USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Quantum Blast 850
Image of Pride Mobility Quantum Blast 850
Power wheelchair with rear wheel drive.
Front-mounted, self-leveling caster beam for traversing uneven surfaces.
Active rear anti-tip wheels work in opposition to the drive wheels.
Fully programmable electronics.
Front caster fenders, electronics splashguard and body shroud.
Drive Wheels: 14 pneumatic, rear-mounted 14" Solid (optional).
Front Casters: 8" or 9" pneumatic, Solid (Optional).
Adjustable Anti-Tip Wheels: 6 solid, rear-mounted.
Suspension: Full suspension with rear anti-tip Sport-Trac suspension and full front caster beam suspension.
Maximum Speed: Up to 8.5 mph.
Brakes: Electronic, regenerative disc brakes.
Ground Clearance: 3.75
Turning Radius: 33".
Overall Length: 33
Overall Width: 25.5.
Drive Train: Two-Motor, rear wheel drive.
Battery: Two 12 volt, 70 AH, Group 24, Per-charge Range: Up to 25 miles.
Battery Charger: On-board.
Battery Weight: 53.5 lbs. (each).
Electronics: 100 amp Remote Plus
Weight Capacity: 300 lbs.
Base Weight: 148 lbs. Seat Weight: 44 lbs.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1222
Durability?3.584.005.00
Ease of use?4.255.004.50
Meet expectations?3.174.505.00
Overall Rating:3.254.504.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Gary from Alvin, Texas submitted this review on July 23rd 2014 at 08:45 PM. Gary is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Goes pretty where I want although has a tendency to overheat in the yard. Is fast but low in torque is lacking. I had to replace the left motor about 2 years in but it is only recently that the right motor ha started to act up.
Weaknesses:the low end torque is lacking and as for comfort I changed the seat from the hard pan butt killer to the sling seat from my Fortress 760. The leg rests are mad of much to light material and bend in normal everyday use. The wheelie bars on the back should be called wall and door destroyers. A cutting torch will fix that. Battery life is not good. Yes after I put the largest battery the chair will accept in it they last a couple of years and I charge them every night. As for 25 miles on a charge it must be on smooth flat concrete. The Fortress 760 would literally go for a week and a half that is 9 days before it finally quit and that is not only in the house and at the office but in the yard and off the sidewalk. But those were exceptional chairs.
Comments:Over all the chair has been good to me. The reason I got the chair was because it was as close to what I had in the Fortress although the Blast even though it is fast as heck speed isn't everything. I will say it is still running mostly. Would wish for an elevating seat but when I got the chair they wanted $9000 for a custom made seat because the manufacturer didn't offer one.

So overall decent chair.. wish the designers would take a page from fortress on battery life.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
glenn from albemarle submitted this review on October 26th 2011 at 01:29 AM. glenn is a clinician who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:as far as i'm concerned , the quantum 850 blast is the best outdoor power chair ever made. mine run's 10mph 4 up to 25 miles. i know this 4 a fact because a city police officer was beside me & he clocked me with is speedometer. i can go across the city of albemarle in about 15 or 20 minutes.
Weaknesses:the only thing i can find is going in small convenuent stores. that company was crazy 4 ever quit making this chair. the only other thing i can find is that i can't afford the batteries 4 it
Comments:good
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Matt from Richmond, VA USA submitted this review on May 3rd 2007 at 04:13 PM. Matt is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:More powerful than any chair I've ever had. Fastest one also. Only wheelchair I've not turned over or fliped! I've had it for almost 5 years. Pride says top speed is 8.5 mph but, it's clocked by police radar going 10mph!
Weaknesses:Rides a little rough and sits too high with tilt & recline.
Comments:Batteries have lasted me the whole 5 years. Motors and gear boxes have been replaced only once but because I travel very much in it. I've seen others that say it will only go 5 to 6 miles top on one charge but, if you take care of it right it will go over 30 miles.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Steve from Cardiff, Wales, UK submitted this review on November 22nd 2006 at 05:04 PM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Normally break my chair in about 6 months had this one, three years so far touch wood.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
t.p. from mphs, tn submitted this review on August 8th 2006 at 01:46 PM. t.p. is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:strenght of engineering... maneuverability is great...

comfort is also very good, as is ease of entering exiting chair

crazy fast!!!! this jackrabbit must go 12mph!!!
Weaknesses:the only thing i see that could be improved upon might be battery life.

i really don't trust the 25 mile claims, but hav'nt really ridden 25 mile trip yet... waiting til gas goes to $3.00 a gallon. "what's minimum speed on the interstate??"
Comments:this is second blast i've owned. the first a 650 is five years old and being used at my home to do yardwork. dog training, and fishing / hunting

this 850 hd is so awsome "this chair will climb a tree" and best dealer in america helped me find it after discontined.

thanks mark / transtech mobility
st louis park mn.

previous experience with pride products made this purtchase a no brainer.. too bad pride is discontinuing this line.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Rosemary from Huntly Victoria Australia submitted this review on July 20th 2006 at 06:40 AM. Rosemary is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:looks good and looks like it should and would do the job
Weaknesses:have used power chairs for 13 years,had this chair 7 months- had motors replaced within the first week, onto the 4th set of motors, wheels problems, arms keep coming off, stops dead for no reason, battery life is limited does not handle rough ground to well. Space is not big enough to go on.
Comments:Would not buy this chair again or recommend it to anyone. Would need a lot of improvement
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Bob from Somerset, KY submitted this review on May 30th 2006 at 08:00 AM. Bob is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Strong torque by motors with decent speed. It has the ability to traverse uneven ground and climb decent grades. Relatively small turning radius. The tilt/recline seating system works well.
Weaknesses:Bulky front casters and front tires makes it difficult to manuver in tight areas. Battery life is short compared with other chairs and will not travel the stated 20 miles...maybe 6-8 tops. Undampend shocks cause a "bouncy" feeling.
Comments:There is a lot of room for overall improvement/refinement needed to make this chair live up to its advertising. I've been a power chair user for over 26yrs and this chair has potential.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Nancy from Scottsdale, AZ. submitted this review on February 24th 2006 at 01:14 AM. Nancy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ease of handling - Ease of charging (built in charger)
Weaknesses:My chair is a wide chair and the leg attachments seem to stick out to far. I have trouble going through some doors. I don't like the fact that the legs dont fold tightly against the side of the chair. I have spent about $1000 on repairs so far. 2batteries - charger - legs broke off.
Comments:My tires are burning marks in the tile floor here at the HealthCare home where I live The place I bought the chair recommended it to me - 2 years agoand I have had this trouble the last year or so. The salesmamn I had said it's my weight and they can do nothing about it. Also I never received a manual on this chair......Help if you can
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Ralph from Detroit, Michigan, USA submitted this review on February 23rd 2006 at 11:32 PM. Ralph is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Looks aren't bad for a full size powerchair. It does a fair job on some slick surfaces like grass, leaves, gravel. It can get up and go when it wants to. My dog likes to jump up on it when I'm not in it and bark at it when I am in it.
Weaknesses:The motors or the controller. The repair service can't seem to decide which one it is even after keeping the chair for a week at a time. It likes to take a nap from time to time and come to a dead halt. It wakes up after a while but still leaves me with a case of insecurity and a desire to always keep close to home.
Comments:I have really tried to like this wheelchair. No, I have tried to love it but it won't let me. It wants me to hate it. I find myself cursing at it in anticipation of it shutting down. I think my dog knows something that the repair guys and me don't about this chair. Arfff, grrrrr, rufff.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
RANDALL from LAND O LAKES, FL submitted this review on September 19th 2005 at 02:31 PM. RANDALL is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good speed, looks good
Weaknesses:Manual says 25 miles on full charge, I'm getting 5-6 miles TOPS..Regardless of home or road use.

Armrests locks made of plastic..breaks, snaps e-zily.
Comments:Use metal instead of plastic on armrest locks.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Gordon from Baltimore submitted this review on April 11th 2004 at 10:26 PM. Gordon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power, speed, ok looks
Weaknesses:front wheels too bulky, arm fasteners engineeed poorly, many motor problems(on 3rd set in 2 years), cable to controller should be set so it cannot be damaged by moving chair arms/
Comments:has potential, but needs to improve reliability and design to be a repeat buyer. needs better suspension system
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
j gale from big spring , texas submitted this review on March 24th 2004 at 02:28 PM. j gale is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:very good machine
Weaknesses:it stops for no reason
Comments:he has had this chair i thank for over a year. it started stoping for no reason. repairs have been made twice and money has been paid to autorized repairman but it has not stopped this problem.
please let me know if you can fix this problem
eyeball@crcom.net
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
James from Vancouver, WA, USA submitted this review on August 14th 2003 at 03:33 PM. James is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durability, comfort, speed, power, looks, handling.
Weaknesses:Shock travel. Weak rear suspension dampeners.
Comments:I've had my Blast 850 for about 21 months. This chair has been the most reliable chair I've owned out of the seven powerchairs I've owned over the last 26 years.

The Blast 850 works very well off paved surfaces providing a well balanced stance which makes me feel secure.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Dylan from Gainesville, Fl, USA submitted this review on July 24th 2003 at 02:40 AM. Dylan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:it has nice speed. it is reliable and durable.
Weaknesses:not very good shock absorbers. the turning is quite difficult because the front wheels are offset and quite large, so they stick and throw the wheelchair when the pressure releases. Also, the wheelchair itself is a bit large.
Comments:I am somewhat dissapointed with it because I expected better shock absorbers. I also wish it had better control reaction. I'm looking forward to switching to a different one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
jane from michigan submitted this review on July 1st 2002 at 11:05 PM. jane is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:easy to control smooth handling
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bob from New York submitted this review on March 3rd 2002 at 06:12 PM. Bob is a clinician who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Wide selection of components and electronics makes it easy to configure for specific situations and conditions. Good support from manufacturer.
Weaknesses:Motor release handle turns at a strange angle and takes getting used to.
Comments:Appears to be a good all around performer for indoor and outdoor use including some rough terrain.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel Scooter
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory 9 Scooter
Victory Sport
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
Bounder Plus H-Frame
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
S-6 Series
Select Traveller
Series 6
Street
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy