USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Image of Magic Mobility Extreme X8
All terrain powered wheelchair.
  • Top speed of 6.2 miles per hour
  • High torque motors
  • Passive steering system
  • Articulated frame
  • 14” low pressure tyres
  • Modular seat width 13.5” – 24”
  • MPS seat width 16” – 24”
  • Overall length 1150mm
  • Overall width 710mm
  • Seat to floor height 475mm (front) 425mm (rear)
  • Wheel Size 14”
  • Weight limit 182kg (400lbs)
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews820
Durability?2.504.000
Ease of use?4.382.500
Meet expectations?3.003.000
Overall Rating:2.883.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


David from Vancouver,British Columbia, Canada submitted this review on January 27th 2017 at 02:53 PM. David is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The wheelchair is excellent performer and very powerful in almost any terrain,very maneuverable and agile.
Weaknesses:Where do I start, 1)Reverse locking pin, looks like it was designed by a 4 year old the geometry is way wrong. 2)Foot rest needed to be modified to keep your feet from sliding off and running over them.3)Control unit relocated to a more accessible position and eliminate unnecessary wiring.4)Front motor wiring is not flexible enough so it has a short life span. It is not a easy repair but can be changed to last much longer.Assembly was poor in terms of wheels bolts being loose and no anti-seize compounds being used on hub to axles resulting hubs having to be cut off to remove motors. New hubs had to be redesigned and built making wheel and hub removal a breeze. 5)Motor control problems were present and denied by chair manufacturer and dealers were useless with diagnosing the problem, but the control maker new exactly what the problem was and corrected it promptly. I had to go around the factory and dealers to make that happen.
Comments:This is the best concept of an all terrain chair available but does need a lot of refinement. It is presently having motor control problems now and I have not yet found the remedy.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
james from usa submitted this review on March 20th 2015 at 10:52 AM. james is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:powerful, dependable, easy to drive
Weaknesses:None noticed
Comments:I use the chair everyday and live on 10 acres and great to deer and turkey hunt on.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bonita from Babson Park submitted this review on October 19th 2013 at 09:07 AM. Bonita is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is fast and good for outdoors.
Weaknesses:There are so many wiring issues and since we live on a dirt road when it breaks down my husband is stuck inside in a recliner.. My husband is young and loves the outdoors so every time we have to wait for repairs ( not to mention spend thousands of dollars ) it messes with his quality of life.
The company won't honor any warrantys.
Comments:The manufacturer really needs to look at customer reviews and fix the problems.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Salem from Vilas, NC 28692-8801 / USA submitted this review on December 8th 2012 at 12:16 PM. Salem is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It's built like a Sherman Tank, however, when it was assembled, either here in America, or in Austrilia, who ever did it should be fired...
1. The right rear wheel fell off three times.
2. The seat when it goes all the way down, it smashes the motor, being replaced again...
3. When you raise the seat to grab something off the top shelf in a grocery store, or an home improvement store, I wish it Gould have the ability to move forward, and backward without having to lower the seat...
Weaknesses:Poor Craftsmanship, No Quality Control Supervision...
Comments:I half to rate this Extreme X8 4X4 very high, my only complaints are poor craftsmanship and quality control...

I bought my Wheelchair from Hickory NC, and they are great, they are getting a little aggravated though, they have had to make (6) service calls?!?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Conrad from Austin submitted this review on June 12th 2012 at 11:45 PM. Conrad is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast. Does well on sandy surfaces that a regular chair is not going to go.

Seems to keep a decent charge over long distances despite the additional motors. Lights are very bright. Controls are modern.
Weaknesses:Can be frustrating for user to operate. Front wheel steering motors operate too quickly (not gradual enough) so that makes it hard to back up straight. (Could probably fix this by reducing power to steering motor.) Difficult to turn around (inside wheel drags if the turning radius is too small). This can be a problem on loose soils. People around the chair don't understand that it needs a "wide berth" to operate compared to a regular power chair.

Seating positioning is not as flexible as it could have been. Should have been designed to allow chair to move forward for backward to ease getting in/out, changing positions, moving forward to a picnic table, etc. No tray attachment point.

Seems like some parts are exposed to elements that don't need to be - wires, connectors, motors, etc. Could have used simple plastic panels to cover exposed parts. For an off-roader, should have skid plates.

Cushions are not the most comfortable. For type of product should have had 4-point seat belt.
Comments:This was my son's Make-a-wish and I think it is a good platform, with some modifications. Some of the comments re: service are discouraging - but are only using it for Scout campouts that require off-road (for the reasons above).
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
James from Vansant Virginia submitted this review on May 30th 2012 at 12:08 AM. James is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:good in many terrians
Weaknesses:wiring to the front wheels constantly breaks an the manufacture will not admit it may design flaw
Comments:if you don't mind the break downs it is a decent chair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
John from phill, pa usa submitted this review on May 29th 2012 at 09:56 AM. John is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This This electric wheelchair will go everywhere! Traction is unbelievable through thick mud over long thick ranches and logs, up curbs through just about everything.
Weaknesses:unfortunately, this chair will go just about everywhere! You can get into trouble with it because it will go places you should not be. I have had this chair for 11 months and I have experienced several problems with the front drive motors and steering. People care to wait quite a while for repairs as they are in no hurry to get you back up and running. I am not sure if they think of these chairs as secondary units that are just run once in a while but as for me I am in it all the time. Therefore when it is broken, I am broken!
Comments:again, the dealers and the providers of the chair i.e. the manufacturers are in no hurry to get you back up and running. If you are outside of warranty repairs are very expensive very lengthy.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Nathan from Battle ground,wa, 98604 submitted this review on May 28th 2012 at 11:43 PM. Nathan is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Goes everywhere so far, strong motors,
Weaknesses:Hard to steer in reverse
Comments:Love this chair. Just wish I got it sooner
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Sam from Texas, USA submitted this review on October 23rd 2011 at 09:47 PM. Sam is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Seat elevator is great!
Weaknesses:Multiple design flaws. Many parts must be modified and redesigned before chair works as expected.
Comments:If you are okay with making modifications on a $31,000 chair before using it, this is the chair for you. I had to fabricate some parts but it works fine now. Unfortunately if you are looking for an outdoor chair that can be used inside on very rare occasions your options are very limited. This is the best I could find.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
James from Vansant va usa submitted this review on October 12th 2011 at 12:41 AM. James is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:great for outdoor use easly controlled
Weaknesses:poor wiring set up on front drive motors easly snagged an broken from normal use
Comments:i have had my x8 since november of 2010 an i have had to have the front steering motors worked on twice and both of them replaced once other than the front motor trouble i love my x8
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy