USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie Z500
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie Z500
Pediatric power wheelchair with rear wheel drive.
• Removable stroller handle snaps easily into place allowing parent to push child's chair if needed.
• Accepts a TK Power Tilt system.
• Seat design allows for multiple growth adjustments.
• Accepts Kid Kart Xpress seating for the easy switch between manual and power mobility.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews341
Durability?4.332.253.00
Ease of use?4.673.755.00
Meet expectations?4.332.754.00
Overall Rating:4.002.254.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Myron from Slidell, LA USA submitted this review on April 22nd 2011 at 08:21 PM. Myron is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tough as Nail and very easy to operate!
Weaknesses:None Noted or seen besides normal wear and tear with tires
Comments:We have owned this chair for 8 years and it has been great. The wheels need to be replaced but I feel this chair is an awesome product with the right person operating it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mathew from Miami, FL, US submitted this review on January 31st 2010 at 01:54 PM. Mathew is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable, good speed, very easy to use and easy movable joystick. Very good frame. Batteries are easy to remove, to make chair lighter when you need to push it due to battery run-outs.
Excelent turn radius, fits everywhere and smooth drive, even in grass.
Weaknesses:As all chairs, battery needs to be replaced once a year. If needed to drive on streets or outside a house, battery range is not enough. Driving over places with many high-slope ramps decreases battery range greatly. Is very easy to attach it in any accesible vehicle.
Comments:Not very heavy, can be carried by two persons up to 2 floors without problem. Tilt can be used as help for body stability when going down a slopy ramp. Ive been taken up to a second floor while seating on the chair, requires 3 persons and removing the batteries (really easy). After six years of use, batteries are not working well any more, even after replacing them, range is not enough even for one day.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Megan from Fisher, Minnestoa, USA submitted this review on April 29th 2008 at 03:51 PM. Megan is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It is lightweight and easily transportable!
Weaknesses:We have replaced the batteries twice and now there is something wrong with the batteries or the electronics. My daughter first got the chair when she was two but she didnt start using it till she was three. She would get so frustrated with the joystick because it was touchy and slow to respond. When we got the chair programed faster that helped a little but it was still slow to respond.
Comments:It is a good first chair but it is kindof a lot of work to keep going!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Kelly from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada submitted this review on August 29th 2006 at 02:53 PM. Kelly is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Initially my son, then aged 9, loved the chair. It was fast and responsive. It looks really sporty. We've had the chair for a little over a year and a half and are very disappointed.
Weaknesses:The battery took forever to charge. In the beginning, over 12 hours. We would have to plug it in right after school to make sure that it was ready for the next day. Now it takes just under 10 hours to charge. The motors needed to be replaced after three months. A year and a half later, we're about to get the fifth motor on the left side and the the fourth on the right. The chair no longer goes fast and the batteries only accomodate approx 6 hours of mobility. It's very heavy and difficult to push when the batteries run out. My biggest concern is that the right rear wheel "fell" off last November. If I hadn't been right beside him, the chair would have tipped and my son's neck could have been broken.
Comments:This chair cannot be driven comfortably on rough terrain. That includes the school playground, cobblestones, unpaved roads, sand, snow, or wet conditions. The armrests and various connections are constantly loose and my husband must tighten them every few days. This is a very high maintenance chair. My son DOES NOT recommend this chair for anyone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Chris from Readington, NJ, USA submitted this review on March 8th 2005 at 07:00 PM. Chris is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Small enough that little kids can manage it. The lightest rigid PWC out there. Disengages easily. Tilts (not much) but still tilts. Price is reasonable. Easy to repair and modify. Accepts a host of seating systems without too many issues. Easy to maintain and clean.
Weaknesses:Qtronic joystick needs repair about once a year. Not very durable for kids. Weak fork/castor tubes assembly with transit option. Holes in frame egg out, bolts get bent, cove washers break if chair is tied down improperly or during rough use. Could use rigid fork tubes. Motor disengage levers do not take a hit very well and are not a listed part from sunrise. Also, the wheel locks get loose, fall against the drive wheel and wipe out the tires prematurely.
Comments:The special transit option parts aren't listed on the website either. Hey, sunrise, how about makinging it easy. List everything! Otherwise, Great chair. Highly recomended. This is a practical chair where the strengths far outweigh the weaknesses.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Cindy from Albuquerque, NM submitted this review on February 7th 2005 at 10:59 AM. Cindy is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is a very small chair compared to many other children's power wheelchairs. My son currently has a chair that weighs about 300 pounds and this one being half the weight is great. When I couldn't drive my van with a lift for some reason or another I could always remove the batteries and put the chair into the back of my mini-van myself.
Weaknesses:I am aware of the fact that this part of my review won't be consistent with everyone's but this is something others should be aware of. My son had his chair for three years. In that time we had 3 different joysticks and we replaced the batteries three times. At the three year mark the joystick and batteries were dead again as were the motors. This is a chair that should last atleast 5 years. My son was 4 when he got the chair and didn't abuse the chair at all. He was very careful with it.
Comments:I think if the electronics in this particular wheelchair aren't faulty then it makes a great chair. We just had way too many problems with it. When he was 18 months old a family of a much older child gave us a very old version of this same chair and after his 3 year old chair died we used it. It's still running. I was disappointed his chair died after 3 years, but I can't say it was a bad chair overall. His chair was just a lemon.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Niki from Corpus Christi, Texas, USA submitted this review on January 26th 2005 at 01:31 PM. Niki is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very easy to turn, it fits through all of the doors in my house ( they aren't wheelchair accesible doors) but I fit through with with room to spare. It is very easy for me to control. It is easy to charge.
Weaknesses:It is very heavy, and I almost tipped it over going out of the front door.
Comments:I would highly recomend this product, it is great.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
phillip from ocala,florida,USA submitted this review on October 6th 2004 at 08:33 PM. phillip is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great chair. My son is 8 and this is his first power chair.many differetn adjustments to fit him perfect after a little trial and error.battery last longer than i expected too.
Weaknesses:the only weakness i have found is the weight,but we havent had another power chair to compare this one too.big change from the manual chair after 7 years.so really no weakness that i have found
Comments:great chair. my son is a differetn person in a power chair. he has so much more freedom and is much more independant.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Pediatric Power Wheelchairs)
Cyberbug
DragonFly
Entra Miniflex
Junior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Kid Power
Koala
Playman
Playman Robo
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pronto M71 Jr
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
SnapDragon
Starlight
TDX Spree
Trax Miniflex
Wizzybug
Zippie Z-Bop
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy