USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Ti Lite TR
Image of Ti Lite TR
Manual wheelchair with rigid titanium frame.
• 22,24,25 or 26 inch spoked wheels-
• Camber choices include 0,2,4,6,8,12,15,or 18 degrees-
• ABS plastic footrest, ABS footrest with sides-
• Chairs weigh as little as 15 pounds,,with wheels.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1500
Durability?4.5300
Ease of use?4.6000
Meet expectations?4.5300
Overall Rating:4.530.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Stephen from Charlottetown, PE, Canada submitted this review on December 22nd 2016 at 02:10 PM. Stephen is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Moderately light, strong, fun to ride, good brakes but watch your fingers, agile, good looking, like the luggage holders and Tilite accessories are good quality
Weaknesses:Adjusting brake levers to avoid finger pinches, easy to weigh down with accessories
Comments:The TiLite titanium used to be the undisputed low weight chair and it's still in the running at #2. The chair is strong and well made. It feels like a well oiled machine. The TR is very durable. It takes all kinds of bumps and knocks with ease. I just upgraded the front wheels to soft roll since I found the regular ones choppy. There are a dizzying number of options to customize the chair.

The lightest chair I can find is the Panthera X which is about half the weight for the frame and they don't let you load it up. However, it will not take the physical stress of the TiLite.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Wende from Plano, Texas submitted this review on April 12th 2013 at 01:39 PM. Wende is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have my chair for about a year and I have nothing good to say about it! This is my 4th chair in 20 years. Before this one I had an Action and 2 Quickie chairs.
Weaknesses:I am a T5-6 and compared to my other chairs, this is the heaviest one I have had. The brakes have been replaced twice , and they still are not right. My casters fell apart on the inside with the bearings , and that has never happened before. There is no speed in this chair and the back rest constantly rubs and squeaks when I move. I sit very still in movie theaters so as not to disturb anyone.
Comments:I do not like this chair at all! I read the other reviews and was shocked at how people are so happy with it. My biggest problem is there is no speed in this chair. I have to work way to hard when I am pushing outside. So much that my family and fiends notice the difference . I should have stayed with the Quikie. What's that saying, "If its not broke, than don't fix it." And now I am stuck with this chair for another four years. And when they had to replace the casters, ti cost me $105.00 because hadn't reached my deductible for the year. Maybe I got A lemon.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Patrick from berlin, new hampshire submitted this review on October 25th 2012 at 11:39 PM. Patrick is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Chair is well built and super strong for being one of the lightest chairs ever. Ive had 3 of the ti lite TRs and they rock. So responcive, so ridigid, so light. I still have all my old ones and they work great, and i beat these things hard, jump steps, these things have flown out of the back of my RZR at 60mph no damage. Best chair on the market in my opinion. It would be a sad day if i had to use a quickie.
Weaknesses:None. Well, not many color choices, if thats bad. I just get them raw ti color with no paint anyways.
Comments:If you are thinking about getting one, stop, call ti lite and order that puppy. youll love it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bill from San Jose, CA USA submitted this review on April 19th 2012 at 03:04 PM. Bill is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tilite is by far the best chair on the market period!
I get mine all fixed, nothing folds or bends, It's solid!
The new TR3 looks great on their facebook page.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:Custom mods can get pricey!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Brian from Gobles, MI submitted this review on April 16th 2011 at 12:16 PM. Brian is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:All around great chair where it has been well received and a very good reputation. Very responsive; TiLite used to label it on their web site as their "Sports Car" of their line, aptly named.
Weaknesses:Brakes. I have the standard push to lock brakes and I lean over and rest on them and they tend to move on me and I need to readjust them every so often.
Comments:Foolishly I have used folding chairs for years. Switching to a rigid, and a chair with a much better setup, was an eye opener. The chair is much more responsive and lighter than my previous Quickie 2.

I had used Q2's for 20 years prior and to their credit they held up well; the TR thus far is following in like manner.

In the year and a half I have owned the chair I haven't had any issues with the chair and I wouldn't hesitate to order another one; I only wish I had gotten into a chair like this a long time ago.

Injury: C5-6 in 1982
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Danny from Vernon,Ct. usa submitted this review on March 23rd 2011 at 03:54 PM. Danny is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Everything about this chair is great. its very light and easy to get into my car. it provides a rigid ride yet still adsorb the shock. i throw the chair around getting in and out of my chair and it holds up to all the abuse..the best chair I've ever used and I've used quickie, invacare,colours etc and other tilites.
Weaknesses:none
Comments:the best chair ever
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jodie from Brooklyn, NY submitted this review on December 6th 2009 at 09:16 PM. Jodie is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I had an TRc prior to this chair. The frame is a bit different in that TiLite has brought the frame tubes closer together so, that the chair is more compact. I tried a ZR and TR before making a choice. The TR feels more rigid and seems to absorb vibrations more and didn't affect my spasms as much when dealing with bumps. Though, I love the look of the ZR!
Weaknesses:My brakes (standard push to lock) keep coming loose. I am not sure why...
Comments:All round a great chair! Lovin' the new back shaft release bar. So much easier than the string.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Matt from Clarkesville, Georgia USA submitted this review on January 14th 2009 at 07:10 PM. Matt is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I've had my Tilite TR for almost 9 years and it has been the best
chair that I've ever had. I've had a Quickie, Action, and Eagle and none of them live up to my Tilite. My TR has a folding back and this is only because when my rep. ordered it he screwed the angle that I wanted up, so instead of Tilite having to build me another chair they put a folding back on it.
Weaknesses:I was suprised at how quick the footrest wore thru and when I priced a replacement it was right at $300!
Comments:I chose the polished finish option and glad I did and after almost 9 yrs. it still looks good especially when I clean it.
I'm about ready for another and kind of like the Tilite Areo Z but just not sure how well aluminum will hold up over time.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
nat from rumford maine usa submitted this review on December 4th 2006 at 11:05 PM. nat is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:light,really, really light. this chair is the bomb. smoth quiet and manouvers very well. ti-light is in front of the pack when it comes to making really good wheelchairs. i own a chair from a popular manufacturer that is a full titanium chair and it does not even compaire to the tr from ti-light. the ti-light is a few pounds lighter rides better and looks awsomeand came in a grand cheaper. the bomb i tell you, the bomb.
Weaknesses:as if. well i have frog leg suspension on the front and ti-light soft roll wheels and the soft roll wheels don't last as long as i thought they would (about 2 years of heavy heavy use).
Comments:get a ti-light. best chair i ever got into. the bomb, i love it. i would sleep with chair if i could. i only wish the theripisis knew about this chair when i was in rehab. ti light really does make an awsome product. you will not be disapointed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Paul from Wellington, New Zealand submitted this review on October 27th 2006 at 01:46 AM. Paul is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight with Spinergy wheels. Titanium frame strength. Durable back-folding mechanism. Beautiful design lines (chair looks sharp). Comfortable & SILENT ride.
Weaknesses:I've taken off the brakes, as they are ugly, add weight and are only rarely needed. Now I'm totally used to life without brakes, so it's no big deal.
Comments:This is a really lovely chair. One obvious caveat: being non-adjustable you have to order it with the correct measurements. Get these wrong and you're stuffed. So if this is your FIRST chair, you may be wiser to get the TRA. I think this chair could easily last me a DECADE.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Brandon from Orem, Utah submitted this review on September 25th 2006 at 08:15 AM. Brandon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:As a C6-7 Quad, I would have to say this is by far the best chair out there. I worked for DME supplier prior to injury, so I knew what I wanted when the time came. Easy to push, Durable as hell, and Light as a feather. I HIGHLY recommend this chair to anyone! Will Buy Ti-Lite again for sure!
Weaknesses:None Whatsoever!
Comments:Best Chair on the market! Coming from the medical industry, and having worked for a DME supplier, I have seen a high percentage of the rigids out there. I would buy nothing but Ti-Lite. I had a Quickie XTR as a second chair for a while, thought it would be a better chair for Off Road... Hated it, biggest waste of cash... Put Knobbies on my Ti-Lite, and go anywhere I want to with ease.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Rob from New Lenox, IL US submitted this review on August 12th 2006 at 03:11 AM. Rob is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to push. Very lightweight.
Weaknesses:Cord that folds chair hard to pull sometimes. Brakes always seem to get loose and need to be tightened every now and then.
Comments:Chair is easy to pull into car once folded down. If you have to be in a chair the rest of your life like me, Ti Lite is the way to go.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Howard from Pacific Palisades, CA submitted this review on April 24th 2006 at 02:44 PM. Howard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:lightweight; durable, but after 3 1/2yrs. some cracks in titanium frame.
Weaknesses:unilock brakes are deficient and exasperating. pullcord to fold forward is difficult to work, and folding is not easy.
Comments:I would buy a TI chair again, but with some reservations.I am now looking at a folding chair with footplate as a replacement.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lorry from Lexington, MA. USA submitted this review on June 16th 2005 at 02:37 PM. Lorry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight
Weaknesses:None
Comments:I have a 2 seat Toyota MR2 and I can remove the wheels and put the entire chair in the front seat.
When my wife is witih me I simply lift the chair on top of the rear engine and bungee it in place. I even made a rain cover for wet days.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Shane from Camden, AL USA submitted this review on August 29th 2004 at 04:05 PM. Shane is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light, easy to push, easy to load in car, maintenance free.

Definately "The Ulitimate Ride."
Weaknesses:None so far..
Comments:I have had 4 maybe 5 Quickies in the past. This is my first TiLite and I'm definately sticking with these.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Ti Lite
2GX
Aero R
Aero T
Aero X
Aero Z
Evo
Sport X
SX
Tilite BB
Tilite SXP
Tilite TRC
Tilite XP
Tilite YR
Tilite YRA
TRA
Twist
TX
XC
YG
YGS
ZR
ZRA
Similar products (Rigid Frame Wheelchairs)
1000
A-6S
AC2
Act
Activ
Active Univers
Advance
Advantage 4
Advantage 4
Aero R
Aero T
Aero Z
Airlite
Airlite
Airlite Pro
Airlite Pro
Avenger
B2
Blizzard
Boing
BT
BT Ballistic
BT-G Tribal
BT-Mg
BT-Mg-A
BT-Mg-AS
BT-Trail
BT-X
Carbon Black
Champion 3000
Champion Wheelchair
Classic TI
Competition
Daily Chair
Dupont Modulo Active Chair
Eclipse
Elite
Evo
Extreme
Fusion
Hallmark
Hi Lite
Hi Lite 3
Hornet
Icon A1
Idra
JAG
K Series
K-Nova 300
K3
K4
Krypto
Leggera
Leggera Compact
Leggera XL
Leggera XT
LY-5000
M1 Marvel
Max Lite
Maxima
MRX
Mtm
Netti 1
Next
Octane
Panther
Panther AX
Pcht
Performance
Performance Superlite
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Prodigy
Quasar
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QRi
Quickie R2
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie XTR
R33
Razorblade
Roller
RoVa 4
Shockwave
Shockwave
SL-5000
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Ti Titanium
Spazz
Spazz-G
Speedy 4all
Speedy F2
Speedy F4
Square Standard Frame
Stiletto
Street Classic
Street Xl
Style
Switch
Switch Attack
Taper Squeeze
Taper Standard
Tilite TRC
Titanium
Titanium
Titanium XL
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Reveal
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Twirl
TRA
Tripod Lt
Tsunami
Typhoon
Ultima
Veloce & Vivace
Voyager
Wolturnus Tukan
Wolturnus W5
Wulturnus W5
Zephyr
ZR
ZRA
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy