USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie S626
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie S626
Quickie« Trax seating allows convenient and continuous adjustment of the seat Depth to (14"-18" or 19"-22"). Suspension front casters. Front seat height adjustment allows seat height to be adjusted from 18"-20" in 1/2 increments. C.G. tilt allows chair to be tilted up to 53'. Overall width 25.75 in.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews920
Durability?2.222.500
Ease of use?3.894.000
Meet expectations?2.783.500
Overall Rating:2.562.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Joanne from NYC submitted this review on December 6th 2015 at 08:40 AM. Joanne is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Bought in Aug. 2001 and it's still going strong!!! I wish they still sold the S626. It TAKES A LICKING AND KEEPS ON TICKING!!!!!
Weaknesses:none
Comments:best chair ever!!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
LaTasha from Nacogdoches, Texas submitted this review on July 16th 2013 at 01:58 AM. LaTasha is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The speed is nice
Weaknesses:This chair has given me problems every other month. I have a one year old that have to keep up with and interact with. Will not be able to do so if my chair is always gone for repairs. One minute it's the right motor, then it's the left motor along with many other problems. This is my only way of getting around, without it my independence will be thrown out of the window.
Comments:Please have a 24 hour Tech Support available so when someone is stuck in bed like I am due my joystick is messing up could get some assistance.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Joe from CA submitted this review on January 10th 2009 at 02:06 AM. Joe is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This wheelchair goes fast. tilt is nice when have to grab things that are low to the ground or when carrying items in my lap.
Weaknesses:My foot rest will not stay closed, tippy wheels get stuck on rugs. I have problems with my two front wheels coming loose at times where the inner spring is located I do not understand why they would put springs in the wheels they look like a U-shaped.
Comments:I got this wheelchair used for $3,500. so far so good other than minor problems. This wheelchair is meant for outside use only.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Steve from Hillsboro, Oregon USA submitted this review on July 31st 2008 at 02:25 AM. Steve is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Appeared to be stylist but became a tank after added modifications were required.
Weaknesses:Too large to be used in the average home - through doorways - has limited turning radius in narrow hallways, therefore once confined entirerly to chair will require major modifications to home. Requires special transportation on only large vans or busses equipted with heavy duty lift systems. Will not fit into smaller vans period. Small trailing anti-tipe wheels too small and get lodged in void between floor of eleivator and floor of buildings. They have also have come off due to poor fastener design and get locked up when backing and need constant tightening which is impossible for the user to do. Entire chair seems to rack from side to side when transported and feels to have a high center of gravity and could tip at higher speeds, but do not wish to test it just to prove the point.
Comments:Originally, my Quickie 626 chair was $18,435 and within a year required $20,174.40 of modifications to install a tilt and recline which was all paid for by my hospitalization carrier, Cigna thus created a $38,608.40 abortion that had limited use but it is fast. The end use product cost more than a custom van, into which it could not have been transported anyway. The entire experience of dealing with Sunrise, Providence Home Services of Portland Oregon, and their sub-contractor Wheelchair Works of Milwaukie Oregon and Cigna over a two-year period was an experience I would not wish on my worse enemy. Their technicians were not properly trained to complete the modifications. The chair had to be returned twice to correct, secure, and cover exposed wire bundles that were also of inadequate length to provide proper service loops. Because the original hard plastic under seat protective cover could not be reinstalled after the modification of adding the tilt cylinder, it was necessary to request a meeting with their service manager sales representative to explain the danger the system and its rider. I had to request adding a protective canvas cover to protect the exposed power components and connections. Their idea of transporting this now $38,608.40 abortion (I have the paper work to support these figures.) was in the back of an open pick up truck, where it was left to bounce around, this was done a second time even though it had been complained about previously. Therefore, between an inept insurance carrier, a clueless hospital provider, and an unqualified sub-contractor service supplier. I ended up with a piece of garbage, my hospitalization spent close to three times the cost of a chair that could have fulfilled all my needs if approved in the first place to cover the progression of my neuromuscular disease. However, no, the know it all, arrogant non-professionals who have never spent a day in a chair, tell us they wish to be of service to us. They are in fact more of a handicap to us, than the many physical limitations and illnesses we are expected to accept with the good-natured smile and the patience of a saint. I can understand the uninformed public, but find it criminal for those who profess to be of a medical service to us, who are at best money grubbers possibly engaged in fraudulent claims in order to ripe off the system. My neurologist is licensed, my mechanic who works on the brakes on my car is certified, why are not those engaged in the supply, service, and maintenance of my wheelchair certified and held accountable for their performance.

Please note, less I sound like just another disgruntled old curmudgeon, I enjoyed a successful career as a product designer of everything from heavy equipment to electronics, have a background in mechanics, hydraulics, pneumatics, and electronics and quality control, and have developed several patentable products produced by many fortune 500 companies. Therefore, I feel qualified to be critical of those who would profess to be professional but whose lack of performance would not support their claims
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Raymond from Hamburg New York USA submitted this review on December 3rd 2007 at 09:10 AM. Raymond is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:the only positive aspect of the chair is that it was fast / quick
Weaknesses:the entire chair; the motor/gearboxes have been replace 4 times in a 18 month period {of which i had to pay each time} the chair broke down at-least every month.
Comments:I think everybody who purchased this chair should get their money refunded to them; along with a promise from sunrise that this chair will NEVER BE SOLD AGAIN. i will not even sell it when i get my new chair for fear that someone would get hurt on this piece of junk
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Tom from San Diego, CA, San Diego County submitted this review on August 9th 2006 at 12:03 AM. Tom is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:turning radius, speed dial, light weight
Weaknesses:Foot rest though called heavy duty is not. Spends alot of time in the shop, which takes away independence the user was trying to achieve, designer did not take user into consideration.
Comments:I am a Live-in-Aide for a gentleman who would greatly benefit from two different items that I hope you can help me find. He is with limited income, so whatever help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

1. On occassion he has unplugged his wheelchair and is stuck there until he is found. I am looking for a device that will hook up to his phone and has a remote that he can keep with him so he can alert me by just the push of a button.

2. His wheelchair runs low on power and he is unable to plug it in due to his limitations with hand mobility, but the biggest culprit is the designer of the Quickie S-626 who did not take into consideration the operator may need to plug the chair in while sitting in the chair.

Thanks Again,

Thomas LaScala
858.901.4817
www.LetYourLifeBegin.com
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
michael from san antonio, tx usa submitted this review on December 1st 2005 at 01:34 AM. michael is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:excellent proportional controller makes this chair very manuverable. mine has real good gel cell batteries that are 5.5 years old and still going.
Weaknesses:very underpowered for "real world" situations. gets stuck easily. mine has had a poor maintenance record. in five years it has been in the shop 5 times and has been recalled twice.
Comments:shortly after recieving the chair in 8/00. the tilt mechanism decided to go crazy by going up and down by itself. the chair still operated at full tilt. in fact. i drove it to my room like that. i barely got it home. i could not have that in a nursing home so i had it removed. i understand later on that the chair may have been recalled for this reason. since i had it romoved this has been a very reliable chair despite premature motor failure.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
James from Vancouver, WA submitted this review on June 9th 2004 at 04:45 PM. James is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Handling and driveability are great. Very nice looking chair.
Weaknesses:On my second one. The first had a mis-aligned frame that kept the right front caster off the ground. Hard to adjust for caster flutter on 9 inch casters. Difficult to change tires on 8 inch suspension forks. First chair went through three sets of motors and gearboxes in 12 months. Second chair is on third set of motors and gearboxes. Axle threads have stripped out. Electronics failed the first week I owned the first chair. Constant contact anti-tippers tend to get caught up on items on the ground.
Comments:It's a good thing Sunrise Medical no longer produces this chair. Dispite it's good looks and excellent handling characteristics it just isn't very reliable. I've since replaced my Quickie S-626 with a Blast 850. Last winter the Blast broke down so I had to use the the Quickie. Within a month I'd broken the right drive key slot. Had to have both motors and gearboxes replaced. The chair hadn't had three months of total use since the previous motors and gearboxes had been replaced.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ben from Pretoria, South Africa submitted this review on June 9th 2004 at 03:33 AM. Ben is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Excellent manoeverability and electronics; turns like a dream.
Weaknesses:The clutch levers are hard to release. AND: (this is the kicker) The backrest frame snapped. Yep. Broke off cleanly.
Comments:Overall I'm happy, but really, having the backrest snap like that from normal use (and I'm not heavy at all) is unacceptable. And the supplier told me the frame guarantee is 1 year, so I had to pay for a replacement, is unacceptable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Cris from Coppell, Texas USA submitted this review on April 21st 2004 at 11:21 AM. Cris is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great power, easy to charge, able to adjust sensitivity on controls and responce.
Weaknesses:Have had trouble with main motors / bushings going bad. Also had a glitch in control / joy stick. Hard to clean.
Comments:Best chair my son has had. (third one) Good power, low center of gravity - stable, Hard to clean.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ray from Murray, KY, USA submitted this review on January 3rd 2004 at 07:14 AM. Ray is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:The metal legrests are conected to the metal chair by a plastic hinge. In short, if you bump anything with your footplate, you break the hinge and the whole legrest falls off or will not open/close.
Comments:This chair has been completely reliable. The tilting seat/back take a few days to get used to, but you'll soon wonder how you lived without it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Out of Production Items)
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
500 Range
800
800 Gt/Gt Gold
aaa
Activator
Airlite
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
Classic Lite
Coaster E.B.L.
Compact
Compact
ddd
Delta Glide
Deltassist
Easy Rider
Ecstaseat
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Express
Folding
GL 3000XL,
Harmony Tandem
hhhh
Homecrest Healthcare Rock N Go
Ibex MK5
Ibex Rescue
Jazzy 1105
Kili Kart
Overlander
P2 Plus
Power Advantage
Power Chair
Powerchair
Premier Classic
Quickie P210
Quickie T45
Quickie Titanium
Range Rider
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Regular
Solaire Labac Fst 50
Tango Elite
Teknique FWD
The Accommodator
The Charles Cushion
Walker
Wheeleasy
xxxxxxxx
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy