USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Out Of Production EZ Chair Adult
Image of Out of Production EZ Chair Adult
EZ Chair Adult
Manual folding pedal wheelchair.

You do not have to be able to walk or stand to use the EZ Chair.
Can be used for exercising.
Weight 30 lbs.
Folding to fit in any trunk.
Powder coated aluminum.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1140
Durability?4.454.000
Ease of use?4.825.000
Meet expectations?4.824.250
Overall Rating:4.364.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Frank from Budd Lake, NJ submitted this review on October 12th 2011 at 02:58 PM. Frank is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Versatile-great exercise - Attracted attention
Weaknesses:Durability-Wheel Traction- Support
Comments:The chair was modified to add custom support. If available, would purchase new or used model. My daughter left it at school when she graduated (used it in PE)My daughter still asks about the chair and wants another one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jeff from wichita, ks, usa submitted this review on March 16th 2010 at 04:38 PM. Jeff is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Hey I found a new pedal wheelchair. Looks great you should check it out www.ped-l-tech.com
Weaknesses: 
Comments:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEE8Ub4N6-w video of new pedal wheelchair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
John from Long Beach, CA submitted this review on February 27th 2010 at 05:31 AM. John is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I love this chair. It is easy to fold up and stick in the back of my car. I love the mobility, AND general positive comments. Not a day goes by when someone does not ask me where they can get this product. I love showing off the speed, and tight turns.
Weaknesses:THAT IT IS NO LONGER BEING MADE. I have made a few minor repairs, such as replacing chain, flat repair.
Comments:This is a great chair and should be marketed again!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Kostas from New York City submitted this review on February 4th 2010 at 09:04 AM. Kostas is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:These chairs provide excellent therapeutic conditioning for people with deficits in their lower extremities who would otherwise suffer muscular and/or neurological atrophy. Think
of them as PT on wheels. They are the ultimate in strength and aerobic exercise done in a practical way for people with a range of impairments.
Weaknesses:They do need more mainetnance because there is a chain-driven pedal mechanism. But I hardly consider that a weakness.
Comments:The benefits are time and money saved; they are psychological, medical, and physiological; people just feel better when they are able to do more on their own.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Erin from Chandler, AZ, USA submitted this review on December 15th 2009 at 10:55 PM. Erin is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable, portable, comfortable, easy to use.
Weaknesses:None, just want it back in production, love it!
Comments:I went to an "ability expo" in california in 2003 due to weakness, and pain from chronic fatigue, fibro, and sjogen's syndrome. I tried about 10 different wheelchairs while I was there and this one was the best for my needs. It is incredible. Please put it back into production for others, and mine is still running great but I may need parts or a new one some day.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Holly from Orland, Florida, USA submitted this review on September 12th 2009 at 10:14 AM. Holly is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I was one of those people that went up and said, "where did you get-that I HAVE to have one!" I fortunately am in remission but while I needed it it was WONDERFUL. I had terrible pain in my hip when standing walking and primarily used a power chair until I "found" the E Z Chair. When you try to explain the to the non-disabled population (and some disabled people too) that wheelchair users can use their legs they look at you funny. Weak people (very weak) and pained people did great with this product! And it was fun and truly easy-it is geared so the pedal power is minimal! I woke up this morning wondering how the product was doing and am terribly upset to find that they are not in production. That's what happens when someone thinks outside of the box! I hope that there is a way to get it revived, as it is truly a revolutionary product. I have one in the garage and wouldn't part with it for the world...my problem could reoccur and my two children both have the same disorder so I won't take a chance that we won't have access to it should we need it! How can we get together to get it revived? In the mean time, to those interested, search craigslist and ebay and hopefully you'll get lucky. I liked that it also attracted positive attention. Everyone was excited and interested in it. It also looks more like a rolling lawn chair and less like a "wheelchair." I was very comfortable despite not being customized. I liked that it was NOT vinyl-many seats are vinyl and you sweat terribly. Lightweight. Steering is unique but you catch on in a flash.
Weaknesses:Not being able to get one! The airline bent the frame but my husband manhandled it back. I checked it, but should have had them put it inside like another writer. I had a tire blow out but went to a bike store and replaced the tube and was back wheeling around. Was a bit awkward to step into to sit but worth it. Insurance did cover at that time but worth it.
Comments:How can we bring it back?????? Whoever holds the patent now should try infomercials and TV or get it to someone who cares enough about the patients. They just didn't know how to reach people. What if all of the various disabled and related disease associations (muscular/spinal) first learned about this product and then banded together to find someone who cares to make it. Hey what about Jerry and the MDA they are huge! It would be great for those kids! Where's the patent now???
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jean from Brooklyn submitted this review on October 25th 2007 at 09:33 PM. Jean is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a great chair for traveling, for exercise, for inside spaces, and for outside where the going is fairly smooth, for putting in the trunk (practically any trunk) and for putting in inaccessible houses. When I travel to friends who live in inaccessible houses, they can pick me up in their car and I can visit their house and get my chair inside. I find the seat very comfortable, too. I regularly fold it up and put it in airplane closets or take it on AMTRAK. It's fun to use, too. I can hook my forearm crutches on the back. The steering is easy. It wasn't terribly expensive. I like the storage space under the seat, too.
Weaknesses:It isn't the most durable chair ever. I've had several and they eventually fall apart with hard, everyday use. They can't be secured with 4-point tie-downs well because they are fragile but bus drivers don't want to hear that. I have one left that I am nurturing (using only for travel or rare occasions locally) because I love it and don't know what I'll do without it. The plastic spacers don't hold up over time in cold climates (or maybe just over time). They should be metal. No good, quick way to get parts or get it fixed even when the company was in business. And now the biggest weakness is that it isn't made anymore because Premier Designs sold it to Invacare who says there isn't a market for it. I spoke to their rep in April 2007. And yet every time I travel with it, people literally run up to me or stop their cars and ask me where I got it. No market? There is a market but maybe they mean not a big profit.
Comments:Invacare, if you don't want this chair, sell it to someone who does! Or listen to the masses. The rep said that they had some leftovers and put them on their site and no one wanted them. Hmmm. We didn't know they were there! That was some years ago. When the company suddenly went out of business, I was ready to buy 2 more chairs, that's how much I like them.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from long beach submitted this review on August 26th 2007 at 01:46 AM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Wonderful product. Allows exercise, independent mobility, and enjoyment. So many people want one. It is a shame that this product is no long sold. I understand the designer/salesman sold design to electric wheelchair manufacturer who is not going to produce these. Our model is set so pedals appropriate for longer legs.
Weaknesses:I've had this for years and it needs to be fixed now and then (naturally). Also may be difficult to exit and enter, but well worth the trouble. Would love to find service tech. for help.
Comments:Bring it back!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Will from Palmdale, CA U.S. submitted this review on October 30th 2006 at 10:57 AM. Will is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very Easy to use, folds and is portable
Weaknesses:If it breaks down, repair needs to be done independently and through private measures as the company ran out of business in early 2002.
Comments:The chair is really nice, I've used it since high school and it's almost going to be 5 years. The "differential" area broke once and we got a welder to weld it back up and so far it's still in working conditions. I use it as an everyday wheelchair. Unfortunately, the company DID run out of business and any repairs will thus be difficult to obtain, not to mention a replacement which would be impossible.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Kathryn from Dallas, Texas submitted this review on October 10th 2006 at 10:44 AM. Kathryn is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Allows freedom and can help with stroke recovery
Weaknesses:can't find a dealer or anybody who can tell me where to buy one. Please help.
Comments:HELP.... Where can I buy an EZ Chair? I am unable to find anybody who even knows what one is! The website and the phone number are inoperable. Please e-mail at Kannder@yahoo.com
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
amy from Skokie, IL. USA submitted this review on August 7th 2006 at 02:29 PM. amy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:i love my ez chair. the light weight and the easiness of getting it into the car is amazing. i use it primarily at the malls. i love the indepence it gives me and still exercises my legs. this is the only kind of wheelchair my neurologist would let me use.
Weaknesses:suddenly the axle just broke. where do i get parts for it? i need my chair. can you tell me where it get parts for it?
Comments:great product i think if you advertise it more, there will be lot more people buying it. i know since whem i'm out with it, it seems like i'm working for you selling it. i need your business cards to hand out to people, please send me some.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
AJ from Port Hueneme, Ca submitted this review on June 12th 2006 at 03:24 AM. AJ is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:More than strong enough, especially for my 95 lb mother. It's very adjustable. I bought it used, and it was very used based on scratch marks under the pedals, but it otherwise looks and feels almost new. It was the perfect thing to get her moving again. She's been very weak, unstable, and unmotivated... but I strapped her into this and she had a blast. I even have fun with it. She's not very coordinated either but she adapted to it almost immediately. This was truly an amazing find.
Weaknesses:None that I can see, except that they are indeed hard to find... new or used. I didn't see anything like it anywhere on line... even the URL ezchair.com is being used by someone else. It can become momentarily unmanageable when the steering wheel or the drive wheel on the left looses contact with the ground (like on the side of a driveway entrance), but it can't tip over and it easily recovers. Another reviewer mentioned the chain broke on theirs, so I hope it holds up.
Comments:For a light weight folding self propel type of device it's remarkably well engineered, designed and built. The brake is especially strong and works both sides with one handle.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michelle from Lithopolis, OH, USA submitted this review on June 1st 2006 at 03:34 AM. Michelle is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to operate. I thought I was being pushed. Gave me a sence of freedom within my own limitations.
Weaknesses:Very difficult to find in order to buy.
Comments:I gave this product a test drive years ago at a disability fair at the Anaheim Convention Center. I loved it then and have recently been looking to buy one. Locating one seems impossible. Should have purchased then.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Julie from Canby, Oregon USA submitted this review on April 8th 2005 at 02:54 PM. Julie is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:portable. we shipped it on vacation with us.
Weaknesses:the chain broke once. it was not easy to fix
Comments:This has been one of the best pieces of equipment we have ever bought.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Aileen from Novato, CA, USA submitted this review on March 2nd 2005 at 01:00 AM. Aileen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is light enough to get in my van without needing to buy a lift. It doesn't take much energy to operate. I can get exercise. The seat fabric looks cool!
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I do not have much strength and can no longer walk due to MS. But with 2 kids under 12, I do need to move! This chair allows me to be independently mobile without assistance. My neurology dept credits my chair for contributing to much of the strength I do have because I am moving my legs and not just sitting in a chair. I have had my ez chair for 7 years and I love it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Discontinued
Euroflex DX Compact 900
3 Wheeled Cart
6 Wheeled All Terrain
Achiever
Coaster E.B.L.
Euroflex 600 ABC
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Euroflex Series 500
EZ Chair Junior EZ Chair
Fena Vertran Standing Mobility System
Gelert Prone Stander Intermediate
Kili Kart
Series 500 ABC
Titan
xxxxxxxx
Similar products (Folding Frame Wheelchairs)
2GX
8708
8TRL
930 Mini Lite
950 Tekno
Access
Acti Lite Adult 1000
Actilite
Action MVP
Activx 400
ActivX 500
Aero X
Allegro
APX
Avante Garde V
Avantgarde FL
Avantgarde T
Avantgarde Ti 8.9
Avantgarde Ti Ultra
Avantgarde TR
Avantgarde VR
AX3
Barrett 10
Barrett 7
Breezy 100
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Catalyst 5Ti
CG-7100A-FB
Challenger
Champion
Champion
Compact
Compact
Compact 2004
Compass XE
Condor
Contact Hemi
Cross
Deluxe
Deluxe
Deluxe Detachable Arms
Elegant
Eurochair Basic
Excel G3
Folding Wheelchair
G2 Leisure
G2 Leisure Plus
G2 Leisure Sport
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Hand Pedal Wheelchair
Hvr3
Innovator
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
Jazz
Km 1500
Km 8020
Km 9020
Kuschall 1000
Legend
Leggera Folding Wheelchair
Liberty 1
Liberty II
LY-6A732SF-FB-D
LY-7100A
Meteor
Ministar
Motus
MVP Fixed Frame
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Netti SVIPP
New Rakune
New Reality
Partner 1001
Posture Performance Superlite
Primat 3.400
ProSpin X4
Quantum Litestream XF
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie QXi
Quickie Revolution
Quickie RXS
Regent Deluxe Lightweight
Regent Lightweight
Regular Superlite
Rolls 900
Series 1 Standard Wheelchair
Series 3
SL-2850
SL-3760SF
Sm 150
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Speedy A1
Sport X
Spyder
Standard 708
Start Basic
Start Hemi
Start M2 Effect
Start Multi
Start Plus
Stowaway
Suntec 4005
SX
Thompson Lever Drive
Titan
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Traveler
Triton
Twin
TX
Ultra Light 2004
Ultra-Light
Ultra-Lite
Ultramax Lightweight
Uni
Vega
Vision
Volant Sport Folding
Vsu 200
Whirlwind
XC
Xtra
Zenda
Zenda SW
Zenda UL
Zoom
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy