USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Power wheelchair with electric rear wheel drive motors.
Center of gravity adjustment.
Transforms from a power chair to a manual chair.
Product Weight: Approx. 88 lbs. w/o batteries.
Product Width: 14 in. - 20 in. seat width.
Product Length/Depth: 14 in. - 20 in. seat depth.
Product Height: 18.5 in. or 19.5 in. seat to floor.
Product Weight Capacity: 250 lbs. - standard.
Electronic Options QTRONIX remote joystick.
Performance Packages (Speed in mph) 7.
Tilt Option None.
Battery Type Gp 24.
Overall Width 24in. (14in. - 18 in. seat width), 26 in. (19 in. - 20 in. seat width.
Drive Wheel Size 10 in. X 2 in.
Drive Tire Knobby.
Caster Options 8 in.
Transit Option No.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews2121
Durability?4.715.005.00
Ease of use?4.675.004.00
Meet expectations?4.435.004.00
Overall Rating:4.334.504.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Steve from Wellington, New Zealand submitted this review on October 9th 2013 at 04:41 AM. Steve is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast, durable, excellent torque, compact, light weight, very manoeuvrable etc. etc. An outstanding wheelchair.
Weaknesses:I've damaged a few footplate hangers over the years and the footplate angles need correction from time to time.
As others have said, it's a bit noisy, but relative to the overall performance of this chair, it's just not a problem.
Comments:I'm on my 3rd P200. 2 x Government funded chairs (1998 & 2005) & 1 x privately purchased second hand chair as a 2nd chair (2000). I now have to change chairs again and like everyone else who's ever owned a P200, I wish I could just get another one.
Sure, wheelchairs have come a long way since the first P200, but why haven't Sunrise Medical listened? Why not take the best of the P200 & then develop it, adding the more modern functionality etc.?
I'm gutted that the time has come for me to change to something else. The Government agency just wont service my P200 any more. I've held out as long as I can. But what do I get? It doesn't seem as though anything else on the market in NZ comes close.
This chair scores 5 points in each category because none of the relatively minor weakness warrant reducing the score to 4.
To the chap who posted earlier that he was involved in the development of the P200, congratulations and thank you very much for years of mobility and FUN!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Daniel from Auburn, Maine USA submitted this review on October 24th 2011 at 02:21 PM. Daniel is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I've read all of the strengths others here have listed and I have to agree that this chair is a work horse that not only is durable but so easy to manuver and after using my one and only P200 for over 16 years, I have to mention that I am still on my first set of batteries and they're not showing any sign of weakness. The battery in trhe rear doubles as a shelf which carries a good size box that I strap behind the chair so that I have something to carry my groceries home in... It also doubles as a place for my little nieces and nephews not to mention any other small child who wants a ride, firetruck style... be sure to brief the kids on the importance of hangin on and pay close attention to them when and if you do... I can usually go 2-4 days between charges depending on how much I use it outdoors,(How far I take it and how long I go for each day...)
Weaknesses:I'll let you know if I find one... oh ya, there is just one that I can think of... IT'S BEEN DICONNTIUED!!!!
Comments:I am at the point now where I need some parts that need replacing like 4 tires and armrest pads and some other minor hardware so any info on getting parts for this chair will be greatly appreciated... I am rating it for overall at 4 only because after 16 years of beating on it with the way I use is it finally needs some minor repair...(IE, Tires, arm rest pads and such...) Otherwise I give it a "5"
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Leah from Albany, NY submitted this review on August 6th 2011 at 05:12 PM. Leah is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Extremely reliable. Very durable. Can turn on a dime. Compact.
Weaknesses:Motor tends to get loud over time. Rough ride. Issues with the footrest parts breaking easily.
Comments:I love my Quickie P200 (I've owned 2), despite some of its flaws, and am so upset that it's discontinued. I've been trying to find another wheelchair that's comparable, but have had no luck so far. What once started as an attempt to find a chair that would address my upper back and neck pain as well as sciatic problems 2 years ago has turned into a nightmare.

After trying out a few chairs (why are they all so much bigger than the P200 anyway?), I settled on a Quickie Pulse 6 and thought it was going to work (totally regret not testing the chair for more than a few minutes. Note to self: try the demo chairs out for at least a couple of days or longer, if possible). However, there were too many differences from the P200 and I could never get use to it, despite the numerous adjustments the vendor made. It now sits in my garage collecting dust and I'm back in the P200 and have tried purchasing what replacement parts I can online in an effort to extend its life while we go back to the drawing board.

After talking to the PT and vendor, I'm trying out a Quickie P222, but already see problems - first and foremost, it's too big and bulky, which makes it difficult to maneuver in my house. AAARRRGGGHHH! Completely frustrated and overwhelmed researching other chairs online and trying to find solutions from others who've had to give up their beloved P200, but not getting very far. If only I won the lottery and could hire the designer to build me a new P200 with a few tweaks of improvement.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Rachel from Ava, Mo. USA submitted this review on June 16th 2011 at 09:35 PM. Rachel is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I love my P200. It has been everywhere, over Civil War battlefields, horse shows, and for the last seven years, "Zip" has been my transportation to and from college. (1/2 mile one way!!) It is a very strong chair, I feel the best ever made.
Weaknesses:The only weakness it has is the ride is a little rough, but hey, if it gets you there, what's the problem?
Comments:I wish someone would convince them to bring the Quickie P200 back, and add the feature of standing. It is by far the best chair ever built.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Carolyn from Natchez, MS submitted this review on August 13th 2010 at 06:14 PM. Carolyn is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable, durable, turn anywhere, ride on any surface, best chair ever
Weaknesses:none
Comments:The first time I got into my P200, I couldn't believe how perfect it was. I have had 2 P200s in the past 15 years. I can't believe they discontinued it. I had to get a P222 and I think they ought to run it off a cliff somewhere or start over and make it like the P200. I'm getting new batteries for my P200 and I'm getting back in it and putting the P222 in the closet. It doesn't fit right.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Ellen from Boston, MA USA submitted this review on July 7th 2010 at 01:12 PM. Ellen is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have a 1994 and 2003 P200. Great chairs! Some issues with the 2003 Qtronix controller but overall, sturdy, reliable, comfortable, small and effective. !! Bring it back.
Weaknesses:Love these chairs!!!
Comments:I now have a new Invacare Storm Torque that isn't working..mechanically and seating. Am still fiddling with it after 6 months. It is not in use. Still using the 2003 P200 and getting it serviced. I use the 1994 for travel. The only problem is now I need parts for the 1994. Where can I get a charger port programmer or spare parts for these great old chairs? Why would Quickie discontinue a chair that so many users love and would continue to order? Someone told me it had to do with government regs and insurance reimbursement. That is just backwards! Thanks!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mary Lou from Berkeley, California submitted this review on May 28th 2010 at 12:21 AM. Mary Lou is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Bullet-proof, durable, reliable, endures abuse and keeps on going
Weaknesses:Gear noise as it has aged, no suspension, charger port in a bad location
Comments:I know this chair has been discontinued, but I refuse to change to a new chair. I have been using my P 200 for 13 years and it is still running well, albeit the gear noise has gotten quite bad in the last couple of years. It has been hauled onto planes, trains, and buses and has refused to break down or stop performing. I have had very few mechanical problems and no repairs on major parts such as gears, motors or controller.

As my friends report ongoing problems w/ the most commonly sold chairs-- Invacare TDX, for example, I redouble my commitment to stick w/ the P 200 until it goes up in flames. So far I have purchased 2 used drive trains for parts in order to keep this gem on the road.

I echo others' laments that Quickie stopped producing this chair. What a shame.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Juan from Aguadilla, PR submitted this review on April 21st 2010 at 02:42 PM. Juan is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:It's the Tonka Trucks of wheelchairs! Adjustable, durable, fast, able to go places other chairs couldn't and still can't. I had mine for 14 years, at the end the only problems I had were with the controller and battery life. And I lived in a hot, tropical enviornment for 12 of those 14 years. Overall, excellent chair, none can compare!
Weaknesses:Noisy, minimal inconvinience given the years of service. The controller kept failing in its later years, even when replacing it. Battery life was shorter than desired. No tilt, the only real reason I had to change chairs.
Comments:I have a Quantum 600 for health reasons, needed the tilt for pressure relief, but in less than a year I already had several parts replaced. I had very few problems with my P200. Replaced the battery twice in the last year of use because they would not hold a charge. I never found out the reason. I When I first got the P200, it came with a pin that said: "You Never Forget Your First Quickie!" and it's true. I miss my P200 :'(.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Scott from Greenville IL USA submitted this review on January 25th 2009 at 11:17 AM. Scott is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Across the board, a wonderful machine/tool/friend.
Weaknesses:There are no "ills"...replacement motors reduced the noise greatly.
Comments:James...well played...this chair is awesome and has broadened my world more than most can imagine. I waited on one of the first ones, having traded in my P300 tank, and added one more since...both remain here and keep racking up miles and adventures! I am truly bummed by its demise...it offered so much flexibility...adaptability...which has truly helped me...I am 6'5" tall folded nicely into an 18"w x 20"d model...we cut the top bar loose - adding 4" to the front to get support under my hamstrings, but also producing a nice "bucket" for balance and stability...years later, I gained a partner to develop a new wheelchair lift system for extended cab trucks (Further-Options.com) that is up for a "New Technology Award" at the NMEDA Conference February '09...again, adaptability came into play...we moved the seatbase mat beneath the top bar - rather than on top - gaining 2" of vital floor-to-ceiling height.
Again...a wonderful piece of equipment...since the balance is so far off on the current Quickie line-up - seems Sunrise could follow the HP Printer model, give us the chair for cheap because they are going to then sell us a mountain of caster tires - it would have been wonderful for them to have kept the chair alive offering powered seatback recline/leg elevation.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
James from Fresno,CA submitted this review on September 20th 2007 at 08:46 PM. James is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durability
1st Center of Gravity Performance Power Wheelchair design
Manual chair capability.
Manuverabillity & Handling.
Weaknesses:Lack of suspension
Gear noise over time.
Dated power controller (state of the art at the time)
Comments:Thought I'd post a little info. re: the P200.
I'm the original designer of the chair and was one of the founders of then Motion Designs. I designed the power chair under a development contract with the Sunrise Medical subsequent to their purchase of the company.
Copies of the patents can be seen VIA google patents under a search using my name.
My primary design objectives were to offer the power chair user more durability, speed, manuverability, handling and transportability than what was previously available.
Several design changes were made before production which were out of my control that I believe compromised the chair in a few areas. However the design remained 90% intact.
The primary design feature which allowed the use of Center of Gravity shift, short primary wheelbase and 6 wheel stability was the spring compliance of the rear anti-tip wheels. Without it the drive wheels could lose traction on uneven terrain and unsuspended anti-tip wheels would tend to pitch the user forward in the chair.(both unacceptable characteristics) The use of rectangular tubing in the wheelchair frame gave solid mounting surfaces for high load attachment points, directional stress distribution and was an adaptation of perimeter frame design from sport motorcycles of the era. Having once been a motorcycle mechanic I incorporated the motorcycle look into the P200, something of which you can see in most performance power chairs today. The difficulty in proper design is to retain simplicity while meeting design goals which widen the performance envelope for the user.
I hope people have benefited from the design.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
Techguide says Kudos to you James. From the emails we get many users of this product believe it to be the most durable power wheelchair that they have ever owned. Not the best looking or the most high tech, but a real "Workhorse". Many users have received 10+ years of good service from this chair. Rest assured that many people have in fact benefited from use of this wheelchair.
 
Ron from Kansas City, MO, US submitted this review on August 3rd 2007 at 10:38 PM. Ron is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:indestructable, long-range, reliability, compactness, easily disassembled if needed
Weaknesses:rough ride (no suspension)
Comments:I am the husband of Valerie, who posted three years ago on this site about this chair. I am posting because, sadly, I am pondering the decision on whether to get new motors for it. As I right this post, she is on an Alaskan cruise, all be it without the chair. This, however, is not the review. When she first got the chair, it was different, she didn't like it. For the previous 20 years she had been using the traditional wheelchair with 20" back tires, we would usually take off the anti-tip bars to be sure she could hop curbs. This chair would not allow us to take off the anti-tip wheels (at least we didn't), and the chair "rocked" a little when she went up hills. However, within the first 6 months of having the chair, we found out how versital it could be. There was ice on the ramp to our house, she couldn't get the chair up the ramp. I took her into the house and sat her in a chair while I tried to figure a way to get the chair in the house. I ended up loosening the disconnect screws, taking the seat off, taking it into the house, then wrestling what was left of the chair up the step onto the platform, where I was able to maneuver it easily into the house. Put it back together and she was back in business. I could not have done that with the P300 she used before. When Valerie posted in 2004, she said that the chair had been to Hawaii, Florida and New Zealand/Australia (a cruise). the New Zealand cruise was her first experience of having the chair on the ship and she would never go back to cruise with a non-powered chair. Since she wrote her review, this same chair has been all over europe, back to hawaii again, on another Caribbean cruise. During this time it has been loaded on and off of plains, trains, busses, trucks, ships and the like, and only on the last trip to Hawaii did we have a hint of what was to come. In 2004, before the European trip, we had replaced the motors and gear boxes because of a growling noise. The chair worked perfectly during this trip, but when we took our hawaiian cruise in 2005, she experience some drive loss which we were able to resolve by releasing and re-engaging the electric brake lever. We consulted our provider, and the technician told us that the "clutches" were going out and that they would have to be replaced. We didn't replace them at the time because it was mostly working and we were able to resolve easily. The chair went to Toronto in 2006, and although we had an unexplained glitch in the controller caused by going off a high curb-cut too fast (praise God the controller turned the chair toward the sidewalk instead of toward traffic), there were no issues (the batteries were dying and would need replacing). She went on the Caribbean cruise in November of last year without incident.

So it was with confidence that I helped her transfer herself and things to the P200 in preparation for this last cruise. They flew to Vancouver without incident, but when the chair was unloaded in Vancouver, the power loss was showing itself again. Although they couldn't get it working for some time, eventually it did start working again, and they were able to get to the hotel. The next day after breakfast it again malfunctioned, and Valerie decided to leave the chair at the hotel and asked if I could figure out something to do with it. I was able to get a local repair shop there to go to the hotel and pick up the chair, take it to the shop and look at it. I gave the tech some background on the chair, but he couldn't reproduce the problem. however, in my conversations with him, he suggested that if the clutches were the problem, that the motors would have to be replaced. My dilemma is, the chair, that chair, is arguably the best chair ever made, I know the frame is good, the joystick and control module have no issues, the batteries are new, and the chair can be flight-ready at a moments' notice. The chair is built like a small tank, the joystick controller housing is built out of all metal, the seat back can be folded down to fit into small CR7-like regional jets and smaller vehicles, and I'm not convinced that the new QTronics joystick box is durable enough to withstand the rigours of air travel. Now granted it can be taken off, but it will naturally get some abuse with travel, being loaded and unloaded from vehicles, and I doubt it will last the 9 years this one has. I also don't like the way the QTronics box sips power from the battery (she uses an S525 for every-day use and for tilt), even when turned off. The last thing a user needs is for battery power to be drained powering a "soft" switching controller that sends a signal to the chair's computer to power on. We will look at the new p200, but I'm sure there will be some design changes, and I'm sceptical. I hope the new p200 is half as good as this one has been, but this one set the bar for durability.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
TechGuide says Tough spot! The P200 while not the best looking chair around has certainly earned a well deserved reputation for being a workhorse. Good luck with this and hoping it works out.
 
Stuart from San Francisco submitted this review on June 30th 2007 at 01:14 AM. Stuart is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very, very durable -- have had mine 11.5yrs -- but it will die in the next month :-( Has far exceeded my expectations (although it has not been maintenance free).
Maneuverable/tight turning. Ability to use center of gravity to "pop" front wheels up small curbs, etc.
Weaknesses:Loud (and getting louder).
The disconnect screw-knobs keep comming loose and never stay tight very long.
Single-post armrest is terrible (keeps comming loose) -- but there are other armrest options for this chair.
Charger plug location is a hassle to get to and the port cover snapped off many years ago.
Comments:I have been extremely hard on this chair, and it has kept ticking for over a decade. I have had to make a number of repairs (some extensive), but compared to my car -- its a gem. I'm now due for a new chair, but its awfully difficult to find much better without a lot of compromises.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
TOM from SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH submitted this review on May 30th 2007 at 06:23 PM. TOM is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:USED THIS ONE FOR ELEVEN YEARS.
ONLY IN SHOP ONCE THINKING BAD GEAR BUT WAS ONLY A BAD TIRE.
GETTING A NEW ONE AND HOPE I GET THE SAME.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
e.t. from riverside, ca , usa submitted this review on July 24th 2006 at 02:40 PM. e.t. is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:my p200 quickie is about ten years old, built around march-april
1996. so far it is still running with most of the original equipment including the charger. the batteries were replaced aprox. 4 years ago, and are still performing well. the tires need to be replaced now though. extremely fast for its age, faster than the newer ones.
Weaknesses:the repair shops don't always want your business, they won't service any chairs that they don't sell. seems to be a trend
in this area, maybe they don't need the business. some will
work on it for you, but grudgingly, and at a cost.
Comments:service centers listed by the manufacturer should be checked out at least once a year, to see if they are still in busness or not. also, check their phone number to see if they are really in the area that they claim to serve.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Eric from Dayton, OH USA submitted this review on July 13th 2006 at 11:42 AM. Eric is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Can take a beating running through ice, snow, sand, mud, and seems to never break down. It can turn on a dime, and is a nice speedy chair. I love the fact it has a little electric beep/horn to warn others you are behind them. A single overnight charge lasts me nearly a week, or about 8 miles distance.
Weaknesses:The back could stand to have more cushioning. I was found to have a ruptured disc in my lower back which is possibly connected to the poor back support. Mind you, the lack of back support isn't terrible, it simply isn't the best. The footrests crack and sag, needing replacement every year or so. The plastic cover for the charger port broke off within a few weeks, resulting in the chair coming to a dead stop if you get caught in the rain for too long. If you are alone, or have nobody to help, you'd be sitting there until the rain stops, and the port dries off. My solution to correct for this was to cover it with duct tape, which seemed to work well.
Comments:My first P200 lasted me over 9 years! I never had any serious problems with it, and only required new tires, footrests, and batteries every 12-18 months. The motor ran strong and never gave me a single problem until after having used it for those 9 years. I am getting my second P200 at the end of July, 2006, and hope it will last me as long. I've heard the new electronic hand controls break down often on the new models, so hopefully this won't happen to me, as I used my chair everywhere, everyday. It is essentially my "car", if you will. If you are looking for a chair that will get you far, run through anything, with a healthy speed, and likely last for years - I highly recommend the P200.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Beth from Cincinnati, OH, USA submitted this review on June 6th 2006 at 03:57 PM. Beth is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:We've used the chair hard for almost 7 years. It has been extremely durable.
Weaknesses:Limited growth ability.
Comments:Loved it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Stephen from Eureka, CA USA submitted this review on February 23rd 2006 at 09:54 AM. Stephen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This thing is a tank, in the best sense of the word. Mine is 10 years old and still going.
Weaknesses:Trouble with front casters and foot plates.
Comments:I'm buying another one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
ScoTT from Alberta, Canada submitted this review on November 15th 2005 at 06:13 PM. ScoTT is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:-Fast, quick acceleration
-Super agility
-By adjusting the drive wheels forward or back in relation to the frame and lengthening or shortening anti-tip mechanism, and setting an appropriate acceleration rate, the chair can be set to do a "wheelie" for hopping small obstacles (curbs etc.)
-Great range
-Compact
-Breaks down for easy transport in non-accessible vehicles
-Handles most terrain, even played ice hockey in it once :)
-Overall good reliability
Weaknesses:-rough ride
-getting chair settings balanced for "wheelies" can only be found by trial and error.
-not built for an Alberta winter. Hard packed snow can be worse than deep powder.
-motor noise is loud to begin with, but is worsened by a "squeal" if moisture enters drive area
-quick release bolts shake loose
-plastic battery case buckles broke very quickly allowing the case tops rattle, adding to overall noise
-front caster forks were replaced in a recall around 1999-2000.
-charger port is in an awkward location, most users will require an attendant to plug in at night.
-As stated in other's reviews, had issues with controller. This has been an ongoing problem, and may have been related to the next issue.
-Problems with motors' power cutting out. I didn't get a good explanation for this problem, but the chair was in shop for less than a week to be repaired.
-Had trouble with charger port. The plastic port cover broke off after about a week, leaving the port open to the elements. As it is close to the front wheel, splashes from the tire left debris in the port causing a short out. The entire port had to be replaced. Again, about a one week ordeal which could have been avoided if Sunrise placed the port in a better position or used a more durable material to cover the port.
Comments:I have been using the P200 since '98, and am sad to have to put it out to pasture. Although it is no longer the fastest chair in the league, it is still one of the most agile compared to other chairs in this class. I am looking for a replacement that can maintain or better the strengths and avoid the weaknesses I have mentioned above. If anyone who has driven a P200 can make a recommendation, please email me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
Contact

Scott can be reached at: tralfamadorius@hotmail.com

 
Ray from Richmond, yorkshire england UK submitted this review on October 5th 2005 at 02:06 PM. Ray is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:well designed chair fit for purpose
Weaknesses:customer service and documentation
Comments:extremely poor customer service both usa and uk, have made several calls to both usa an uk offices to no avail, will never deal with these unspeakably rude ignorant people again, they will take your money and go to ground don't buy from these guys they are not interested in the customer at all, they are very good at passing the buck and pointing fingers in all directions whilst taking no ownership of the problem, disgusting none existent customer service, anybody uk based who has similar experiences with sunrise and is interested in starting a class action against the parent company give me a shout they deserve a wake up call at least anybody looking to buy, I strongly recommend you go elsewhere....
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Chris from Calgary, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on November 14th 2004 at 01:06 PM. Chris is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Size, power, adaptability
Weaknesses:Flat tires, no apparent waranty, charging problems, controler malfunction, powerlegs wire disconnect, motor lockup, chair in op, no service on weekend by vendor Medichair Canada
Comments:Get a vendor that will service product. I am in close touch with those who operate ALS equipment pools nationaly
http://www.ranger03.com/ALS.html
35359 hits
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Steve from Wellington, New Zealand submitted this review on April 6th 2004 at 07:30 AM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It just keeps going. Tough & reliable. The footrests hang from the forks, not the seat corners. This eliminates leg pressure from hangers.
Weaknesses:Noisy. The metal footplates tend to sag after a while and a few scrapes. Would be good if a better fixing mechanism was used.
Comments:I've had my P200 for 6 years and I love it. It's tired and I now need to replace it. The chair has had an absolute thrashing and apart from replacing snapped footplate hangers a few times (from high speed impact) it's had had no trouble. (Well not exactly - I accidentally went into a swimming pool and completely stuffed the controller, but that got fixed and the motor was absolutely fine. The controller was replaced with a "Dynamic" brand and this actually made the chair faster). I'm only looking at other chair options now because there are faster models available. I may yet go for another P200. Why can't Quickie produce another chair as good?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Valerie from Kansas City, MO submitted this review on March 2nd 2004 at 06:12 PM. Valerie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power and Durability
Weaknesses:Rough ride and inability to add tilt
Comments:I have had my chair for almost 6 years and love it. Went to an Invacare Ranger last year but it sits in a closet. I love the compactness of this chair! It has gone to Hawaii, New Zealand, Australia and Florida by air and the airlines have'nt been able to destroy it yet. Built like a small tank!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jim from Woodville, wisconsin, usa submitted this review on May 16th 2003 at 05:56 PM. Jim is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Excellent Power, Durability, Speed, Acceleration, Turning radius.
Weaknesses:Rough ride
Comments:Highly recommended for the aggressive user. My chair has taken more than its share of abuse & it keeps on going. I have had this chair for four years now with minimal problems. I have had other brands of chairs that only lasted me an average of six months to a year. A+++++
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
bobby from Canada submitted this review on May 7th 2003 at 11:49 AM. bobby is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Best power wheel chair I ever used.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
Bounder Plus H-Frame
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
S-6 Series
Select Traveller
Series 6
Street
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy