USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Redman 107-ZRX
Image of Redman 107-ZRX
Power wheelchair with powered standing.
• Maximum weight limit 250/350 pounds heavy duty construction available
• Seat width 16" - 18"
• Seat height 18.5"
• Seat depth 17"
• Back height 26" (from seat base), adjustable 5"
• Arm height adjusts from 7" to 11" from seat base to top of arm pad
• Ground clearance 4" (does not include anti-tipper wheels)
• Overall width 23"
• Overall length 38"
• Turning radius 29"
• Driving range 15-20 miles
• Weight 285 pounds
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1320
Durability?4.004.500
Ease of use?3.384.000
Meet expectations?3.314.500
Overall Rating:1.924.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Pam from Reno, NV USA submitted this review on March 11th 2017 at 07:38 AM. Pam is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The flexibility of multiple positions, ease of use for the driver, more narrow then competition so easier to get in and out of van. I like that we can stretch his calves by putting his legs up in a sitting position. This is our first electric wheelchair so we do not have anything to compare to, but we love it.
Weaknesses:I have to take his AFOs off in order to not pinch his legs. Not a major problem but an inconvenience. But I understand that the leg supports have to be tight to keep him stable while standing. The caregiver control is way too short so if you do not want to run your toes over, make sure to order a longer cord and bigger hook right from the start. If you do not need a caregiver control, then no problem.
Comments:I love that my son will be able to go to high school next year and roll down the halls at eye level with his peers!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lynne from Minneapolis, MN USA submitted this review on February 27th 2017 at 09:48 PM. Lynne is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Sales
Weaknesses:Customer service, technical service, communication, timeliness, follow through
Comments:The representatives are great at sales, but the greatness ends there.

My chair was delivered several weeks after it was promised. After MONTHS of trying to communicate with them in order to get this chair set up properly for me to use, it still sits collecting dust in my living room. In addition, the chest strap they provided for standing does not fit properly and pulls up in my throat when standing.

I HIGHLY discourage anyone thinking of getting this chair. They might seem great when they are trying to get your money, but once you have the chair and they have your money, good luck trying to get anything from them ever again. I have completely lost confidence and trust in this company and would NEVER work with them again nor would I would recommend them to anyone, EVER.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Lynn from NYC, USA submitted this review on February 26th 2016 at 11:45 AM. Lynn is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:reliability of product and staff
Comments:DON'T USE REDMAN. Had a VERY bad experience with them. Ordered a chair from them. They delivered one that was used, damaged, missing features I ordered, and wrong size, After a year of their lies and me not being able to use it because they never come back to repair or replace it, I asked them to take it back and refund my deposit. They issued me a check and then put a stop payment on it. Worst company I ever worked with.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Sander from Blackfoot, Idaho USA submitted this review on August 23rd 2012 at 01:23 PM. Sander is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Stands great. It's quiet. After being strapped down in the car my wife can raise/lower her legs, Stand some and lay her head back all without compromising the chair locked down. It has many speeds 25 I think. My wife is comfortable in it. Multi-positioning. I really like the 3 levers for positioning work independant of the motion joystick.
Weaknesses:Does not recline like the former chair did. Is jerky on turns. It has poor traction when trying to go over ground or climbing. Legs need to be raised when going down slopes or it high-centers. I think tires are too thin for traction. Bulky trying to manuver tight places. Footrest is plastic and broke after only a couple of days. They replaced it promptly at no cost to us. Very expensive chair to purchase.
Comments:Sam Redman delivered chair and is GREAT to work with. He has given some solutions for the climbing challenge which I have not done yet. My wife has MS and has only the use of 1 hand. She can get around in if quite well. I wish it had better traction and was not jerky on turns and tight turns. I was going to have them take it back but she cried at the thought of not having it so that says a ton of positive.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Kaitlyn from Los Angeles submitted this review on September 15th 2011 at 03:06 PM. Kaitlyn is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I'm 23 years old, I have SMA, I've been in a wheelchair for the last 14 years. The standing ability gave me the chance to see the world at my new height.
Weaknesses:Customer service by Sam Redman. He made me feel like a disabled through our phone conversations

-Parts. The big wheel on my wheelchair FELL OFF in route. I've had this chair for 10 months. Other screws like the one keeping the joystick steady fell off about 7 months in use. The metal frames supporting the small wheels in the way back was bent, so the wheels weren't rotating, and it was just being dragged by the chair.

-Size. This chair has a significantly bigger footprint than my previous chair, Quickie P200. It took me about 5 months learn how to maneuver it in tight spaces (then some of the screws began to fall off....)
Comments:Ami from customer service was able to address most of the problem regarding parts and labor. Avoid Sam at all cost. He is great at the mechanical side of things, but lacks compassion and sympathy when you need it the most.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Sandy from Denham Springs, LA, USA submitted this review on September 7th 2011 at 04:25 PM. Sandy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I can easily stand and change positions in my Redman. I can see the world from a view that hasn't been seen for 8 years!
Weaknesses:Larger than my Jazzy and that took a bit of getting used to, but well worth the effort and benefits. I drive myself with hand controls and it takes 1 minute longer to get situated in my mini van.
Comments:I have had MS for 30 years and unable to stand for the last 8. My Redman has made my entire body stronger, the swelling in my feet and legs is gone. I can see and do things that I could not do before. My entire body functions better. Their service is second to none!!! Don't even consider another chair if you are totally confined, need to change positions, or want to partially or fully stand.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Delbert from Nekoosa submitted this review on October 16th 2008 at 11:04 AM. Delbert is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:This would be my second Redman chair. The first one was used and abused and after holding up admirably for nearly 8 years, my insurance company decided that I could replace it. It is obvious that years of building chairs has paid off. This new chair is awesome from the engineering and build to the function and operation of the chair. It is simply to operate and built to last and best of all, if it ever is necessary to work on the chair it is very basic to repair making it superior to all others in its class. The very best thing about it is the Redman staff that are there to solve any problem that you might have.
Weaknesses:Like any well built machine, it does take some knowledge and understanding of it's operation. It can be a jet or a snail depending on your capabilities. You also have to respect the standup feature especially when moving. I guess what I am saying is the only weakness that I can see is in the mind of the person driving it.
Comments:For those of you that want to truly enjoy a great wheelchair and a great staff, Redman should be your chair and your company. Between Amy, Paula, Sam, Don, and Mike,all of them are there if you need them. They have been my chair provider for 8 years and they will be my chair provider for as long as I need a stand-up wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Robert from Billings Montana USA submitted this review on May 19th 2008 at 07:38 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Besides the full standing feature, it can be put into a blended stand (foot rest up slightly, half standing with back rest slightly reclined) it maneuvers indoors easily as well as outside (mine has oversized tires and large capacity batteries)
Weaknesses:I imagine like all power chairs having someone to maintain the chair is critical (keeping tire pressure up, oiling moving parts, and cleaning). Chair response has a slight delay due to the sip and puff controls and took a little getting use to.
Does not fit in airplane (Cessna 172) need bigger plane.
Comments:Before leaving Craig Hospital I was only able to get in a full standing position, without passing out, only once and that was only for about 10 seconds, in a standing frame. Because of the standing feature on my chair, I don't have to transfer into a standing frame and I'm able to practice standing quite often. I now sit down because I'm tired of standing.
I am very pleased in the way it gets around outside. Because I do not live in town I only have sidewalks around the house. To retrieve the mail or visit my nearest neighbor involves 400 feet of gravel road that crosses a ravine. I am also very popular in the winter time because I pull grandkids in their sleds up and down the lane.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ira from Hurleyville,NY,USA submitted this review on March 27th 2008 at 08:03 PM. Ira is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I Am a 60 yr. old man , triplegic with advanced MS. I have spent seven months researching power standing chairs. Early on my OT recommented talking to a chair seating specialist ,as I was becoming over welmed . I found one at Helen Hayes in Havestraw, NY. Her name is Barbara Sweet-Micheals and her help was invaluable. Her service Department also has sample/loaner chairs available, so I was able to try all of the available standing wheel chairs. A decision came down to Permobile or Redman and I chose the ladder. The chair worked flawlessly until 91 days into my ownership. Suddenly the recline function ceased to operation. I called customer service and they walked my brother through a diagnostic procedure. The verdict was that I was going to need a new recline actuator, which a technician must install. Besides this problem I lived four hours away from the nearest tech, I was also 91 days into my warranty. This lack of a dealer network and my rural location had been the only concerns I had about the Redman . I telephoned the Company and spoke to Don Redman the President who referred me to his brother Sam who is a customer care specialist. the Redman Company paid for parts and repair of my chair.Since then the chair has worked faultlessly. My experiences have taught me that 1. Redman is a high quality chair 2.The company stands behind it's product 3.Find a chair seating specialist and go to them no matter the distance, it will benefit you in the end.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jennifer from Nanuet, NY, US submitted this review on January 9th 2008 at 12:05 PM. Jennifer is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable seating with cushiony backrest, and armrests that move with you when standing, the ability to ride while standing, smooth ride, smaller footprint (width and length), side panels that hide inner mechanics
Weaknesses: 
Comments:This is my second Redman ZRX. I got my first one 7 years ago and the new one has some big improvements. The new model has a much better balance (the old one was back-heavy) and is not as long as the old one. And there are bigger anti-tipper wheels under the battery which is an improvement from the tiny ones that didn't kick in 'til the chair was already tipping a bit. Also, the knee bolster is thinner due to a new design with an indentation in the center, which is great for fitting under a steering wheel (I drive with hand controls). I'm very happy with it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Shannon from Clover Bend, Arkansas USA submitted this review on August 9th 2007 at 03:26 PM. Shannon is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:It is a great chair for standing, allowing the user to stand whenever they choose. Seems to have plenty of power. Is a good chair if your going to stay on smooth, flat concrete/surfaces.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:DEFINATELY NOT AN EVERYDAY/OUTDOORS CHAIR if your a really active person because of the small front wheels/castors, and beind a mid-wheel drive chair. Needs to have higher ground clearance under foot platform. Mine drags when going down ramp and have to raise footrest when getting on van lift. When I recieved mine, the armrests would not even raise freely all the way to transfer. Wasnt built to my measurements, and my dad had to raise the footrest (which we were told not to mess with)platform because it was cutting circulation off to my legs. Called Redman and told them. They said "since I can feel/have sensation", that the footrest could be raised/lowered, but that if the person "could NOT" feel, not to mess with it. Medicare paid all but the $6000.00,(standing feature). In my opinion this chair is way overpriced ($38,000)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
James from Valrico, Fl 33594 USA submitted this review on January 5th 2007 at 01:46 PM. James is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Please accept this retraction for the statements made on 11-29-06.Since then Sam Redman, George Lipscomb,Terry and I have had great communication. Redman Corp is going to re-fit me with a slightly different version and make some adjustments in the design of my particular chair. This would have all be avoided but for me getting connected with the wrong department. I would certainly recommend the Redman Wheelchair Corp. to anyone in my immediate family.
Thank You,
Jim Hannon
Valrico, Fl.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
James from Valrico, Fl 33594 USA submitted this review on November 29th 2006 at 04:51 PM. James is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:1. Solid
Weaknesses:1.Very easy to tilt over on side. 2.Fell backwards when going up a wheelchair ramp, I would have certainly been injured had a friend not grabed the foot pedal. 3.Not conducive for individual with a complete cervical and lumbar fusion. 4.Roho air cushion seat is much smaller than the seat frame. 5. Very cumbersome foot rests.
Comments:As a health care professional I couldn't recommend this chair to anyone. I have owned two Jazzy's and two Invacaire Power Chairs. This is why I feel confident in making these statements.
Bad attitude once they finally deliver it. Won't help with problems. Send hardware and expect the patient to drill large bore holes into seat frame to install arm lifts that couldn't work anyway because they are to short.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Susan from West Sac, CA submitted this review on January 24th 2006 at 12:57 AM. Susan is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I wanted to be able to Stand and move at the same time so this one appealed to me. John is my friend and he recommended it highly.
Weaknesses:Sam, the son, of Power Wheelchair Repair says his business is to repair the mistakes the Redman co makes. But he made me some side guards so I could use them as a place to put my hand when I transfer (I am a Para). But he never tried them on the chair and sent them to me so when I put them on and tried to stand, they interfered with the standing position so I couldn't stand up all the way.
The knee guard is wrong my knees are closer together than the metal & foam will allow.
The footrests are too low, my hubby made me a wooden platform for my feet which is about 2" higher then their footrest. It is too wide at the knees.
It feels too tippy forward or at least it feels like it!
I used the chair for about 8 hours (going back & forth from a sitting to a semi-standing position) one day and my right knee was bruised for over 2 weeks.
Comments:I have also had nothing but grief from these guys...customer service? they have never heard of it!! The delivery guy said he would be back in a month...he never showed up. when I called them to find out what happened they said that because I had sent them a letter requesting a refund that all work stopped--they never bothered to call me to find out what was going on!
Needless to say I have not used it, I wrote them a letter stating I wanted my money back and they wrote back that it was a "custom wheelchair" ! What BS!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
John from Riverside, CA, USA submitted this review on May 26th 2005 at 07:14 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very durable. Love being able to move about while standing. Have had my first Redman for nearly 10 years. Very heavy use.

I am 6' 8" tall and weigh over 250 lbs. Very stable, never in danger of tiping while standing and roaming all over Wikikie [sp] Beach.
Weaknesses:Does not bounce very well when the airline baggage handlers drop it while loading or unloading. : )
Comments:I like my old Redman so muich, I bought a new one a couple of years ago. No Insurance. I paid full price for each. Not cheap but I feel I got a real value for my $.

John
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy