USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
The Roho Group Quadtro Select HP
Image of THE ROHO GROUP Quadtro Select HP
Air filled wheelchair cushion.
• Adjustment control for contouring the cushion to the user.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1400
Durability?3.9300
Ease of use?4.0000
Meet expectations?4.2100
Overall Rating:3.860.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Paul from Dover, NH, USA submitted this review on July 7th 2016 at 02:42 AM. Paul is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable, easy to adjust. Can be used for extended periods of time.
Weaknesses:Cover rips easily.
Comments:I have used my Roho for almost 5 years now. I have had no problems, other than the cover ripping. In this time I have had NO pressure sores. I attribute this to the cushion and to my wife. :) It is infinitely adjustable and you can sit on it for as long as you like, with position adjustment. I would absolutely recommend this product to anybody in a wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Kevin from Eugene, Oregon, USA submitted this review on February 13th 2015 at 05:01 PM. Kevin is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I'm a C4-5 SCI quad. Had a radial flap years ago with right ischial shaved about 2" so I sit unevenly and do not have much meat on my bottom. Roho Quadtro has kept me sitting straight and decubitus free for over 25 years. A three year warranty with exceptional customer service can't be beat.
Weaknesses:You can get a flat. You need to pay attention to air pressure in the cushion and there is no magic gauge available to assure proper amount of air - the one to two finger method under your bony prominences works best because everyone is different and altitude and temperature affect air pressure/volume.
Comments:I haven't had a flat in years. knock wood. I also use a low profile quatro for my handcyle and mid-profile for long trips in car or plane. You need to keep your pump handy.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bill from El Sobrante, CA, USA submitted this review on January 2nd 2012 at 05:22 PM. Bill is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Wonderful pressure reduction. Best surface to sit on because it minimally aggravates the hypersensitivity and nerve pains.
My first cushion is five years old and is still going strong. The cover was replaced after a couple of years. I got a new cushion with my new chair (different sizes).
Weaknesses:The new cushion leaked from a defect after 4 months. I got a refurbished replacement from Roho which lasted 3 months before it sprung a leak at the base of one of the "balloons" where it could not be patched. I am beginning to wonder about a change in quality control.
The cover tore after a couple of months because it caught on my leg brace. I am not sure I can blame Roho for the cover tears but I wonder about current quality.
Comments:The warranty replacement cushions are refurbished and warranted only to the end of the original warranty period.
I have had 5 Rohos of different styles (purchased and inherited) and have not had any problems with leaks.
From the beginning it was love at first sit.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Bruce from San Marcos, Ca. USA submitted this review on June 6th 2010 at 12:29 PM. Bruce is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfy
Weaknesses:None so far
Comments:I sit on this cushion for hours at a time and find it very, very comfortable, beats the heck out of normal foam padded ones.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
JOEL from GLASGOW, KY. submitted this review on April 14th 2009 at 02:24 PM. JOEL is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:FULLY ADJUSTABLE
Weaknesses:NYLON COVER
Comments:I HAVE PROBLEMS WITH PRESSURE AND NERVE PAIN AND WITH THIS CUSHION I CAN MAKE ADJUSTMENTS THROUGHOUT THE DAY TO ALLEVIATE PRESSURE POINTS. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE HAD IS THE CONTROL VALVE WILL RUB THE BACK OF MY LEG WHEN ITS OFF CENTER AND THE NYLON COVER DEVELOPED A RUN THE FIRST WEEK I HAD IT. THIS IS THE BEST CUSHION I HAVE HAD IN 17 YEARS.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mario from New York, NY submitted this review on November 26th 2008 at 02:35 PM. Mario is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Adjustable and no pressure points.
Weaknesses:Not good for users that sweat easily--no air circulation for your skin.
Comments:Maybe a 1/2" or 1" layer of breathable material on top can help. (Stimulite/camel hair?) That will also help if the air cells develop a leak so that you're not seating on metal.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Glenn from New Jersey, USA submitted this review on June 20th 2008 at 03:33 PM. Glenn is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy to keep clean and regulate pressure
Weaknesses:fabric cover could be more durable, especially sides & front; I wish the sides held their shape
Comments:Absolutely would use no other - I've had ROHO cushions for all but the first 3 years of my 18-1/2 years in a wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Cat from Nottingham, UK submitted this review on June 1st 2008 at 09:30 PM. Cat is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It's infinitely adjustable (via Isoflo valve).
Excellent pressure relief. (Fantastic pressure relief seen on pressure mapping - no areas of high pressure, unlike nasty foam thing I'd previously been issued by "Wheelchair Services").

It's very stable as you sit 'in' it and so is less tiring than other types of cushion.
I can sit on it for so much longer than ANYTHING else! It's very comfortable.

Also, it's SO lightweight so does not add weight to your chair/the weight you have to propel.
Weaknesses:Cover is rubbish - handle ripped within a fortnight. Also, the seam on the top front edge rubs behind knees. (I now use a variety of cotton-jersey pillow cases. They're easy to wash and are stretchy so don't impair the pressure relieving aspects of the cushion.)

If you have severe hand problems, you may need help to inflate it proplerly (or at least putting the pump on the valve as it's a bit fiddly).

It can be a pain if you need to take the cover off as it 'hedgehogs' - it curls up like a hedgehog!
Comments:I LOVE my Roho Quadtro Select - I couldn't manage without it!

I had a hard job persuading the Hospital that this would be the ideal cushion to try as they wanted to try 'making' one from gel/foam as I have a pelvic obliquity and scoliosis (amongst other conditions) and I needed to be able to have greater height under one side than the other. The Roho Quadtro Select allows this. It also can be adjusted from day-to-day and even more often as/when needed. I can take the pressure off by 'switching' the Isoflo valve from 'locked' (where the air travels only in the quadrant it is locked in) to 'unlocked' (where the air can travel round the whole cushion) and then 'lock' it with the right amount of air in each quadrant so that I can sit up so I look 'straight' and I'm not hanging over the side of my wheelchair. I no longer get sore red patches on my behind since having the Roho and would reccommend it to anyone who needs 'positioning'.

Some people say that that air cushions are 'less stable' than other types of cushion. IF it is adjusted properly, it is MORE stable as you sit 'in' it instead of perched 'on top'! The only way that they ARE less stable is for transfers (depending on the amount of air you need in it.)

I get less physically tired sitting on the Quadtro than anything else.

I'd reccommend anyone at least try a Roho (particularly the Quadtro) as you don't know if it is the right thing until you try it. It won't suit everyone but, try it, then decide - you can't make a true decision until you do try one! (I was sceptical at first before I tried it as I have neuropathic pain and thought that I would be hellishly uncomfortable - it was quite the opposite - I wouldn't give it up for the world! I'm even buying one to sit on in my car too!)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
TechGuide says: Right you are Cat. The most common problem with the Roho (or any air cushion) that I ran across was improper inflation. Users would over inflate causing increased pressure and loss of stability. Under inflating would cause bottoming out. Takes a bit of practice. You can't just toss these on a wheelchair and forget about them.
 
carol from holly hill, fl, USA submitted this review on July 14th 2007 at 09:31 PM. carol is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Helps keep the rear intact LOL!
Weaknesses:I hate the way the sides flare out while sitting. My hips and legs just seem to flail on me and I am constantly readjusting my position.
Comments:I have been a para t5,6 for 25 years and do appreciate the stress this cushion relieves. I only wish I had better posture with it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Vince from Nova Scotia submitted this review on July 13th 2005 at 01:47 PM. Vince is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:For myself being a paraplegic,i can't live without it.
Weaknesses:Easily punctured
Comments:Very costly from the time i started using the roho,since 1978,the price is out of this world,I am in the process of purhasing one can't believe the cost,but i guess that's the problem that all of us disabled have to to deal with,we all need these items,so they put the cost up...doesn't seem right does it!!!.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jo from Indianapolis, IN, USA submitted this review on July 9th 2005 at 10:29 PM. Jo is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The different chambers did provide some extra relief.
Weaknesses:The corners "pushed out" and caused my legs to slide. I was using it on a seat with no firm sides. The last straw was the air valve pulled out.
Comments:I'm not wasting my time having it repaired.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Christian from Sao Paulo BRAZIL submitted this review on July 7th 2005 at 08:14 PM. Christian is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:excelent
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jeff from Alexandria, Virginia, USA submitted this review on December 21st 2003 at 01:44 PM. Jeff is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Provides stability and comfort. Contours to "abnormal" body positioning.
Weaknesses:Leaks, which do not occur frequently, can cause unexpected bottoming out. Also, somewhat difficult to make adjustments without starting from scratch.
Comments:I have Muscular dystrophy and have been using Quadtro High Profile cushions since 1996 when my old Jay Cushion began bottoming out and causing pressure problems. It took a little while to get used to, but I am very happy with it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Eduardo from Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil submitted this review on September 14th 2003 at 11:16 AM. Eduardo is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable and adjustable. Good stability and excelent protection.
Weaknesses:A little heavy.
Comments:This is my second Roho HP cushion. I had a dual chamber one and bought the Quadtro 8 months ago. Its more stable than the Dual Chamber High Profile and offers the same - and excelent - from every Rohos High Profile cushions. Its a little heavier than other air cushions, but the increase in stability makes it the best cushion Ive ever used.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy