USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Jazzy Select
Image of Pride Mobility Jazzy Select
Mid-wheel drive powered wheelchair.
  • Turning Radius- 20"
  • Maximum Speed- UP TO 4 MPH
  • Brakes- INTELLIGENT BRAKING (ELECTRONIC, REGENERATIVE DISC BRAKES)
  • Weight Capacity- 300 LBS.
  • Overall Length- 35.5" WITHOUT FRONT RIGGINGS
  • Overall Width- 23.75"
  • Ground Clearance- 2"
  • Drive Wheels- 10" SOLID
  • Caster Wheels- 6" SOLID
  • Drive Train TWO-MOTOR, IN-LINE, MID-WHEEL DRIVE
  • Suspension- ACTIVE-TRAC
  • Standard Electronics- 40 AMP, PG GC CONTROLLER
  • Battery- U-1
  • Standard Battery Charger- OFF-BOARD, 5 AMP
  • Range Per Charge- UP TO 15 MILES
  • Battery Weight- 24.5 LBS. EACH
  • Base Weight 99 LBS.
  • Standard Seat- CONTOUR SEAT
  • Standard Seat Weight- 30 LBS. (CONTOUR SEAT)
  • Color Options- JAZZY RED & JAZZY BLUE
  • Warranty lifetime limited on frame; 2-YEAR LIMITED ON ELECTRONICS; 18-MONTHS LIMITED ON DRIVE MOTORS
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews710
Durability?4.141.000
Ease of use?4.292.000
Meet expectations?3.291.000
Overall Rating:3.291.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Joyce from Oregon submitted this review on November 3rd 2015 at 09:20 AM. Joyce is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Can support extra large persons
Weaknesses:Original Battery died in 6.1 months: NuMotion said this is typical for Jazzy chairs and the warranty is only 6 months. Armrest split in numerous places in 6 months: Jazzy customer service says the material on the armrests are not covered by warranty. It appears this is not a scooter that is built to last or that is good for persons with limited funds because everything that can go wrong is apparently not covered.
Comments:Battery replacement costs vary widely. A pair are about $500 on line but NuMotion in Portland Oregon charges $850 to replace. Can't imagine a 10 minute job is worth $350 in labor!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
HOLLY from STACY, MN US submitted this review on September 13th 2014 at 12:09 PM. HOLLY is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tire traction is good, easy to use, tight turning radius and very reliable
Weaknesses:Very uncomfortable seat for extended periods, I use a roho with mine. I am short so even with the arms raised as high as they go it is not high enough.
Comments:It is 2014 and the first time I am replacing batteries, I also have a hoveround and like my jazzy better. No headrest on Hoveround and no traction, however the armrests do adjust to fit.also very reliable, but use and operation of Jazzy is my first choice. Hoveround seems wider for turning and joystick seems harder to control.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Peter from Tempe, AZ submitted this review on January 11th 2011 at 04:00 AM. Peter is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tight turning radius
Weaknesses:Slow, extremely uncomfortable, unstable, difficult to maneuver, numerous and serious design flaws, especially in the seat, armrests and foot plate.
Comments:I am post-polio and have been using a wheelchair of some sort for almost 50 years now. I have this chair as a loaner while my Invacare Torque is in the shop for repair and I must say this might be the worst chair, power or manual, I have ever used. Seriously, I'd rather use an old Quickie P-100 than this dog. I've had loaners before and know they usually aren't the best chairs but the Jazzy Select stands above (below?) the crowd in its sheer horridness. You cannot use an aftermarket cushion in this chair and the seat is horrible. I cannot sit in it for more than a couple of hours without being in excruciating pain. The center-wheel drive is totally counterintuitive to me and I am constantly backing into walls or getting the rear casters tangled up in something. The armrests are poorly designed and difficult to raise or lower when I'm sitting in the chair. The joystick cover comes off if you breathe on it the wrong way and the chair has the extremely annoying habit of turning itself off after 5 minutes if you don't operate it. The foot plate is an obscene joke and provides NO protection for the feet or legs. If you have serious foot deformities, as I do, it is an instrument of torture worthy of Torquemada. If you are a semi-ambulatory old person who uses a chair to putter around the house or maybe walk the dog, you might find Jazzy chairs acceptable. But if you spend the majority of your waking hours in your power chair and use it a lot outdoors, you should avoid them like the plague. I only hope my Torque is repaired and returned to me before this piece of junk drives me insane.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
JC from Oklahoma submitted this review on June 14th 2010 at 05:21 PM. JC is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I live in this Jazzy Select chair 10 hours a day and about 6 to 7 days a week and it's been this pace for over 3 years now. I use it consistantly at work and it has proven to be very reliable, strong and capable of putting up with me in a very demanding position here at work.
Weaknesses:I did have a problem with the single post on this Jazzy Select seat. It has cracked twice but after the 2nd weld repair it is doing very well now. I've also had a problem with a squeek coming from the electric motor but I simply spray silicone (from Nappa Auto Parts) onto the shaft just behind the wheel and this has stops the squeek. Seemed like a dried out rubber seal but that is only guess.
Comments:I would like to try the Jazzy 614 HD with the 4 post seat and see if this 4 post seat was any stronger. I'm convinced that the Jazzy Pride is a very reliable product. I hope it is not just this Select chair. I'm shopping now but the 614HD is a little too bulky size wise as compaired to the Select. I've had very little trouble with this Selects size and it's manoverability. I was very disappointed in the seller (store) of this chair and am presently looking for another dealer.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jack from texas,usa submitted this review on October 27th 2008 at 06:59 PM. Jack is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:manuverability, ease of driving, comfort
Weaknesses:BATTERY CHARGING TIME. YOU WILL NEED 2 SETS OF BATTERIES OR ANOTHER SCOOTER OR POWERCHAIR. TAKES 12 TO 14 HOURS TO CHARGE.
Comments:WISH THEY WOULD HAVE PUT NO MEMORY BATTERIES IN CHAIR, THE HIGHER COST WOULD BE WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from Gainesville,Florida / USA submitted this review on June 18th 2008 at 10:15 PM. John is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Pride Jazzy Select 14 (2008) model is a strong powerchair -
though it has many faults.
Weaknesses:I've owned my chair just 11 months w/ daily use and it has been constantly in the shop for repairs to the electrical system, batteries, charger , dl controller, etc.
Comments:I like the chair , but just wish it would not always be in the shop! 9 times in 11 months for an electrical problem.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
John from Alachua County Fla. submitted this review on February 8th 2008 at 04:55 PM. John is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lots of ride with ease
Weaknesses:Batteries burn out rather quickly! I've owned the chair only 5 months and have had the batteries replaced now once. (Remember I've got The Pride Jazzy Select 14) .
Comments:I like the zero turn radius
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jazzy from New England USA submitted this review on January 20th 2008 at 10:46 AM. Jazzy is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very Manuverable indoors. Comfortable Seat. Fairly easy to drive. With avaerge daily indoor use, the battery charge holds up for a few days before you MUST charge it. Seems mechanically sturdy, perhaps even rugged. Note: The plastic body may not be suitable for "Dodge-em matches" or furniture crashes. Another important strength: Pride Mobilities Staff [from odering to delivery/ training]. And really, I'm just a customer.
Weaknesses:When you charge the battery, you must not use the chair for 8 to 12 hours. Thats half the day. It can be hard to find a span that long when you don't need your chair. You may even need 2 sets of batteries or a chair and a scooter. If you plan to charge it while you sleep, It can be very difficult to find an 8 to 12 hour span when you don't wake up in the night needing to use the bathroom, etc. and your chair to get there!
Comments:Over all, I love it. But don't get to attached. Get up and walk if and when you are able! If you will use it a great deal, the less furniture you have, the better. After all, you're already sitting! What I mean is, loose the coffee tables, etc. So you can get close to where you store things or plan to transfer to sit or lay down. All Kidding aside, when I drove this, I wept. The first time I used it I realized it's value to me!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel Scooter
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory 9 Scooter
Victory Sport
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy