USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie S525
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie S525
Power wheelchair with rear wheel drive.
• Ovalized Tri-cell tubing.
• Backrest is fully depth adjustable from 14" to 18" and angle adjustable from -4 to + 12 degrees.
• Multi position footplate.
• Product Weight: Approx. 105 lbs. w/o batteries.
• Seat Widths: 14 in. - 20 in.
• Seat Length/Depth: 14 in. - 20 in.
• Back Height: 18 in. - 21 in.
• Seat to floor (non-tilt), 18.5 in./20.5 in. (tilt).
• Product Weight Capacity: 250 lbs. - standard, 350 lbs.- heavy duty.
• Electronic Options QTRONIX remote joystick, QTRONIX USCM (specialty controls),
• Speed in mph 4.5, 6.5.
• Tilt Option Power Tilt.
• Battery Type U1, 22NF.
• Overall Width 22.25 in.
• Drive Wheel Size 12 in. X 2 in.
• Drive Tire Knobby.
• Caster Options 8 in.
• Transit Option Yes.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1111
Durability?3.001.005.00
Ease of use?3.823.004.00
Meet expectations?2.641.004.00
Overall Rating:2.821.004.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Linda I from CA, NM, NYC submitted this review on February 3rd 2009 at 11:24 AM. Linda I is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my second S 525 that I got in August, 2008. The best feature of this chair is its small width. I have a walk-in closet that has a door opening of 22.75" and this is the only chair that could fit through. Mine has the 6.5 speed and Amy Systems elevating/tilt seat that raises my height to 5"3" and lowers the seat to 19". If I didn't want to elevate that high, the seat could lower to 17". I rarely have trouble reaching anything, anywhere. I have a 15" seat width and I have found this chair perfect for someone my size, 4"11" and weight, 125 lbs. I have no difficulty going over grass, rough terrain (cobblestones) or light snow and ice. I can even go over most small gravel if it isn't very deep.
I can get through a day just using the chair on a single charge from about 8AM-11PM on various terrains and using the elevating seat. A good tech can tweak this chair to make minor modifications to make it as compact as possible; I have pediatric armrests and foot rests.
Weaknesses:The armrests are flimsy and the electronics below the chair have no protection from the weather. I had a plastic plate made to cover them. Also no safety lights come with this chair; I bought automobile fog lights ( Walmart, Target both sell them ) and had them installed under the chair on either side. They allow me to see a full city block ahead with the flip of a tiny toggle switch and are powered by the batteries. The horn button is essentially useless; it's too low in noisy crowds.
Comments:I think this is the perfect power chair for someone who is small and doesn't weigh maybe, over 150lbs. I have found that the MK batteries provide the longest life. The capability for mix-and-match parts like pediatric arm rests and foot plates allows this chair to be even smaller and more compact than any other chair I have ever seen for an adult.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Joe from NL, Canada submitted this review on March 16th 2008 at 04:06 PM. Joe is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have had the chair now for about eight years and use it a lot every day. I have had to replace both motors due to damage by airlines when traveling not due to problems with the chair. It is a very light power chair at only 110 LBS and as I am only about 70-80 lbs myself I find the narrow 22.25 width to be amazing. I also had an Amy Systems lift installed into the chair that gives me about a 8 lift when required. I use it lots outdoors as well as indoors and have had no issues. I fly a lot and the tidy size of this chair means they can fit it in the cargo hold of any airplane with ease.
Weaknesses:I did remove the anti-flip wheels the first day as they are useless. I think that Qtronix wiring is very poor and far too delicate for a wheelchair. I have had to replace the Qtronix cables about five times and I travel with an extra set.
Comments:Overall I am very impressed with the chair and now that the chair is 8 years old I want to buy something new before this one starts to give me problems. I would really like to have something different and keep this one as my backup chair. But I may end up buying another one as I dont know if I will find anything else that is around 23 wide that is also 6.5 mph.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Scott from Fort Madison, IA submitted this review on August 6th 2006 at 12:25 AM. Scott is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This power chair was given to me by a friend of a relative. It has great power. I have used it in the grass, on gravel, on uneven terrain, and on smooth surfaces. I have had no problems what so ever with traction or anything. All the power settings work great.
Weaknesses:The anti-tip wheels are too low to the ground and get caught on door kickplates, area rugs etc. They need to make them adjustable. The speed control knob is hard to turn sometimes. The on/off switch is right in front of the joystick. Here lately the drive wheels have been coming loose and I can't keep them tightned up. The technician thinks it might be the bearings. I however, have my doubts. I don't know what it is. It seems to be something with the drive axle nut or something.
Comments:Overall this is a very good chair and I plan on replacing this with another Quickie when I can afford to. I would recommend this chair. The only major drawback being the anti-tip wheels. With some modification they should be ok.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jeremiah from East Cleveland, OH, United States submitted this review on July 30th 2006 at 05:58 PM. Jeremiah is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is maneuverable in tight places, such as inside my 2002 Dodge Mini-Van. My head has plenty of clearance once I am inside. It also handles well at high speeds inside tight areas mostly due to its small casters and narrow front-end; it has very little offset on the casters, they are right under the frame. Soft sling seat (and ROHO) is easy on my buttocks. In addition, with an Invacare 10 backrest, the chair is fairly comfortable.
Weaknesses:Now the negative, the aforementioned lack of offset on the casters combined with its light weight means forget snow, grass, uneven sidewalks. By uneven sidewalks, I mean slanted or sloped sidewalks and drives; it has also become unstable on grass and stuck in light snow. The fixed position anti-tips can and do get caught on curbs and bathroom thresholds. The motors are noisy, weak and very slow when going uphill. I weigh over 190LBs so when traveling up grade I feel it slowdown considerably. The narrow front end allows the leg-rest posts to press onto the outside of your calves, creating pressure sores, unless you get padding put on those leg-rest posts. The plastic cover easily broke away from the charger port on the controller. The speed control knob begins to stick after a time because of dirt and oils from your skin. The little ridges on the speed control knob also wear away making the knob slick and difficult to turn, especially for a person with limited hand use such as myself. Whoever decided that a single nut and lock washer, along with a flimsy sliver of metal in a slot on the drive axle is sufficient on a power wheelchair should be slapped! I have had the fun experience of the left-side drive wheel falling completely off and rolling past me while out in the street, several blocks away from home. Armrest latches pop open allowing the height adjustable arm pad to suddenly drop down. Moreover, as someone else so aptly pointed out, the power button is directly in front of the control joystick, which has often caused me to accidentally switch the chair off while rolling across busy intersections when my hand slips down onto it while pushing the joystick forward.
Comments:I cannot recommend this model power wheelchair to anyone due to the poor design issues. However, taken as a whole, Sunrise wheelchairs both manual and powered are better than most. Whatever wheelchair that you ultimately get, opt for no flat inserts.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Samantha from Oregon submitted this review on June 13th 2006 at 06:17 AM. Samantha is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I got this power chair a year later after purchasing my manual wheelchair, and it's been a great power chair so far, with few problems, in the last 4 years (since December 2001) I've had it. My DME did have to replace the motors 4 times, the joystick controller at least 3 times, and the armrest once. But other than that, no reoccuring problems with it. I just got the "upgrades" to it, last January (of 2005) with the newest/latest VSI controller, the bigger motors, and the bigger drive wheels, and have been very happy with it since. This is the only power chair I'll probably ever have (as I'll never outgrow it, width wise, due to my skinny body frame), and I'm happy to have such a great DME dealer that helps me take such good care of it, with promptly replacing parts when needed.
Weaknesses:I did have one problem with the right legrest, where it wouldn't "lock" in place, as it should. But after the service technician fixed it, it hasn't given me any more problems since. I also had a problem with the allen screw on the frame part under the seat frame coming out, after multiple attempts at my tightening it back down. But then, the service technician put this bluish stuff on it (that he said would hold it in for good), and it hasn't come out since.

Another thing you have to really watch out for, is the anti-tip tubes getting "caught" on throw rugs or "hung up" on door frames/curb cuts. I've had problems with this, and haven't figured out how to fix it, yet.
Comments:Overall, the S-525 power chair has been awesome for me, as a power chair, despite the few problems I've had with it, over the last 4 years. When the acceleration rate got increased, along with the speed and turning radius, it feels like I'm going faster than the normal rate of speed, compared to when I first got it, and since it had the upgrades to it. I love using the horn button feature on it, as it's my favorite feature on the controller. Plus, my dad nicknamed the power chair "RoadRunner" because every time the chair gets turned on, it makes two short, low-beeps and it sounds like the RoadRunner from the early cartoons.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
richard from scottsdale, az, usa submitted this review on June 5th 2006 at 02:16 PM. richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:ease of use
maneuverability
speed is acceptable
battery life is great
Weaknesses:had to replace both motors within the first few months under warranty. had to replace a motor again after 3 years at my expense. had to replace joystick controller after about a year, also under warranty. i have had several problems with flimsy footrests, which my dealer takes care of, usually at no charge.
Comments:the pneumatic tires seem to constantly need air. i replaced them with foam inserts which are worth the extra money as they are trouble free.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Jim from Stockton, California submitted this review on February 1st 2006 at 12:49 AM. Jim is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very few. I purchased the S525 in 2001. It has hopefully gone through a major refinement since that time. Sunrise medical has provided an excellent warranty and has been responsive to complaints.
Weaknesses:Both motors, hub assembly and controller joy stick were replaced under warranty. The foot rests are poorly designed and come apart easily. When new rear tires are installed the technicans never install the hub assemblies correctly stipping out screws and self-locking nuts. The main shaft nut has a tendency to loosen. All in all, a poor design. Difficult to remove batteries for the end user.
Comments:Perhaps if all of the weaknesses have been corrected this might be a good chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Merly from Terre Haute, In. USA submitted this review on July 25th 2005 at 06:02 PM. Merly is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am still trying to think of any strengths of this wheelchair. I guess the fact that it moves me around, regardless of the comfort and speed, can be a strength.
Weaknesses:This chair is so slow and it has absolutely no power. It moves at a snail's pace, especially when it rains. It has no traction, and slides with a dusting of snow (one person actually said I shouldn't be out in snow in the first place). I really can't get around in grass or gravel. The absolute worst of this wheelchair is that it must have been designed by an AB (abled-bodied person) because the idiot put the on/off button directly in front of the joystick!!! Several times I have accidently hit this button while in motion and have been pitched out of the chair.
Comments:I am more than ready for a new wheelchair, one with endurance, comfort, stability and of course, power and speed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
TechGuide Tip

Bummer! We may be able to help you with the traction issue. To increase traction (if you have air tires) you can let a little bit of air out of the tires. Watch the flat spot in the tire where it makes contact with the floor. Let enough air out to increase the size of this flat spot a little. Don't let too much air out. This will increase the "footprint" of the tire and create more contact between the tire and ground. This should improve traction somewhat.

 

A heads up to those shopping for a powered wheelchair- Many, not all, powered wheelchairs have a choice of performance packages that can increase speed and power. Many allow choice of joystick as well as choice of different size drive wheels. The right selection can improve chair performance. Always ASK about performance upgrades when considering a wheelchair. Don't wait for someone to tell you about these upgrades and options. It may be too late by then.

 
Ruben from Jonesboro, GA submitted this review on January 4th 2005 at 01:10 AM. Ruben is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:My daughter has had three Quickie wheelchairs. The S525 is by far the worst. The swingout foot pedal is not as strong and I have had to replace both of them. The metal gauge is not as thick as earlier models.
Comments:Not up to what I had expected from Quickie
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Mauricio from Houston, Texas submitted this review on October 1st 2004 at 03:33 PM. Mauricio is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Decent speed and easy to maneuver.
Weaknesses:The chair gets stuck after going over dips or holes because the anti-tips wheels leave the back wheels in the air.
Comments:I have nothing good to say about this chair. I have had nothing but problems from the first month. I've had problems with the footplates, the foot hangers, the armrest holders, the joystick (I'm on the third one) and the motors(I'm on a manual wheelchair right now because I'm waiting for the 3rd set).
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
James from Fresno, California USA submitted this review on July 3rd 2003 at 11:00 PM. James is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Factory has beeen responsive to replace defective parts.
Weaknesses:Many problems-both motors & entire wheel assembly replaced after the first year. Now problems with joystick and wheel assembly again in the following year.
Comments:I would not recommend the S525. Sunrise medical has replaced at no cost the defective parts. I would do business with them in the future.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Howard from San Antonio, Tx. USA submitted this review on May 5th 2003 at 12:36 AM. Howard is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:There have been very few mechanical problems with the S525's that we have prescribed. Our clients have few complaints. They have held up well in everyday use.
Weaknesses:The width of the frame increases with seat width. When used for a wide client and combined with the 4 inch rear wheels, the chair becomes much wider than you would expect.
Comments:Try not to order the 4 inch rear wheels unless it's a must. You may have problems with van ramps or doorways if you do.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
Bounder Plus H-Frame
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
S-6 Series
Select Traveller
Series 6
Street
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy