USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Balder Finesse
Image of BALDER Finesse
Front wheel drive power electric wheelchair with standing system.
• Seat height: 380mm - 820mm.
• Elevating seat til forward: 15 degrees. Seat tilt backward: 45 degrees.
• Seat width & seat depth ca. 440mm - ca. 470mm.
• Armrests: Flip up. Adjustable height. Adjustable angle. Depth regulated.
• Centre mounted split electrical footrests.
• Chair dimensions- Width from outside drivewheel: 640mm. Length without footrest 883mm. Length with footrest retracted 1130mm.
• Axle distance: 615mm.
• Height under chassis: 70mm.
• Maximum speed: Up to 9,9 km/t.
• Front tire dimension: 3 x 8". Rear tire dimension: 2,50 x 3".
• Batteries: 2 x 12V 55 Ah.
• Weight: 126kg.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1130
Durability?3.182.330
Ease of use?3.913.670
Meet expectations?3.553.330
Overall Rating:2.821.670.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Brian from Detroit Michigan USA submitted this review on August 21st 2015 at 01:31 PM. Brian is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Powerful, raises and tilts quickly as DX controls.
----------------------------------------------------
Weaknesses:When trying to stand, the arm rests pushes your elbows through your shoulders. I am a C-4,5 quadriplegic complete, no functional movement of arms and legs.
When the backrest gets older it gets really really loose and without the parts it can't be fixed. It has been nicknamed the rocking chair and is unanimously hated by all of my assistants, over the years at least 15 of them.
Getting the thing repaired was a nightmare. Scott Westfall is ridiculously slow at getting anything fixed or even ordered. Although, he assured us when we bought it that he had a warehouse in Ohio and parts would be no problem. THAT WAS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM! But Every time we checked, the part is stuck in customs!
--------------------------------------------------------------
Comments:As a great design and I love the flexibility of the sip and puff controller. It can tilt in space, Stand, recline, is quite fast in the open area but with a sip and puff it's hard to keep straight.
If it could be well-maintained by the supplier this may have been one of the best chairs on the market. I use it now as a backup chair and dread every time I get into the "rocking chair". The back is so loose when riding in the car we have to drive slow so it doesn't lean too much or tip over.
The limit switches were another weakness. They slip around until it either doesn't set of the way up or lower on the way down or it may go too much all the way up or all the way down and not be able to return to the "normal" position. Error lights don't tell you much.
Also, the seat pan had a lip all the way around to hold the cushion in place, this tore up my sling and made sores on my back/butt. We had to have it cut completely off of the back part.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
punky47 from Borehamwood, Herfordshire, U.K. submitted this review on August 7th 2013 at 10:01 AM. punky47 is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Really good chair. As previous user commented, the Rolls-Royce of powerchairs is a good description. It has an air of quality and strength.

I bought mine second hand off Ebay for 1400 - which is really good considering they are 16000 new (standard). I've seen a few come up on Ebay over the past few months that i have been searching, so if you have small budget and can't afford a new one, keep waiting and you should be able to get one for between 1300 - 3000 in U.K.

Very easy to operate with my Dynamic DX-REMG90A controller. Can switch between tilt, recline, leg lift/recline, raise and stand with joystick and one button.
Obviously the standing feature is great but my favourite feature is the raise feature - goes very high, your head will be level with standing peoples heads at highest and even dwarf some people.
All the mechanics look and feel very stong.
The chair will also manoeuvre whilst you are standing.

I paid 135 for a service from Etac U.K.(Balder makers) which i found quite reasonable and service engineer re-programmed controller to go faster.
In fact, Ian Carter at Etac U.K. has been unbelievably helpful with free advice and help getting a controller reprogrammed with proper settings. Above and beyond the call of duty without making you feel like he was trying to make you spend money on accessories, etc.
In my experience, 20 years in wheelchair, this is unrivaled and may even keep me a lifelong Etac customer. Well done, Etac U.K!
Weaknesses:I don't like the style of the plastic cover that shields battery, electronics and wires, too old fashioned for me (42yo Rock'n'Roll type human).
My chair is too slow at 4mph.
Accessories are way too expensive, i do not work and it took me six months to save with some help and a lot of blood, sweat and tears. A swing away tray is 350, push handle 195, etc. Way too expensive for an unemployed user.
Never liked grey tyres, when are black non marking tyres going to be standard?
Would like an option for the plasic cover to be different, more modern or very minimal. I like the look with it off, i know electronics need to be covered but i'm sure this could be done better. I like the tyres exposed, without mudguards. Maybe just 2 panels each side to cover batteries and electronics. Be nice if they were metallic. Modern, young, fresh! Hotrod - pimp it up!
Comments:The excuse for expensive chairs and accessories has always been that they are for a small market, therefore manufacturing and development cost is high.
This argument is becoming old hat with 3d design and now China is starting to make quality products at lower prices. Why would i pay hundreds of pounds for a swing away arm when i can design it myself and send design to Mr Wong who will make it a fraction of cost with the quality materials that i choose.
That day isn't quite here yet but it will be tomorrow.

Soon we will be making our own chairs, so it's sink or swim.
A lot of people regard the Quickie F55 as a great chair. Look at it, it looks like a beech buggy - beautiful! Most chairs these days look like they were designed to ferry my great grandad to his funeral.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Neil from Joplin submitted this review on March 20th 2012 at 03:37 PM. Neil is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The RollsRoyce of chairs. The vertical feature should be required on ALL chairs! The versatility is great, I can pick up a pencil and reach the microwave over the stove with ease.
Weaknesses:The service dept.of a Yugo! I waited over 5 months for one part and am still waiting (over a year) for a gel seat. They have sent the wrong one twice now! I have ordered a new motor and cannot find out if there is one in the US, or if I will have to wait on one from Europe. After 15 days of daily calling, voice mails, e-mails and text messages, I have yet to find a live person or get a single reply!
Comments:The chair is WONDERFUL, but the service is non-existent! Contrary to what has been posted previously, Scott Westfall does not provide good service! However, that is mainly because he cannot be reached; if you can get ahold of him or Duane Aubry, they are quite helpful.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Robert from DuPont, WA, USA submitted this review on January 31st 2012 at 12:01 AM. Robert is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Well engineered. Seat positions are very versatile.
Weaknesses:Very poor customer service from Balder America. They do not respond to phone messages. Can't get a critical repair part.
Comments:Do not buy this wheelchair. Balder America will not service or support it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Bryan from Medina, OH, USA submitted this review on November 28th 2011 at 08:59 AM. Bryan is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:A very versatile and enabling platform.
Allows the user to access cupboards, refrigerator items, self-transfer to a walker/toilet, etc.
Weaknesses:The chair is fragile. The lights break easily, multiple issues with the standing capability, multiple issues with the joystick, we are now having major drive system issues (push the joystick forward and the chair goes in circles.
Comments:I love the chair concept. We love the versatility and when it works, it is the best around. Improvements in reliability are a must.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Trevor from West Cork submitted this review on October 15th 2011 at 10:49 AM. Trevor is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:see my early reviews
Weaknesses:ETAC Balder UK
Comments:The product is great but since Balder UK was bought by ETAC the management has deteriorated so mutch and the good Technical staff have left and emails now remain unanswered, I feel so envious of the Balder USA clients who have excellent technical information, parts lists and spares at 1/2 price required of myself
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Robert from Amarillo,Texas,United States submitted this review on September 26th 2011 at 11:12 AM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Has multiple positions as well as adjustments, when you can use the chair.
Weaknesses:Customer service and tech. service do not exist. We cannot get parts or a phone call answered.
Comments:My son has had his chair for just over a year and during that time he has been able to use it for about 6-7 months. It shuts down for no reason and sometimes takes days to power back on. Not much fun pushing a 320 pound chair with a 15 year old child in it.
At this point not very satisfied!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
DH from spring submitted this review on July 30th 2011 at 03:00 PM. DH is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:cannot get parts - no service available
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Patricia from Millersburg, PA17061 United States of America submitted this review on September 12th 2009 at 01:56 PM. Patricia is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I got my first Balder Finesse in 2002 and got the standing version in 2007. It is the most functional, enabling and user-friendly chair on the market. I have had it with me in the hospital and for tests and medical personnel have marveled at how it enables exams and treatment without transfer and makes transfers much easier when necessary. This chair has made my life so much better. I would recommend it over Permobil just for the lock-down system alone. It does not have the lock hanging down off the chair to get caught in door sills or outside turf. It is so well designed.
Weaknesses:I had a few problems with actuators going out on the leg functions and a nightmare in getting service when the distributor was in Houston.
Comments:Balder now has a new U.S. distributor - his name is Scott Westfall and he is awesome. I have never had better customer service with any DME. He goes above and beyond to get parts and get you the service you need. The only thing that disappointed me about Balder was the service - that is no longer an issue. Scott Westfall can be reached at 1 866 652-2806. I would recommend him to anyone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Joshua from Houston, Texas, USA submitted this review on July 17th 2009 at 06:14 PM. Joshua is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:When it is working it is great.
Weaknesses:Continued failure. Have had problems with the controller (replaced twice), standing feature, light shortages, repair parts are almost impossible to find. Over a year to have repairs completed.
Comments:When it works it is great. But that is not long! Be prepared for extensive repairs, legnthy repair waits, and costly too!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Trevor from West Cork, Ireland submitted this review on July 15th 2009 at 04:46 PM. Trevor is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Makes the world of difference to my life and when it breaks down I really miss it.
Very well designed
Weaknesses:Arm support bearings and structure requires improovement,and strengthening
The rear fixing knocks hell out of your furnituture and woodwork.
The standard arm locking arangement is very poor and was modified with 8mm grub screws in place of the std 6mm fixings which project sideways and are knocked of in your 1st door ways!
Comments:Since my first review in 08 I have had 4 major failures 3 within 2 year warranty period. 1st I was stuck up in the air with a failed lift motor and the RH arm bushes wore out and required replacement. Then I suffered 2 structural failures on the RH arm support mechanism, fortunately I was able to repair/ weld the supports. I do feel that the chair still requires further development in particular regard to the arm structures
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lawrence from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA submitted this review on January 10th 2009 at 12:15 PM. Lawrence is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Multiple positioning features
Weaknesses:Total lack of support for repairs. Replacement parts and trained repair staff are not available.
Comments:I have had this chair for approximately 4 years. I have been waiting almost 3 years for a replacement motor for the standing feature.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Trevor from West Cork, Ireland. submitted this review on January 5th 2008 at 07:30 AM. Trevor is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It is the only product which I have obtained since my spinal injury that really works and I have to think very hard to find a fault. It is really remarkable to assist entry into vehicles. It allows me to reach to book shelves and also allows me to pass under very low tables.
Weaknesses:The one fault is the length of foot movement which unfortunately does not allow you to lie flat because your legs remain bent.
Comments:It is an excellent chair and if you can afford it buy it/
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Patrick from San Clemente, CA submitted this review on August 18th 2007 at 05:31 PM. Patrick is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair can do anything...it is very well built for a plethera of needs! Standing is only the cherry on top. Moving around while standing is the closest thing I've experienced to walking in my 10 years of SCI.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:If you can afford the price tag, buy one asap!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy