USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Better Made Wheelchair Company Titanium
Image of BETTER MADE WHEELCHAIR COMPANY Titanium
Rigid frame manual titanium wheelchair.
• Materials: Titanium seamless tube 3al-2-5v class 135,000 psi strength.
• Frame: Rigid high performance welded.
• Legs: 105o adjustable footrest.
• Wheels: 24", 25", 26"; alloy carbon fibre; Primo/Continental tires; 3" dual caster
• Camber: 6o, 9o, 12o, & 15o.
• Seat width: 13" - 18". Seat depth: 14" - 18".
• Back height: 6" - 10"; 10" - 14"; 14" - 18".
• Back angle: 65o - 105 o.
• Frame height: 21" - 24" from floor to seat pan front.
• Weight: From 11 lbs.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1300
Durability?4.7700
Ease of use?4.4600
Meet expectations?4.4600
Overall Rating:4.460.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Mike from Calgary, AB Canada submitted this review on May 22nd 2013 at 03:04 PM. Mike is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have posted before as to what a great chair the BMW is and the commitment to quality that Bob provides.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:Just got new upholstery for my BMW - Bob is now using Alcantara Suede (www.alcantara.com - think Lamborghini, Porsche or BMW) and black perforated leather centre on the back upholstery. Looks great, feels amazing. When you spend 16 - 18 hours a day in your chair having comfortable upholstery is a must - this goes beyond.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Sean from Minneapolis, MN USA submitted this review on September 5th 2012 at 04:02 PM. Sean is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have purchased two BMW titanium wheelchairs and have been in a BMW wheelchair for more than 7 years. I am a very active T-11 para who works full time and travels throughout the world on a regular basis. I have been extremely happy with both chairs. The simplicity of design enables me to easily perform needed regular maintenance on the chair (without special expertise). The chair is very light and handles wear in tear very well. I have traveled throughout the world and abused the chair over and over and it holds up very well. I would recommend this chair over a Ti-Lite, Quickie, Invacare or other mass manufactured chairs to anyone. The quality and style of the chair is superior to its competitors, but the service you get from BMW makes all the difference. Pick up the phone and call BMW and you will get responsive and added value service every time. You can feel confident that this company cares about their customers and you will get the attention you deserve when making such a large and important purchase. I highly recommend BMW wheelchairs for you next wheelchair purchase.
Weaknesses:none
Comments:I haven't found a better custom titanium wheelchair after being in a chair for 12 years. You should feel confident purchasing a BMW chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Paul from Calgary, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on June 18th 2012 at 10:25 PM. Paul is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight. Looks good and works well once properly adjusted. (To achieve this you WILL need mechanical ability, or someone with mechanical ability)
Weaknesses:The light weight is partially accomplished through very thin walled Titanium, not sure how durable this will be. The chair makes a lot more noise than my old Ti-Lite.

Front casters are very noisy. (Think of a shopping cart going through a parking lot)

Foot plate and center or gravity adjustment require drilling (and sometimes tapping) new holes.

Lack of a "double bend" in the frame. (The wheelchair cannot be formed to fit your legs)
Comments:Where to begin...

I was told production of the chair would take 4-6 weeks. It took just short of 4 months to recieve the chair, which was in an unfinished state. The front casters were, and still are, very tight. The bolts retaining the front casters were low budget hex head with nuts. (I replaced these with decent looking polished bolts) The pant gaurds were 3 inches too high. (I had a seamstress modify these to fit) When I went to adjust the footplate I discovered the stripped bolt... (this required drilling and tapping to repair) I also found a missing bolt in the backrest support.

The manufacture advertises 2 degree camber, but the actual camber is 3. (While the frame on my new chair was an inch narrower than my last chair, the width at the bottom of the tires remained the same because of this camber difference) I had a machinist modify the axle inserts and used camber inserts from my old Ti-Lite to solve this.

I'd go on but this is probably enough... Save yourself the trouble and buy a Ti-Lite.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Scott from Calgary, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on November 9th 2010 at 02:49 PM. Scott is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great design, strong construction and very light. It's the best chair I've used yet and I would buy another if it's ever needed.
Weaknesses:A bit pricey compared to other chairs on the market but it's worth it if you are a high end user.
Comments:Love the chair and it looks great, get the polished finish, makes it look really sharp.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mike from Calgary, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on January 20th 2010 at 05:30 PM. Mike is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Design is clean & simple. Chair is super light and stands up to hard use and difficult conditions (snow, mud, stairs, escalators, & kids). Flexrims make gripping wheels in wet conditions much easier.
Weaknesses:none. after 6 years of hard use my old BMW still looks good and continues to perform well.
Comments:I just purchased my 2nd BMW (now using the old one as my back up chair). In 30 years this is the first time I have purchased the same make of wheelchair a 2nd time!! I got the Spinergy wheels with the Flex RIMS - AMAZING!! Great addition to a great chair. I tried other chairs out and couldn't find anything that matched BMW for looks, weight, and design.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Piotr from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada submitted this review on December 28th 2006 at 12:46 PM. Piotr is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very, very light. Easily transferrable, clean and maintain. Looks good. Solid construction. Excellent design doesn't have any sharp corners. The service provided by Bob has been helpfull.
Weaknesses:None.
Comments:Great product!!! I would refer this product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
bob from ga submitted this review on December 13th 2005 at 11:28 AM. bob is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:ok needs better adjustments
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Mark from St Albert submitted this review on July 4th 2005 at 05:25 PM. Mark is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light, easy to break down to put in and out of a vehicle. Stylish as all get out. The service provided by Bob has been
second to none. I would refer any and all that inquired.
Weaknesses:The foot plate..Would be nice if it was fabricated from aluminum or something along that line.
Comments:Great product!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
eric from usa submitted this review on February 25th 2005 at 12:45 AM. eric is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:lightweight, tracks well, elegant design
Weaknesses:none after 2 years of use
Comments:this chair is well designed, has solid construction, and performs perfectly. i would definitely purchase another, although the price is on the high side.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Souheil from Calgary, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on September 16th 2004 at 10:29 PM. Souheil is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:The simplicity of the chair's design makes for a lightweight, easily transferrable product that can be stored in the smallest of spaces. The silent motion of the chair with no fluttering castors makes for a smooth ride. A Canadian made product with the wittiest acronym clearly "sits" above the rest!
Weaknesses:It's not cheap but you get what you pay for. Flawless thus far!
Comments:The owner and designer is absolutely meticulous and will not rest until you get exactly what you want and need. He really cares about his product and he ensures every end user's satisfaction with a very personal touch. If you have any questions or concerns the owner can be easily reached and is happy to assist you in any way he can.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Doug from Red Deer Alberta, Canada submitted this review on September 14th 2004 at 10:51 AM. Doug is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light weight, very durable and easy to maintain.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:Being a rehabilitation counsellor, I have recommended this chair to all of my clients. I am a low level quad and this chair has increased my mobilty a great deal. I have used a variety of wheelchairs in the past and nothing can compare to a BMW. The service I have received after purchasing this chair is outstanding and I would recommend this chair to anyone without hesitation. It is great to finally have a chair that is made by somebody who knows what it is like to use one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mike from Calgary, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on April 8th 2004 at 10:15 PM. Mike is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Super Light Weight. SPinergy Wheels
Weaknesses:Haven't found any in over 6 months of hard use.
Comments:Have had my BMW out in Mud, Snow, over curbs, down stairs, you name it. Handles it all, and cleans up well. Excellent design doesn't have any sharp corners or bolt heads sticking to mark up cupboards etc.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Karl from BC Canada submitted this review on June 18th 2003 at 02:13 PM. Karl is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:very clean light design
Weaknesses:none noted
Comments:just had a brief look at the chair but its the best designed chair I've ever seen in 30 years of using chairs
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Better Made Wheelchair Company
Basketball
Similar products (Rigid Frame Wheelchairs)
1000
A-6S
AC2
Act
Activ
Active Univers
Advance
Advantage 4
Advantage 4
Aero R
Aero T
Aero Z
Airlite
Airlite
Airlite Pro
Airlite Pro
Avenger
B2
Blizzard
Boing
BT
BT Ballistic
BT-G Tribal
BT-Mg
BT-Mg-A
BT-Mg-AS
BT-Trail
BT-X
Carbon Black
Champion 3000
Champion Wheelchair
Classic TI
Competition
Daily Chair
Dupont Modulo Active Chair
Eclipse
Elite
Evo
Extreme
Fusion
Hallmark
Hi Lite
Hi Lite 3
Hornet
Icon A1
Idra
JAG
K Series
K-Nova 300
K3
K4
Krypto
Leggera
Leggera Compact
Leggera XL
Leggera XT
LY-5000
M1 Marvel
Max Lite
Maxima
MRX
Mtm
Netti 1
Next
Octane
Panther
Panther AX
Pcht
Performance
Performance Superlite
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Prodigy
Quasar
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QRi
Quickie R2
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie XTR
R33
Razorblade
Roller
RoVa 4
Shockwave
Shockwave
SL-5000
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Ti Titanium
Spazz
Spazz-G
Speedy 4all
Speedy F2
Speedy F4
Square Standard Frame
Stiletto
Street Classic
Street Xl
Style
Switch
Switch Attack
Taper Squeeze
Taper Standard
Tilite TRC
Titanium
Titanium XL
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Reveal
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Twirl
TR
TRA
Tripod Lt
Tsunami
Typhoon
Ultima
Veloce & Vivace
Voyager
Wolturnus Tukan
Wolturnus W5
Wulturnus W5
Zephyr
ZR
ZRA
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy