USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Mikayla
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Larry
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Joyce
Medicare Technology Mambo Standard
Written by I.J.
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Barbara
Invacare 3G Arrow True Track
Written by David
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by Robert
Box Wheelchairs Daily Chair
Written by Deidra
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-715HD
Written by debra
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Image of Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
  • Turning Radius 22"
  • Maximum Speed UP TO 6.5 MPH ( OPT. HIGH SPEED MOTOR PKG. UP TO 8 MPH)
  • Brakes INTELLIGENT BRAKING
    vWeight Capacity 300 LBS
  • Overall Length 37" W/O FOOT RIGGINGS
  • Overall Width 25.875"
  • Ground Clearance 3"
  • Drive Wheels 14" PNEUMATIC (std.) OR 14" SOLID (opt.)
  • Caster Wheels 6" SOLID OMNI-CASTERS REAR/5" SOLID OMNI-CASTERS FRONT
  • Drive Train 4-POLE HAMMER MOTORS, MID-WHEEL 6
  • Suspension ATX W/ DUAL REAR STRUTS
  • ynergy Seat Allowable Sizes WIDTH: 10" - 22" DEPTH: 10" - 20"
  • Accepts Specialty Controls YES
  • Standard Electronics 100 AMP PG REMOTE PLUS
  • Battery TWO 12-VOLT, GROUP 24
  • Standard Battery Charger 8 AMP OFF-BOARD
  • Range Per Charge UP TO 20 MILES
  • Battery Weight 53.5 LBS. each
  • Base Weight 170 LBS.
  • Warranty LIFETIME LIMITED ON FRAME; 2-YEAR ON ELECTRONICS; 18-MONTH ON MOTORS
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews2900
Durability?2.9000
Ease of use?3.7600
Meet expectations?2.7600
Overall Rating:2.790.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Robert from Va Beach VA submitted this review on July 31st 2017 at 11:17 PM. Robert is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Well they have changed most of seat and foot motors the new Q-Logic 2 Drive Control System over the first
Weaknesses:Well almost everything I said in the first
Comments:This is not my first chair. So when they would not fix my old one anymore which I had for over 9 years I had to get a new one. So I went with the same one I hade for all that time . I went thru a lot of wheels tires seat and head rest and a set of batters once year. If I could I would give this new one back. I know I am going to get a new chair as soon as I can .
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Willow from Calgary Canada submitted this review on March 27th 2016 at 12:24 PM. Willow is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:Since the day I got it nothing but trouble. Between tilt constantly shorting out to motor on right side leaking. It's spending more time sitting outside my room than me sitting in it. Tips forward if picking up something. I have a list of problems with it. Not worth the money. Can't afford repairs anymore so there it sits for another 5 years till I qualify for new one. And in a crap manual chair or in bed now.
Comments:Sucks waste of money
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Willow from Calgary Canada submitted this review on March 13th 2016 at 11:44 AM. Willow is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:The whole chair is weak. On my 3rd tilt package because of shorting out. My 2nd hand control that was effected from tilt shorting out. Casters have been a pain in but getting fixed over and over. If leaning to pick up something will tip forward.
Comments:Never get till glitches are fixed. I'm not a crazy driver it's everyday use on off bus and around facitity I live in.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Darlene from Pace submitted this review on July 17th 2015 at 07:45 AM. Darlene is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my first wheelchair, I've had it for seven years. It is very comfortable, feels solid/stable, fast, and has nice options like titling, rises straight up.
When it was delivered my "training" consisted of "here is the"go/stop" switch and "oh and this controls the speed" as I go flying down the sidewalk.
Weaknesses:After seven years now things are starting to break. The first thing to be replaced were the arm rests. Next, years later the bolt(s) connecting the seat to the base broke as well as a bolt on the armrest (twice). Fortunately, my husband and daughter were able to fix both. Did not have to wait for techs to fix it which takes a couple weeks or more. I didn't pay for it but it was expensive.
Comments:Since this is the only chair I've had I probably don't know as much as the old timers. I used a Bruno scooter before and loved it too.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Connie from Lima, NY, USA submitted this review on December 15th 2014 at 09:49 AM. Connie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:It's fairly comfortable and quiet
Weaknesses:It is too big and clunky; hard to steer, even at slower speeds. The front edge of the foot rest when in the raised position is sharp -- I lacerated the back of my heel once when I was barefoot and bumped into a small stool. The smaller wheels stick out too far and are unnecessarily large.
Comments:I definitely am not happy with this chair. I had a Jazzy 1113 for 11 years that served me well, but eventually wore out. Thus, I am not a novice at power-chair useage. This one has smashed, butchered, marred, scored, and damaged just about every doorway and wall I travel down! I would NOT recommend this chair and I'm surprised that Medicare would approve such an over-priced, hard-to-use model. Why can't you bring back the Jazzy 1113 model or something similar?? I am very disappointed in Pride Mobility and would not recommend you to anyone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Dave from Comox. BC. Canada submitted this review on May 7th 2014 at 06:19 PM. Dave is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very powerful and reliable, it is used everyday except when it rains. I love the chair, it hasn't given me a moments trouble.
Weaknesses:The electric motors are quite noisy....certainly more than I would like.
Comments:I have had this chair coming on 3 years now, as I have said not a moments trouble....I have over 3000 klm's on the display.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
alex from canada submitted this review on March 23rd 2014 at 05:11 PM. alex is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:best chair I ever had.very dependable torqe and performace is outstanding would definatly recommend to anyone that's shopping for one.
Weaknesses:none at all.
Comments:very impressed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Ft Myers, FL, USA submitted this review on July 23rd 2013 at 06:49 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my 3rd power chair and by far the most dependable. Besides dependability the strengths of the Pride Quantum 6000Z is the speed and comfort. My chair is equipped with a power recline seat back and power leg rest. This chair is so comfortable I often just lay back for my afternoon nap. One other feature I love about this chair is that the tee bar seat rails. This feature allowed me a standard van laptop mount, costing less than $100 compared to one for wheelchairs costing $1000. My next chair will also be a Pride Mobility product.
Weaknesses:No cup holder!! How many chairs do you see with an aftermarket cup holder stuck on it?
Electronics not waterproof, living in South Florida can expose me to downpours of several inches in a hour. Disabled people are becoming more mobile and mainly because of the high quality power wheelchairs they have access to, and manufactures need to realize this. I understand that Medicare and the VA only pay for chairs for inside use. If this feature became standard they would have no choice. It also would raise the overall reliability of the chairs.
The chair suspension needs to be extended to the seat mount. When we are in a vehicle and the chair is tied down the suspension is compressed which neutralizes it's function. If the chair had some of the suspension on the seat the chair would still nearly as comfortable as in normal operation.
the biggest weakness of the Quantum 6000Z is the power management! It is a weak design, the chair never has had the range it should have nor met the specifications of the chair.
Comments:Pride Mobility is without a doubt the best wheelchair manufacturer around.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jerry from Wichita, KS submitted this review on May 22nd 2013 at 01:44 PM. Jerry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a follow up to an earlier post.
Weaknesses:This a followup on an earlier review. I've had this 6000Z for 3years and have turned very negative of it. I have had to replace a tilt actuator, broke a tilt pivot bolt which allowed a strut link to get bent, and recently failed a drive motor, which necessitates the replacement of the motor and gearbox assembly. I did not get the reliability that I expexted out of such an expensive investment.
Comments:I'm not recommending this product to anyone, anymore!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Dean from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada submitted this review on April 1st 2013 at 07:56 PM. Dean is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Maneuverability, Speed, Dependability, Control System.
Weaknesses:Suspension and stability on uneven terrain not great. Castors are enclosed and hard to keep clean.
Comments:I have used my Q6000 for over 5 Yrs with very few problems. Have gone through 3 sets of batteries. 1 drive wheel came off once. I liked the 6.5 mph top speed, reasonable torque. Got stuck a couple times in softer terrain. Overall very dependable power chair and would consider getting another.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Christine from Crawley, UK submitted this review on December 31st 2012 at 04:30 AM. Christine is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, maneuverability, comfort, managing kerbs, getting on and off trains
Weaknesses:I find the head rest much less comfortable and much less easy to change its position. My major problem has been with the bearings in the castors, which all broke after 10mths of use. We tried extensively to purchase the same bearings but it seems they are not available anywhere. Pride will not supply them separately only as whole castors, my supplier tried very hard to get them to do so but they simply refused - what is the point of having castors that come undone so you can get to the bearings if you cannot then change them!! For a chair that cost 6000 i would expect better
Comments:The bearings are the only real thing wrong with this chair and i am hoping the new ones will last longer. My chair is essential for me to function in any way and i lead an active life so i need to be confident that it will work without problem.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ernest from Brentwood CA Contra Costa submitted this review on August 30th 2012 at 06:07 PM. Ernest is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The hi backed leather chair is well made and comfortable
Weaknesses:The chair started dropping graphite from a bearing and ruined our new rug. It wouldn't hold a battery charge over two days. The control arm stopped working. Control arm has been replaced four times at $1000.00 each time. Motors replaced.
Comments:This chair is a worthless piece of junk. I would be lucky to go a mile before batteries need recharging. Medicare should look into the outrageous cost of buyimg and keeping it going. Don't get one of these.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jerry from Wichita, KS submitted this review on August 11th 2012 at 07:21 PM. Jerry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is the swiss-army knife of power wheelchairs. I can't get up from a seated position, so I use the 6000Z's tilt function to get me to a standing position. I have installed an EZ-Lock in my Chrysler Town & Country's front passenger spot and can manuever the 6000Z inside the van to get it locked, meaning it hs good manueverability.
Weaknesses:Drive could be a little stronger in 1st & 2nd speed on very soft carpet. Plenty of power in 3rd & 4th speed.
Comments:I would recommend this chair to others. There are some very nice used 6000Z chairs available on Craigslist & Ebay at decent prices.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michael from Spring, TX USA submitted this review on May 6th 2012 at 02:54 PM. Michael is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:None that I can list
Weaknesses:The caster design makes it IMPOSSIBLE to start out or to back up in a straight line. The wheelchair swings violently to the left or right. If you need to navigate in close spaces, find another chair. I've contacted Pride; and they are totally unresponsive.
Comments:It is a piece of Cr@p !! The caster design makes it IMPOSSIBLE to start out or to back up in a straight line. The wheelchair swings violently to the left or right. If you need to navigate in close spaces, find another chair. I've contacted Pride; and they are totally unresponsive.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Beth from Cobourg, ON, Canada submitted this review on April 26th 2012 at 10:20 AM. Beth is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:When new and in full working order, went anywhere and everywhere (over 1 1/2"-2" thresholds), forward on uneven dry grassy yard and gravel driveway. Can travel at fast speeds. Tight turn radius and good manuverability when all is well with the chair.
Weaknesses:One motor went within the first six months resulting in poor manuverability. The chair would turn/pull to the side but especially when attempting to navigate a threshold and on an incline. In order to go straight up or down a ramp, I had to have the controller joystick pushed to the side (a position which would normally cause the chair to turn.) The other motor has now quit?/has problems?/ likely needs to be replaced. Unidentifiable nuts and washers have fallen off the chair. (Not a reassuring sign.) And it sounds like the ball bearings just went on one of the wheels a couple of days ago. Arm rest leather?/vinyl? has already split on the front of the non-controller arm. This is my second power chair. First chair with Pride Mobility.
Comments:I am very disappointed and frustrated with the problems with this chair. My first chair never had these kinds of problems.
Is there a quality reliable chair out there?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Greg from Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA submitted this review on March 5th 2012 at 06:05 PM. Greg is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Some strengths are speed is good, turn radius great. is to turn in tight spaces. chair is durable and no breakdowns since I purchased my chair.
Weaknesses:My chair has no weaknesses so far.
Comments:My chair is awesome. I play power wheelchair hockey in my chair and I use my chair hard. I would recommend this chair to others.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bill from El Sobrante, CA, USA submitted this review on January 2nd 2012 at 04:58 PM. Bill is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Q6000Z Plenty fast. Looks sporty. Tilt in space really helps. It is a sturdy heavy chair and seems to have plenty of power.
Weaknesses:The Q-Logic controller seems difficult to program. After 10 months I still am bumping into doorways with this new chair. My knowledgable tech has programmed the chair three times to try to give me greater control. The factory settings are not for persons who want to operate with full control. The factory program is minimally responsive to the joy stick for turning and braking. It has regenerative braking and it seems that the chair must decelerate slowly to recapture the energy. I expect my chair to stop when I return the joystick to the center position. I had a Sunrise Quickie for 5 years which was very responsive with the VSI controller. When moving the QLogic joystick to turn the motors slam into motion jerking the chair in the direction of the turn. I don't know why the electronics have this all or none engagement of the motors on turns. Maybe it is programming but after 3 times I am suspicious that this controller is not set up to engage smoothly. It has been described as "unpredictable delayed response control" or "DRUNKEN SAILOR STEERING ISSUES" (information on the web) which allows for the anyone to steer the chair but not to control the chair. I will try programming again after reading up on the possible options. Still patching and painting the walls and door jambs.
Pride advertises six wheels on the ground at all times. They don't talk about uneven terrain or outdoors. On multiple occasions the front and rear casters held the drive wheels off the ground and I was stuck- 4 wheels not 6! This chair will not navigate on my garden paths where they are not completely level. This is a midwheel wheelchair design downside. My older chair seemed to have fewer problems on gravel or outside. My next chair will probably be a rear wheel drive so I can get around outside. I cannot transport the chair and still use the old chair for shopping.
It is 2" wider than my old chair and I have been in many, many stores where my older chair will navigate the new chair will not fit (not the chairs fault really but still the way of the world).
The front and rear casters catch and drag everything they get near. I don't know if this is the spherical covers on each side of the caster. This was not a problem with the old chair that did not have the rounded covers.
Comments:I am still learning to work with this chair since I have not been able to get up daily. I had hoped to have the bugs worked out by now.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Robert from Virginia Beach submitted this review on July 12th 2011 at 07:26 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair does do a lot that they say I have had it for 4 years
it is a strong and easy to use and fast I went with the hi speed motors.
Weaknesses:I have had some problems with the chair, right after I got it it would not move they worked on it three times befor it would work then it did it again 3 years later .
Comments:This is not my first chair but is my first to have all the stuff this one does lift, tilt , recline , You need to know that this is a 6000Z I got it right after they came out with the 6000Z in Jul 2007, The problem I have had with the chair is, the chair would not let me move, when in the chair you can recline but you can only go so far back then the chair won't move untill you come back to a more siting position then you can go But this not what happend to me the first time I was out shopping and on my way back to my van I had to stop for a car after it moved I went to go but the chair would not move it would tilt recline but it would not move it had a red light whitch ment that it was reclined or tilted to much but that was not what was going on after a while a kind man helped me get to my van as he was getting me into the van I asked if we could try going in backwards as he did I saw that the light went green so I re-engaged the motors and went home I called my supplier and they came out and re-programed it and said it was fixed but a few months later it did it again but this time I was home they came out and re-programed it again and then only six weaks go by and they had to fix again after that time 3 years went by befor it did it by then I am using a different supplier they have got things straight for now they said that if I have any moor problems they will replace the control unit . Now for the good things that the chair does do, I would be hard pressed to find some where I can't go with in reason I go over most curbs and with the hi speed motors I get where I want fast!! . As for anything mechanical things are going to have problems the only thing I can say is to have a good rep who will do what is need to fix things. When you get a chair that is over $25,000 dollars you need to have someone who will do what it takes and that means a loaner chair while they fix yours so finding the right people to get your chair from is maybe more important than the make. Because if you have a problem you need some one to help you . I only found out after I got this chair that the supplier that I got my chair from had lost or stopped dealing with medicare as a provider why I don't know but I do know that it makes a big difference when you need somthing done . So if your provider is not on your insurance you need to find one that is it makes a big difference in what you get and what you have to pay for.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
wendell from pittsburgh, pennsylvania submitted this review on May 10th 2011 at 10:52 AM. wendell is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:none
Weaknesses:the damn chair is a weakness, the chair will tip when you go up curb cuts, no power, i got stuck after it rained.
Comments:i drive the best chair permobil's trx and or my new permobil x850-while the x850 was being repaired they gave me this q6000 as a loaner- i thanked God when they brang my x850 back tome-but the x850 has to goback to repairs its not braking correctly-the new oaner is the invacare tdx and i read users comments on that chair-i will write my review tommorrow night after i drive it

wendell fears signing off for now
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Grant from Australia submitted this review on May 5th 2011 at 03:13 AM. Grant is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I've used the chair 3 1/2 years now. This is a follow-up to two earlier reviews. After many troubles in the first six months (replacement motors, electrics etc) the chair has done very well. I am a very active user, often doing 20 or 30 km a day. I also travel a lot so my chair is for ever in vans, trains, ferries and planes. It has taken me to an incredible variety of challenging places. It is stable, fast, powerful and nimble. I have never had any trouble with manoeuvrability, stability at speed etc. Like all vehicles you need to know how to drive it but at least with the optional upgraded motors it has absolutely no trouble on carpet, normal terrain etc. I have become bogged once or twice, as can happen with a mid-drive, but it's pretty rare.
Weaknesses:As I said above, after a lot of initial teething problems it has been very reliable in very demanding situations. The two most annoying problems were firstly the mercury tilt switch which causes the chair to stop on relatively gentle slopes-this is idiotic and I realigned it until it had no effect. Secondly the chair tends to slow down and often shut down when it is warm. There is no way of knowing whether the motors really are at risk of overheating, but is pretty exasperating when you're half way up the hill in Florence. I agree that the front castors are a bit small-the 6000 Z model has slightly larger ones which would help, however this is a trade-off as I detest chairs with large front wheels, catching against walls etc.
Comments:This is a pretty good chair in my opinion. It can break, but then they all do. Good support and availability of parts is crucial. Sunrise medical has every part under the sun on their unbelievably complicated website so if you can find it you can order parts direct from there.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
PaulK from Texas submitted this review on April 30th 2011 at 10:10 AM. PaulK is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power Seatiing w/ 10" lift & tilt very helpful for daily tasks.
Weaknesses:Weak narrow footrests, poor programming and tech support. Drive profiles very jerky, no power to drive over common obstacles: thresholds, ramps, carpeting etc.. Mostly useless unless operating on flat smooth surfaces.
Comments:Pride Mobility/Quantum Rehab tech support is very weak, the chair has quite a lot of potential but they will not allow changes to the controllers programming to make it user friendly. Pride needs to re-look at the Q6000 series rehab chairs and test them in a real end user environment, Really too bad it could be a great product!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Mary from St. Petersburg, FL USA submitted this review on February 5th 2010 at 04:18 PM. Mary is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Has capacity for tilt, recline, elevating leg rests, and a 10 inch seat elevator. The colors are pretty and the wheelchair looks nice.
Weaknesses:The wheelchair has a tiny foot plates and with the big front wheels there is no way to make a larger one,especially if your feet turn in or out. The 2 inch armrests are uncomfortably narrow & leave no room for mounting anything else you might need on a wheelchair. The electronics on my wheelchair operate erratically and the wheelchair fishtails on a van ramp or anywhere else where you may be backing up creating a dangerous situation. The optional big blue button box that operates the electrical features operates automatically in the reverse of the direction it went in previously. This means that if you are in a tight space, footrests may go forward when you need them to go back, and the tilt may also go in the opposite direction you intend. The wheelchair is longer and wider than some models and requires a greater turning radius than some other high end wheelchairs. If you do pivot transfers, the front wheels can be an unwanted obstacle to safe transfers. The wheelchair has a jerky ride especially at high speeds and requires getting a running start to climb some inclines that some other wheelchairs do with ease. The wheelchair has a lot of plastic parts instead of metal. The speed knob on the joystick gets caught easily on doors and frames causing the wheelchair to lurch forward if the joystick is mounted on the right. Blankets can easily get caught in the large wheels at the top.
Comments:I have had my wheelchair re-programmed 5 times to no avail. I am still running into walls and door frames and have nearly fishtailed off a van ramp when backing the wheelchair in a minivan. Neither the joystick nor the buttons operate normally. I have barely sat in this wheelchair at all because of the problems. My advice to anyone looking for a wheelchair is to insist that a demo be provided that you can sit in and drive before buying. If you are very active and independent, you may not be satisfied with the way this wheelchair handles. The motors can seize up causing the chair to stall unexpectedly and the safety feature on this wheelchair that causes it to stop on an incline it deems too steep, can create a safety hazard of its own because it leaves you stuck in that place and position for at least several minutes. I have been using power wheelchairs for many years and this is the worst wheelchair I have ever had.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
dave from iowa submitted this review on December 17th 2009 at 09:42 AM. dave is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:suprisingly decent ride quality. very informative, easy to read display. Fair top speed (mine does 6.7 on the flat) even without the high speed motors.
Weaknesses:Small casters that tend to get hung up easily. would like to see 8 or even 9 inch units and the softer, wider flotation units offered as an option. this would take the ride of this chair over the top. also the covers on the casters that are suppost to keep dirt and such out of the casters seem to collect it.
Comments:I've got right at 100 miles on this chair and so far no problems
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from Ft Myers, FL, USA submitted this review on December 6th 2009 at 07:58 PM. John is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:The comfort of ride. I think the ride is better than my Permobile Trax.
I also enjoy the way it moves the footrest and the chair back to maintian a comfortable configuration when the chair is reclined and when the legrest are raised.
Weaknesses:NOISY! Its not terrible but my other chairs were almost soundless and this one rumbles.
Comments:I chose this chair over the Permobile, because service for the Permobile service in this area not very good.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Grant from Australia submitted this review on February 21st 2008 at 11:59 PM. Grant is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast, manoeuvrable, looks good, good simple joystick, reasonably sturdy, very good range with heavy duty batteries. Tilt mechanism is quite good and sturdy. Feels safe and stable on curbs, slopes and so on. When it's not broken, this is not a bad chair.
Weaknesses:A bit wide, long wheelbase, a bit noisy (quiet compared to most chairs, just noisy compared to the silent Invacare Gearless Brushless motors). Initial problems with unreliability, seems okay now. Pride support was slow but we got there. Mercury switch tilt sensor interferes with real-life usage (I recommend you disengage it and then drive sensibly). Paint is very thin and chips easily.
Comments:Well, this is a follow-up after using the chair for a couple of months. Both motors have been replaced as well is the control box. Intermittent catastrophic failure was eventually isolated to the wiring. Chair has now been running well under very heavy load for a couple of months. Assuming it doesn't break again it is quite good. It is manoeuvrable, fast and stable. My comparison is an Invacare Action Arrow with Gearless Brushless motors which I tortured mercilessly for seven years including prolonged overseas use on the cobble stones of Europe. The 6000 is longer and wider than my old chair and much noisier. I am inclined to think I should have tested a Gearless Brushless mid-drive Invacare before going with this one (I did test a sunrise rhythm, amongst others). I am about to test this on the cobbles of Rome in a week so I will let you know how it survives.
Oh, I also got my clever dealer technicians to move the electronics from the idiotic box on the back to under the seat. This freed up the space on the back for my portable ramp and a carry bag :-) Quantum designers, sometimes you a very silly people.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Gary from FL submitted this review on January 13th 2008 at 06:51 PM. Gary is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Unreliable. Six breakdowns in the first year. I am concerned Pride is hiding electrical problems on this chair. I cannot recommend enough that buyer beware. My next chair will not be a Pride.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Grant from Australia submitted this review on December 14th 2007 at 05:12 AM. Grant is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast, manouverable, stable, good tilt mechanism. Range seems OK, though I haven't had a chance to push it to the usual limits yet since it has mostly been broken. Reasonably smooth ride for a mid-wheel. Looks nice (though I prefer them to be invisible).
Weaknesses:Right motor failed within a week. Took 7 weeks to replace! Electronics then failed within one day. Dealer has tried to be helpful although they fail somewhat in the communication and organisational skills areas (no surprises there).
Noisy compared to my previous Invacare Action with Gearless Brushless motors (it was SILENT except for the dopey brake solenoids). Wheelbase seems a bit long but this adds stability I guess. A bit gutless on curbs (torque may be programmable but prog is an expensive extra). Tilt sensors cut motors on beginner slopes, probably because you American pussies would sue them if they allowed even novice risk-taking (OK, pistols at dawn then is it?).
Comments:Being an optimist (a form of mental illness that involves clinging to the irrational belief that things will always turn out for the best), I still have high hopes that it will all be OK once I have replaced the motors, electronics, joystick, batteries and possibly the frame.
I will post again after i get it back again and give it a realistic beating.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Jeremy from Hanover PA submitted this review on December 9th 2007 at 09:34 PM. Jeremy is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable seating system and good suspension. Looks good even though somewhat bulky.
Weaknesses:electrical system is a real problem. not very good traction.
Comments:Unreliable. Six breakdowns in the first year. I am concerned Pride is hiding electrical problems on this chair. I cannot recommend enough that buyer beware. My next chair will not be a Pride. Reliability is more important than anything and my last 2 Pride chairs have not been reliable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Wesley from Columbus, KS, USA submitted this review on October 14th 2007 at 04:39 PM. Wesley is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable(using the Synergy Seating), reclines and tilts with leg lift.
Weaknesses:Quality control issues, but all have been repaired. Expensive ($26,000). For the price, it should have better paint and better QC for fit and finish. It has a larger turning radius then my previous chair. Headrest pivot was installed incorrectly.
Comments:Dealerships make a difference. My local dealer dragged feet continually. I think that dealers and customer service make or break the deal.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel Scooter
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory 9 Scooter
Victory Sport
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy