USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Ti Lite Tilite TRC
Image of Ti Lite Tilite TRC
Manual wheelchair with rigid titanium frame.
• Dual tapered seats or front frames.
• Tension strap seat upholstery is standard.
• Front frame angle choices from 60 to 90 degrees in 5-dgree increments.
• Frame angles are 70, 80, and 85 degrees.
• On more custom models, choices are from 60 to 90 degrees in 5-degree increments.
• Standard clamp-on adjustable camber tube.
• Casters 3" micro casters , or 4" or 5" billet aluminum caster, or 5" plastic wheel, all with poly tires.
• Frog Leg suspension forks available.
• Rear Wheels- standard 22, 24, 25, 26 or 27 inch spoked wheels.
• Options include high flange hubs , titanium handrims , hi-resilient foamed poly tires, and high performance SPOX wheels from Spinergy , or 24 inch spider wheels.
• Camber choices include 0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 15, or 18 degrees.
• An adjustable camber system of 0,3,6,9 or 12 degrees is an option.
• Footrest choices include standard ABS plastic, ABS with sides, or open loop , high mount angle adjustable, and angle adjustable high mount footrests.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1001
Durability?4.8005.00
Ease of use?4.7004.00
Meet expectations?4.6005.00
Overall Rating:4.700.005.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Chris from Tampa, Florida USA submitted this review on February 28th 2011 at 08:31 AM. Chris is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very strong frame
Weaknesses:Very thin tubing close to the rear of the chair
Comments:I have used this product for a couple of months and am very pleased with it's performance.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Dave from Harrisburg, PA submitted this review on September 13th 2006 at 05:54 PM. Dave is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The TRC is ultra light weight, strong, sturdy, smooth ride and really comfortable. I love the fact you can order a front seat taper with a front end taper for a real slim fit. This wheelchair is incredible. I am a T-12 para who relies on a wheelchair for everything and I feel secure that this chair will handle anything I can throw at it and hold up without problems.
Weaknesses:This is a great chair and there is nothing that sticks out for me as a weakness. I would not recommend the TRC for a first time user though. The TRC is not very adjustable which is a good thing for users like me who have been in a chair for a long time and know what dimensions work well for them.
Comments:I have been a chair user for ten years and this is my third chair. My first chair was light weight (aluminum) frame with tons of adjustments (Quickie GPV). The GPV chair needed to maintenanced frequently and was not really comfortable. My second chair was a E&J Barracuda witch had a rear independent suspension which was a great durable comfortable chair butt was a very heavy chair.The TRC is the best of both worlds. It has the lightweight of my first chair butt has all the comfort, strength and durability I had in my heavier wheelchair. I also ordered with my TRC the light weight Spinergy rims. I highly recommend these rims. They are much lighter than standard rims and a must for chair users like me who dissemble their chairs to get them into their cars. I also wanted to comment on the brakes. I happen to like the brakes on this chair compared to other scissor brakes I have used on other chairs. These are smaller and easier to use than brakes I have used in the past. I have had no problems with my brakes what so ever. When adjusted properly these brakes are far and above the best brakes I've used yet.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Bay Area, California submitted this review on August 15th 2006 at 05:36 AM. John is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Far and away its main strength is the ultra-light weight, at 14 pounds its a featherweight next to most chairs. Very tough, the titanium frame has yet to be scratched, despite trips to Europe, etc. Well designed and comfortable, even with its light weight, its still easy to sit in for hours and simple to travel with.
Weaknesses:Make sure it fits you if buying second hand, if buying it new that won't be an issue as it has so many custom measurements. Which brings up its only downside - the high price!
Comments:After being a paraplegic for 25 years using forearm crutches, I had a brain aneurysm that affected my inner ear and balance, so it became mandatory for me to use a wheelchair to get around. The chair that the insurance company provided was over 45 pounds and made transferring into and out of a car virtually impossible by myself. Now that I have my TRC, at around 14 pounds, I feel like I can almost twirl it on one finger next to that old one. I have 25" spinergies with titanium rims, which makes it very light. It is now a simple job to pop off the wheels, fold up the seat, and stick everything on the seat behind me in the car. This allowed me to keep my dream car (a Camaro SS), and I no longer needed to contemplate a van or SUV in order to make room for a folding wheelchair. In fact, its reduced weight has made every part of my daily life easier. The TRC has become so much a part of my body that I don't even give it a second thought anymore. A couple flicks of the wrist get it going, in fact when I go out to exercise at the local park, I have to wear gloves to help me stop this titanium rocket. I've seen many wheelchairs over the past 30 years as a Para, and I've never seen anything as quick as this TRC, if I had to sum it up in one word, it would be EFFORTLESS!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jodie from Poughkeepsie, NY USA submitted this review on February 5th 2005 at 10:50 AM. Jodie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is chair is extremely lightweight and very compact (if you order it with the fold down back). Easy to load into and out of a car. So much easier to push than my folding chair!

Helps increase my stamina. I am much less tired at the end of the day.

I like that it is very easy to remove stratches (with a scotch brite pad and Pledge furniture polish).
Weaknesses:The scissor brakes are mounted way underneath the chair making them difficult to engage / disengage. I wonder if they can by moved?
Comments:I would suggest ordering the chair with the Spinergy wheels. I have Sun Rim CR 20's on mine (insurance set a limit on what I could spend) and the wheels add considerable weight to the chair.

Overall, an AWESOME chair!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bruno from London submitted this review on September 17th 2004 at 10:08 AM. Bruno is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great Chair. Easy to push and vey stable compared to mr Etac etac. Much lighter and much better design
Weaknesses:Bolt breaks are a paid and sharpe. Be careful when useing the scissors brakes as they can cut the hand.
Comments:I would advice anyone buying this chair to try both tye of brakes bfore buying
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Steven from BICESTER OXFORDSHIRE UK submitted this review on March 8th 2004 at 03:28 PM. Steven is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is the lightest chair going, much better than the quicky ti I had before. The frame is very ridgid and the spox wheels are so light you just laugh when you take them off. The turning circle is tight and the frog leg front casters make the ride super smooth. If you have the cash and know what suits you get this chair
Weaknesses:When getting in and out of my car the plastic bungs in the open tube ends do get skuffed quickly when i rest the chair on the floor apart from that its all okay
Comments:As an Industrial Designer and a wheelchair user for over 12 years I can tell a good product, I give chairs a rough ride and this one seems to be the best so far, the wheels I have are 25inch diameter, they make a difference too, I would really recomend this as a first class chair, but be carefull to get good advice on choosing exactly the set up you need from a good reseller
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Rachael from ontario canada submitted this review on April 4th 2003 at 05:52 PM. Rachael is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I just got a Ti-lite TRC....It's extremely light weight...I love it! I also have spinergy spox wheels which I like alot.
Weaknesses:I guess I would have to say the price luckily my chair was covered by both ADP and insurance.
Comments:I think its an all-round great chair! I would suggest that people that are using wheelchair should definately consider getting a ti-lite chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
David from Ottawa submitted this review on January 11th 2003 at 02:45 PM. David is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:strong frame and good bearings, easy to push; beaded finish is fantastic, rub scratches with an abrasive cloth included, buff with Pledge... presto no more scratches
Weaknesses:Ti don't use shoulder bolts in the braking system...threaded bolts will cut into the other metals and you will need new brakes every few years or less. It's a sandard engineering principle, for the kind of money they charge you would think they would know better.ALSO, the order was misread and three items had to be changed after receiving it
Comments:Change all brake bolts to shoulder bolts
Read the order sheet more carefully at point of production
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Robert from Trenton, NJ, USA submitted this review on September 21st 2002 at 04:20 PM. Robert is a clinician who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The TRC is very light and extremely easy to push. The patient has had no mechanical problems since getting the chair. The company was very good about helping us with suggestions and doing a few custom modifications.
Weaknesses:Since it is a custom wheelchair, you should have someone with experience helping with the specifications.
Comments:The wheelchair was ordered for a paraplegic who was experiencing shoulder problems. We thought that he would benefit from the use of an easier to push chair. When paired with a good set of wheels like the Spinergys, the chair performed as we expected.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Laura from Philadelphia submitted this review on May 31st 2002 at 03:43 PM. Laura is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The ability to customize all dimensions of the chair in half inch increments is a great asset. Casters and axles can be precisely placed. Widths and depths were configured exactly to my needs. The chair is lightweight, easy to push, and easy to get in and out of my car.
Weaknesses:I really havenít experienced any weaknesses in this chair.
Comments:I have been a wheelchair user for twenty years. This is the best fitting and performing chair I have owned. Since I have had surgery on both of my shoulders, the ease of pushing and turning, along with the lightweight are a great help.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Louis from Brooklyn, NY, USA submitted this review on January 27th 2002 at 12:34 AM. Louis is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light and easy to push.
Weaknesses:The ABS footplate is not as sturdy as I would like, and presented some problems.
Comments:The chair has worked very well for me so far. The weight and looks are a real plus.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Ti Lite
2GX
Aero R
Aero T
Aero X
Aero Z
Evo
Sport X
SX
Tilite BB
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tilite YR
Tilite YRA
TR
TRA
Twist
TX
XC
YG
YGS
ZR
ZRA
Similar products (Rigid Frame Wheelchairs)
1000
A-6S
AC2
Act
Activ
Active Univers
Advance
Advantage 4
Advantage 4
Aero R
Aero T
Aero Z
Airlite
Airlite
Airlite Pro
Airlite Pro
Avenger
B2
Blizzard
Boing
BT
BT Ballistic
BT-G Tribal
BT-Mg
BT-Mg-A
BT-Mg-AS
BT-Trail
BT-X
Carbon Black
Champion 3000
Champion Wheelchair
Classic TI
Competition
Daily Chair
Dupont Modulo Active Chair
Eclipse
Elite
Evo
Extreme
Fusion
Hallmark
Hi Lite
Hi Lite 3
Hornet
Icon A1
Idra
JAG
K Series
K-Nova 300
K3
K4
Krypto
Leggera
Leggera Compact
Leggera XL
Leggera XT
LY-5000
M1 Marvel
Max Lite
Maxima
MRX
Mtm
Netti 1
Next
Octane
Panther
Panther AX
Pcht
Performance
Performance Superlite
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Prodigy
Quasar
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QRi
Quickie R2
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie XTR
R33
Razorblade
Roller
RoVa 4
Shockwave
Shockwave
SL-5000
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Ti Titanium
Spazz
Spazz-G
Speedy 4all
Speedy F2
Speedy F4
Square Standard Frame
Stiletto
Street Classic
Street Xl
Style
Switch
Switch Attack
Taper Squeeze
Taper Standard
Titanium
Titanium
Titanium XL
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Reveal
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Twirl
TR
TRA
Tripod Lt
Tsunami
Typhoon
Ultima
Veloce & Vivace
Voyager
Wolturnus Tukan
Wolturnus W5
Wulturnus W5
Zephyr
ZR
ZRA
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy