USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
The Roho Group Roho High Profile
Image of THE ROHO GROUP Roho High Profile
Air filled wheelchair cushion.
• 4" (10 cm) interconnected air cells
• adjustable air volume.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1511
Durability?4.075.003.00
Ease of use?4.533.003.00
Meet expectations?4.473.005.00
Overall Rating:4.073.004.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


GORDON from LONDON submitted this review on October 23rd 2010 at 05:55 PM. GORDON is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:its save my bum from getting sores
Weaknesses:the are no weaknesses
Comments:just the price is to high
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Elrod from Linary, Tennessee USA submitted this review on September 8th 2010 at 10:30 AM. Elrod is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Prevention of pressure sores
Weaknesses:Don't reallt have any I can think of off hand.
Comments:A very BIG price tag, Not nessary in my opinion
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Joan from Mapleton, OR submitted this review on July 14th 2010 at 04:25 PM. Joan is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:lightweight, comfortable, adjustable, last a number of years before problems crop up.
Weaknesses:watch for leaks, high altitude causes alarming expansion if traveling
Comments:Been paralyzed 35 years and still prefer the Roho. I used to have an old Jobst flotation gel cushion but it was always cold and took several hours for me to not feel chilled. This cushion warms up quickly, cleans easily, and is comfy as long as there is enough air in it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
marcus from california, md submitted this review on May 13th 2009 at 11:30 PM. marcus is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:good for back pain
Weaknesses:none
Comments:i love the cushion because it forms to the user. i get may cushion on may 13, 2009. i used for driving one time and no problems on a car seat.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jan from Longport OR submitted this review on June 24th 2007 at 12:46 PM. Jan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It doesn;t add much weight to the chair
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Unstable during transfers. The method for inflation is rediculous and it is impossible to inflate to the correct level with any consistency but the real issue is that there is absolutley no way of knowing if this cushion gets a leak and goes flat. If you don;t have feeling how are we supposed to know? I could potentially be siting on a completely flat cushion for 15 hours. I had a close call where this almost happened because the valve malfunctioned. Not worth the risk to keep using this cushion.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Steve from Mount Vernon, WA, USA submitted this review on June 21st 2007 at 04:27 PM. Steve is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortabe in my wheelchair and easy to transfer to car seat or any other chair. Relatively easy to adjust air pressure, however a valve in the fill tube would make it easier
Weaknesses:Carry strap broke; very minor problem
Comments:I haven't tried any other cushin, just used a couple of soft pillows which was not adequate at all.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Richard from Pittsburgh Pa. USA submitted this review on February 15th 2007 at 07:04 PM. Richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The cells allow me to wiggle a sore spot between columns to relieve pain and give support around the area. I can stay in my chair longer. And with The Roho Group's loner policy It enables roho owners like me to continue my daily routine while my cushion is being repaired, and at one set price no matter if it's a pinhole in a place where it can't be patched, or the replacement of an entire column.
Weaknesses:The cushion can get a puncture very easily. You have to be very careful. The price is a bit high, but worth it.
Comments:I had a motorcycle accident in 1981. I broke T10 & T11 in my back. From years of not walking my butt kept shrinking making it more difficult to sit. I went through just about every cushion on the market. Then I discovered the high profile roho. Now I don't brakedown or have any skin condition. In the 26 years as a paraplegic I have been using roho cushions now for over 20 years. I feel there is no other cushion on the market like it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Melanie from Scotland, UK submitted this review on May 10th 2006 at 10:17 AM. Melanie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Pretty robust if you look after a Roho with care. Good at preventing skin problems including redness and pressure sores. Helps maintain good posture if adjusted and fitted correctly.
Weaknesses:Difficult to transfer onto without use of a transfer board compaired with gel or foam cushions.
Valve is very tiny and can be difficult to adjust. Original one broke so I got a replacement cushion free of charge the next day. Needs at least twice daily adjustments for correct pressure may vary during the day. Cushion cover doesn't last longer than 6 months after being machine washed a few times, shows signs of wear and tear.
Colors of cushion appears to be limited to black, however I notice that some jazzy covers are available as an option!
Comments:I spend approx 6000 hours a year sitting on my Roho, so I guess that I'm a good advert!
The cost is extremely high, however the benefits are justified in this case.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
JO from JACKSONVILLE NC submitted this review on July 14th 2005 at 05:38 PM. JO is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:CAN ADJUST AIR VOLUME.
Weaknesses:CAN BE PUNCTURED EASILY.
Comments:I HAVE USED A HIGH PROFILE ROHO CUSHION FOR APPROXIATELY 20 YEARS. THIS CUSHION AND KNOWING WHEN TO RELIEVE PRESSURE, HAVE HELPED ME TO STAY PRESSURE SORE FREE.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Joseph from Pa submitted this review on July 5th 2005 at 01:30 PM. Joseph is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Injured in 1983, I have used two types of Cushions in my 22 years as c5-c6 a quadripelgic with no use of my triceps. A jobst gel cusion and a roho single valve high profile. I had a severe breakdown in 1988 while using the jobst cushion and had it replaced afterwards with the roho. I have not had a problem since. A little redness in spots from time to time from heavy wheelchair riding on very bumpy roads but nothing a little cocoa butter, anti fungal cream and super blue stuff mixed lotions couldnt take care of. Like the saying goes, " you can have my roho when you pry it off my cold dead ass "
Weaknesses:Nothing worth mentioning
Comments:Like everything else in life, my cushion needs a little maintenane from time to time. I find that when I think my cushion needs air its actually that the cushion cover has been streched from long periods between washing it. I throw my cover in the wash once a week now and cushion is like new. Price is something to be desired. Even with insurance 350 to 400 dollars is expensive but priceless whren you consider the alternative
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Bobby from Boston, MA submitted this review on July 5th 2004 at 06:57 PM. Bobby is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Greatly reduces pressure, allows me to sit up 12-15 hrs. with minimal pressure reliefs, lasts many years (3-5), well worth the money as opposed to laying around for weeks/months with a pressure sore, you can adjust firmness with air valve, washable. Many different types of ROHO's available. They will custom make you one if you need an odd size.
Weaknesses:Sharp objects, sliding board seems to squeeze the air out of it, You MUST let a lot of air out of the cushion when you fly...it over-inflates with the cabin pressure and it can get damaged and certainly becomes hard as a rock if you sit on it during a flight, the valve stem always seems to be sticking into the back of my knee.
Comments:I've been in a wheelchair for 27 years and I wouldn't use anything else. Just nit-picking stuff with the weaknesses, there's nothing better out there that I'm aware of.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
BRENT from Baton Rouge, La. submitted this review on January 8th 2004 at 06:28 PM. BRENT is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:My MVP [most valued possession].
Over 20 years [MEGA-hours] using these cushions, couple of pressure sores related to heavy jeans, no weight shifts, lax skin checks.
Avg over 3 years... few repairs... fewer returned were replaced with a new one.
I rarely add air for weeks+.
Weaknesses:Gotta be careful around sparks.
May wear quicker now that I'm using a transfer board.
Comments:They were willing to send a loaner before returns.
No need scared to try anything else.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Dylan from Gainesville, Fl, USA submitted this review on July 24th 2003 at 02:10 AM. Dylan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:it works
Weaknesses:it is difficult to maintain the correct pressure
Comments:the method I use to maintain correct pressure is; every morning have aide slide hand beneath lowest pressure point(tailbone), if it doesn't easily slide under, with the ability to move the finger up and down testing to feel that there is about 1.5 finer widths between low-point and floor of cushion. If there is less than that, then pump air into it unrtil there are 1.5 finger widths. Usually I have to put aprox 5-7 pumps in per day.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Kay from Monroe, LA 71203 submitted this review on March 8th 2003 at 08:44 PM. Kay is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Shifts with the patient's weight. Does greatly reduce pressure sores.
Weaknesses:Does not maintain constant pressure. Changes with barometric pressure and altitude. Patient's traveling cross country will have problems constantly if crossing mountains, etc.
Comments:Needs a pressure gauge to determine proper pressure just like a tire does. You don't just kick your tires to see if they need air, why just feel of or eyeball a cushion?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Lynn from Sumner WA 98390 submitted this review on May 1st 2002 at 12:46 PM. Lynn is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very good in reducing pressure.
Weaknesses:The thickness, I wish that I had gotten the low profile cushion.
Comments:I had to depend on the sales person for help. The thickness puts me up too high above the wheels which is kind of uncomfortable to push.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Ziggi from Poughkeepsie, New York submitted this review on March 7th 2002 at 12:11 AM. Ziggi is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very good pressure reducer. Very light with good air flow.
Weaknesses:Can be damaged easily.
Comments:Some users are unable to independently duplicate optimal inflation.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Paul from Staten Island, NY, USA submitted this review on January 27th 2002 at 12:29 AM. Paul is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light and easy to handle. Has been a good pressure reducer for me.
Weaknesses:Can puncture easily. And is difficult to inflate with consistancy.
Comments:The cushion would probably benefit from some type of gage so that users could inflate it with more consistancy.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy