USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Center wheel drive powered wheelchair.
  • Product Weight Capacity: 300 lbs.
  • Seat Width Range: 12" - 22" (Will vary depending on seating system used)
  • Seat Depth Range: 12" - 22" (Will vary depending on seating system used)
  • Drive Wheel Position: Mid-Wheel
  • Speed: 8 MPH
  • Turning Radius: 20"
  • Overall Base Width: 25"
  • Overall Length: 36" w/out footrests
Sunrise Medical designed this wheelchair for active users who cover long distances on a regular basis, the QM-720 is outfitted with a 8 mph motor package. It also includes all the key components found on the Quickie QM-710, such as SpiderTrac™ Suspension, an mid-wheel drive base, and PG Drives electronics.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1000
Durability?4.4000
Ease of use?4.7000
Meet expectations?4.5000
Overall Rating:4.200.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


James from Brookline, MA submitted this review on April 26th 2017 at 07:24 AM. James is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good on bumpy terrain
Weaknesses:Parts break and it takes months for repair
Comments:Less durable than other chairs I have owned
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Samantha from Corvallis, Oregon submitted this review on November 26th 2016 at 12:08 AM. Samantha is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I'm doing a review, for the QM-710 power chair. I received this power chair last month after starting the process to get it in April. First of all. I have to say it's a great power chair, for someone who is very active in the community. It goes over 1" curb cuts with no trouble at all, and the Spider-Trac suspension really phases out the bumps, and jolts. In my opinion. I have the latest version of the SpiderTrac suspension. The SpiderTrac 2.0 on my QM-710, and it is awesome.

I have yet to try to go down a curb with it as it advertises that it can go down. Because I'm too afraid of something bad happening to me where I could get hurt.
Weaknesses:Leaves, and other debris tend to get caught up in the area where the suspension is very easily under the shroud. I had to always be careful when trying to clean them out from the shroud. My power chair is still fairly brand new, and I don't want to void the warranty.

That's the only weakness so far that I've experienced.
Comments:I got this power chair to replace my 13 year old S-525, and it was the best investment I've ever made. It came at a good time too as my insurance is going to expire at the end of this month. I'm trying to get enrolled with another insurance plan.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Samantha from Oregon submitted this review on November 6th 2016 at 09:37 AM. Samantha is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am reviewing the QM-710. I got this power chair last month to replace my thirteen year old S-525 power chair. I love a lot of things about it since I'm just starting out with it.

1) The turning radius. I love it! It makes turning tight corners very easy. Especially in my old house, and on the paratransit van when I have to back into position.

2) The suspension. I have the latest SpiderTrac 2.0 suspension, and it makes for a very smooth ride.

3) The speed. It goes twice as fast as what my old power chair went. I love it. It took a few weeks to get used to because as soon as I turned it all the way up. I felt like I was going to crash because I was going much faster than what I was used to. The top speed on my new power chair is 6.0 MPH. The top speed on my old power chair was 5MPH.

4. Comfort. My seating specialist ordered the seat length twice as long as what my old power chair was. But, he brought the back canes in to my original seat length, for my cushion. It is very comfortable where it's at now. I also have the waterfall armpads again like I did when I first got my old power chair.

5. Battery life. It seems to last a long time all day without needing a charge.
Weaknesses:None yet. I've read the other reviews, and have been very careful about taking my power chair out when it's raining. Some people have told me to listen for a hissing noise from the suspension. That could mean trouble.
Comments:This is a wonderful power chair for anyone like me who is very active in their community. I am not big on going off-roading with my new power chair as of yet. Although I do attend a summer camp every year for one week during the summer where there's a lot of gravel paths, and rough terrain. I will be using my new power chair there next year.

I am very happy with my new power chair so far. My old power chair hadn't been working since April, and I felt it was time to get it replaced.

I have the expanded r-net controller, so that in the future. If I ever needed power seating added on my power chair. It can be easily added on.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michael from Midwest City, OK, USA submitted this review on July 26th 2016 at 12:22 PM. Michael is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Smoothness of the ride, 14" tires, electronics.
Weaknesses:I replaced the awfully tiring Jay cushion with the much more comfortable Stimulite Elite cushion.
Comments:This is a great chair I'd recommend highly.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michael from Midwest City, OK, USA submitted this review on May 4th 2016 at 09:59 AM. Michael is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The motors, electronics, & batteries have worked like a charm & given me great service!
Weaknesses:I replaced the awful & very uncomfortable Sunrise Medical Jay cushion with the much better Stimulite Contour cushion.
Comments:I'd highly recommend this chair to anyone needing a quality chair!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michael from Midwest City, OK, USA submitted this review on March 25th 2016 at 09:38 AM. Michael is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Electronics, solid build, big tires (14"), speed, overall comfort
Weaknesses:I've not had any problems with maintenance as I have a good relationship with my mobility dealer.
Comments:I'd recommend this to others.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Josh from Oakland, California submitted this review on September 11th 2015 at 04:33 PM. Josh is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Unique suspension design – this is the only mid-wheel power chair that uses suspension linkage that keeps all six wheels on the ground. This keeps the base of the chair from pitching back and forward when traveling over uneven surfaces and on steep slopes such as driveways, wheelchair ramps, and curb cuts.
User comfort – I tested what I considered to be the best designed and best built power chairs in the group 3 Medicare billing code before deciding on the QM-710. I had gotten used to being thrown forward in my previous rear-wheel power chairs every time I rolled up and down medium to steep slopes. The first thing that struck me when I tried this chair is that I did not experience the same rocking and pitching; I couldn't believe how well this chair's suspension manages the transition from slopes to level surfaces. This is reason enough to recommend that you try this chair when it comes time to replace your current chair.
Compact wheelbase – I am able to navigate in very small spaces like bathrooms, in buses, and my van without difficulty because this chair spins in place; I can rotate 360° on the same spot.
Exceptional build quality –each individual component of the power base is top-quality and very durable. Heavy duty bolts secure the linkage system, motors, and seating system. Large sealed bearings and thick bushings prevents the suspension system and seat actuators from binding and loosening even after two years of heavy use.
The front and rear swing arm's are oversized, as are the arms that link the arms to the suspension system.
Electronics – I haven't had any problems with wiring harnesses failing or damaged power and seating control wires. User profiles can be highly customized depending on the needs of the user. I have had no issues with programming profiles.
Style – I like the midnight blue shroud cover and all black rims and tires. It looks sporty and professional kind of like an Audi S5.
Weaknesses:My main issue with this chair is the lack of a reliable service provider in the Oakland area. I do not recommend using National Seating and Mobility in Hayward. I have had better experience with the NSM in Santa Clara.
I would point out that the company provides all the documentation needed to maintain your own chair if you have the requisite experience and tools. I do not recommend that you perform any repairs that would void your warranty or could result in risk of injury to yourself or others. You should always be careful and use your best judgment before attempting any repair by yourself.
Comments:I highly recommend this chair. I believe that the main reason this chair is overlooked by most users is the low profit margin compared to other power chairs in Medicare's group 3 billing code. In other words, the wheelchair service provider gets paid more if your insurance company approves a Quantum or Invacare because those chairs have a higher profit margin than the quickie QM-710. That shouldn't stop you from asking to test this chair before you decide on a replacement.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Michael from Midwest City, OK, USA submitted this review on April 30th 2015 at 12:38 PM. Michael is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Altho this is just an initial review for the QM-710 & I'll review it again after I've had the chair for a year or so, I like the smoothness of the ride as it does have 14" drive tires, the quietness of the motors, the overall build-quality, & the electronics.
Weaknesses:Since I've only had the chair for a few days, I've not had any problems so far.
Comments:I also have a Permobil M300 which I really like & the Quickie QM-710 is every bit as good as the M300.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Paul from Brantford Ontario Canada submitted this review on August 30th 2014 at 04:54 PM. Paul is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed & response are good, but this is qualified by the weakness.
Weaknesses:Almost completely useless outside in inclement weather. One of the front casters got splashed driving through an unanticipated puddle & completely seized up, causing the chair to pitch forward & back. And forget about winter driving in snow; the institutional-type wheels just spin with absolutely no grip. The joystick has bent (possibly when stuck in a snowdrift) and now has to be driven at 10 o'clock in order to go forward (12:00 o'clock). This of course reduces overall speed and maneuverability. It was replaced once with a supposedly new controller that somehow already had 278 miles on it, and also is out of alignment.
Comments:I cannot in good faith recommend this product. The much vaunted 'Spider Track' technology is unnoticeable in regular use giving an extremely bumpy and jarring ride to my arthritic back. Disappointing, when this chair was to replace my old Q6 Edge, which also had no discernable suspension either. The screws holding the seat back also have worked themselves loose on more than one occasion, compromising my safety. There has also been zero response to my queries, either from Sunrise Medical or the Quickie website.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Dan from St Pete, Florida, USA submitted this review on August 25th 2014 at 08:12 PM. Dan is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Clean crisp design, ease of use and maintenance
Weaknesses:The chairs computer / controller box is attached to the (for the lack of a better word) towel bar on the seat back, which makes it difficult to hang a backpack.
Comments:The QM720 is very well-built. I drive from my chair and it feels amazingly solid, no creaking or twisting like some other power chairs I've driven from. This chair handles well in wet grass, lite mud and mildly loose sand. I would suggest this chair for someone living an urban lifestyle, but certainly not a rural one. I believe the chairs literature referred to as a commuter chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy