand you from either a sitting position or a reclining position to standing. Chair looks like an erector set with all the bars, metal connections, plastic parts, and adjustment knobs.
If you get this chair, get all the bells and whistles if you can and make sure that you try different back types to find one that will give you enough padding as the hard plastic back gets uncomfortable if you just sit or recline. You can adjust everything except the linked foot and back. Overall, I guess it's a good chair, but will take some getting use to.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
angie from TN submitted this review on September 13th 2005 at 12:22 PM. angie is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:looks good
Weaknesses:unable to use the standing feature until company salesman decided it was ok!
Comments:Chair ordered by VA. It has taken a year and a half to get this chair. Saleman changed story everytime I talked to him blaming VA for problems. Chair delivered to VA instead of me, then brought to me by outside company. VA did everything to correct problems, but company's saleman gave us the run around. I never got to use the chair.Company salesman decided to lock out standing feature until HE decided that I was able to use it. Chair sent back to company. Why should I have more equiptment that doesn't work? THat's why we got this chair so that we could use the tilt as a tilt table to get used to standing since Medicare will not pay for one in the home. Maybe if I ever get another chair I can write a better review.
Be careful dealing with Permobil's saleman!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
F3 Corpus
F5 Corpus
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
S5 Corpus VS
Street
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Power Standing Wheelchairs)
107-ZRX
Black Hawk
C3
C400 Vertical
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman Vertical
Chief 107SRX
Chief SR
Combi
EX Powered Standing
EXB Powered Standing with Recline
Fena Vertran Standing Mobility System
Finesse
Genie
Hero1
Hirider
LCM
LSC
Powered Standing Frame
Rover PS
S5 Corpus VS
Xeno
XO-202
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy