USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Redman Chief 107SRX
Image of Redman Chief 107SRX
Power electric wheelchair with standing and reclining features.
• Power elevating leg rests.
• Maximum weight limit 250/350 pounds heavy duty. construction available.
• Seat width 16" - 18". Seat height 18.5" (to top of seat base. front adjustable to 16.6" rear). Seat depth 17".
• Back height 26" (from seat base), adjustable 5".
• Arm height adjusts from 7" to 11" from seat base to top of arm pad.
• Ground clearance 4" (does not include anti-tipper wheels).
• Overall width 23". Overall length 41".
• Turning radius 29".
• Driving range 15-20 miles.
• weight 285 pounds.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews2360
Durability?2.961.330
Ease of use?3.482.000
Meet expectations?2.781.170
Overall Rating:3.171.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Steve from Mountain View, AR US submitted this review on January 26th 2017 at 11:44 AM. Steve is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durability is second to none. They stand behind their product and will help you when you need them the most. Their chairs are built like a tank and will last longer than any other chair.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:Im totally dependent on this chair and it will always be there for you. The folks at Redman are helpful and loyal to their customers. They will help you 24/7 when you need them. One of the best decisions I have ever made was buying a Redman product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Theodore from DERRY submitted this review on October 3rd 2016 at 07:42 AM. Theodore is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This wheelchair will stand you up, most times.
Weaknesses:The wiring, the actuators, this wheelchair is poorly executed. Some parts do not possess enough margin for the task. As such they are prone to breaking. In my experience all three major actuators, seek tilt, Leg lift, And standing failed multiple times. Poor placement of the chassis wiring caused a Wire cut and smoldering after a short circuit resulted from the frame coming in the wiring.
Comments:The Wheelchair is not of the quality that one would expect for $30,000 item. For a wheeled vehicle the cost as much as a Lexus, you would expect much better results. Not so. This wheelchair broke down so much in the two years I owned it if it were not a mobile it would've gone back on some lemon law. Save your money, Buy a quantum.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Elsie from Naperville, IL, USA submitted this review on June 7th 2016 at 05:03 PM. Elsie is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ability to stand for those who can no longer do so on their own
Weaknesses:Poor workmanship
Poor customer service
Way too expensive
Comments:I beg you - do NOT buy a power chair from this company. The quality of the product is very poor. We spent way too much $ on this chair for garbage, only because it could stand my boyfriend up in the chair. We have had so many problems with it, the customer service is abysmal, and they have no local service people to make quick repairs. Please find another power chair company to use, and not this one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Joanne from Groton, Massachusetts submitted this review on February 5th 2016 at 11:59 AM. Joanne is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair stands, Reclines, and the legs raise all affording a measure of comfort to the user. Other than that it's just another Power wheelchair additionally it is been a source of comic relief. The concept is great but it's poor performance is comical.
Weaknesses:The chair is notoriously unreliable leaving my client and I stranded on several occasions. The chair is horribly unstable over rough terrain and all but the most extreme ADA compliant ramps. Going up steep or ramps causes the wheelchair to rear up to the point that my client and I Think that it will turn over backwards. The chair has know what tendon control that can be placed on affordably. Certain items that should be included at a modest cost are provided at a ridiculous cost. My client purchased a tray for this chair which was a ridiculous piece of Plexiglas and aluminum, that looked like it was built by a child, The cost $500.
Comments:Given my experience with this chair I suggest that anybody looking at it look elsewhere. The design is enticing. However, the chairs extremely unreliable. This service is generally snail like and his left my client in a manual wheelchair four more weeks then week care to remember. The problems with this chair Long outlived its warranty making the warranty useless. My client has decided to eat at the cost of this chair, place it in the corner as a reminder of me what not to do, and purchase a competitors wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Marjorie from DERRY, Hampshire 03079's submitted this review on December 15th 2015 at 10:05 AM. Marjorie is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Chair used to stand
Weaknesses:Very poor quality. Very unreliable.
Comments:I would not recommend this chair. I am a caregiver for a paraplegic that hoped stand. He was severely disappointed when he stood the first time in the safety harness giveaway. That too a call the emergency squad for rescue.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ted from Salem submitted this review on August 4th 2015 at 11:15 AM. Ted is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The standing capabilities which originally attracted me to this chair.

Outstanding concept
Responsive words from customer service
Courteous customer service(anxious to do a good job but hamstrung by the company)
Excellent, Albeit overwork, Service technician
Weaknesses:Fair engineering execution
Poor assembly
Disappointing reliability
Far more than ever expected need for repairs
Long wait for repair execution, only one service technician in New England
Comments:Conceptually this wheelchair excited. However, in execution, the chair proved to be very unreliable and, consequently, extremely disappointing. I have owned the chair for about a year and a half and in that time I have suffered through approximately 6 months of downtime. The wiring is reminiscent of the 1960s Jaguar(bad). The reliability is reminiscent of the 1980s General Motors car(you name the model, Extremely bad)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Michael from Centerville, MA United States of America submitted this review on April 29th 2015 at 08:16 AM. Michael is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Chair does stand.
Weaknesses:Service & reliability extremely poor. Extremely expensive considering everything. Very large & heavy especially when compared to other manufacturers. No service within over 2,000 miles.
Comments:Purchased chair about six years ago. First chair was replaced after about six months since they could not get it working properly. Chair would jump wildly left or right for no apparent reason. They promised that my standard chair lift on my truck was compatible and could easily handle the chair. They moved the pickup points multiple times to no avail. The lift was rated at 400 pounds & struggled lifting the chair and broke the strap several times. Finally parked the chair & used it sparingly for over five years. Old chair broken down & now forced to use this one again and the problems start all over again. No support from company, as usual. If you are a physically capable technician this chair might be ok, but then you wouldn't need the chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
User from Somewhere in the north east submitted this review on April 16th 2015 at 04:16 PM. User is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Standing features worked well until I was told I could no longer use the switch extensions that allowed me to activate the standing switches. These were part of the original design in what I bought. Since I cannot use the switch extensions I can no longer stand. But otherwise the standing mechanism works very well.
Weaknesses:Many pieces have fallen off. Many power actuators have broken(All three of the main actuators, Some several times, in one year). There have been several hardware problems. There have been several wiring problems. I would've liked to of been a member of the design review for this chair, Provided they actually had one.
Comments:Very disappointed
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Carol from Milwaukee, WI submitted this review on August 29th 2014 at 08:25 PM. Carol is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ability to stand is good for circulation
Weaknesses:Poor quality
Poor customer service
No service personnel on staff
Comments:Poorly made - the frame broke after only a month; other parts have broken since and the chair is unusable for the third time in less than a year. Do not make any side deals with Sam Redman. Customer service is very bad, and they do not respond well or promptly to emails or phone calls. I would NOT recommend anyone buy anything from this company. There are no repair personnel on staff. They contract with local repair people, but several times now the chair or parts thereof have had to be shipped back to the Arizona headquarters, and it is difficult getting anyone to respond as to when the chair will be back up and running again. Thank God we have a backup powerchair, or we would be in big trouble. Again, do NOT do business with this company.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Alan from Midland, mi submitted this review on March 31st 2011 at 09:20 AM. Alan is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Stands me better than the other chairs
Fast, durable, comfortable
Weaknesses:kinda big and heavy, but that is the batteries I think
A leg extender motor broke, but they took care of that on warranty without any problem. That might have been my fault, I have really high muscle tones in my legs
Comments:This review is on my second Redman chair. I got the first one when I was 10 years old, and drove that every day for about 4-5 years until I outgrew it. As a little kid, I beat the heck out of the chair and it just came back for more, (we still have it in the garage!) After I outgrew that chair, my parentís insurance companies had changed and I was forced to buy a Permobil because of some special coverage they had, and while that chair was okay, but it didnít stand me nearly as good, and the knee bolster twisted to the point where I could no longer use it as a stander, and the padding was so thin, it bruised my shins. Heck, I couldnít even pull up to a table because the seat was so high. So when I outgrew THAT chair, our insurance had changed again, and we were allowed to buy another Redman and we didnít hesitate. It stands me better, I can fit under tables, their customer service and repair folks are great. This chair is lightning fast too; I can cruise at almost 9 mph. I get a little wheel flutter on one of my anti tip casters at that speed, but thatís kind of to be expected. I love it. I stand a couple of hours a day, and when I graduated from High School, I was able to receive my diploma while standing! It was cool. Iím almost 20 now, and have had this chair for about a year. Iím in college, drive it every day and hope to be standing in this chair when I graduate from college!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Stephanie from Brunswick, GA submitted this review on February 21st 2011 at 11:36 AM. Stephanie is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Sam Redman. He does what he says. The chair has helped me to remain active. Being able to stand and change positions throughout the day is very helpful. The knee bolster helps keep me in the chair.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I am happy to report that my chair has worked without any problems since September. Sam Redman came out in September spending about 8 hours replacing different things on the chair. He just sent me a lateral support which helps tremendously.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Isobel from USA submitted this review on September 24th 2010 at 08:58 PM. Isobel is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair has absolutely no strengths.
Weaknesses:Not manufactured according to specifications.
Manufacturer would not accept return of chair upon delivery and nullified warranty when insurer was notified.
Repair and maintenance not available locally.
Footrests were not in proper place and caused pressure wound.
The chair lurches forward or in reverse with no warning.
The chair loses all power without warning or reason.
THIS CHAIR IS DANGEROUS
Comments:The manufacturer uses the profile of a Native American as its logo, leading me to believe that it was designed and/or made by same.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
RICK from CHEBOYGAN MICHIGAN , USA submitted this review on August 18th 2010 at 08:24 PM. RICK is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:THIS IS THE MOST STANDING I'VE DONE IN 6 YR'S. WOW DO I LOVE THIS CHAIR. IT HAS LOTS OF POWER GOING UP HILL AND PULLING THE HOSES AROUND THE GARDEN.I LOVE USING IT IN MY WORK SHOP.I CAN GO FROM ONE WORK SPOT TO ANOTHER STANDING UP.
IT IS REALY NICE TO BE ABLE TO HANG STOCK UP AT WORK WITH OUT GETTING HELP.
Weaknesses:I HAVE NOT HAD IT LONG ENOUGH TO JUDGE YET.
Comments:THE STAFF AT REDMAN HAVE THE BEST,BAR NON.
EVERY TIME I CALL,THEY ARE VERY PROFESSIONAL.
THE STAFF IS VERY HELPFULL AND GO TO GREAT LENGTHS TO SATISFY ME.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Stephanie from Brunswick, GA submitted this review on June 4th 2010 at 06:14 PM. Stephanie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:The leg actuator broke again last night. A new one was put on 5/26. It broke again on 6/03. Six days the chair worked.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Stephanie from Brunswick, GA submitted this review on June 2nd 2010 at 09:49 PM. Stephanie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:Very poorly made.
Comments:The left armrest fell off today. I had to put it back on with DUCT tape. See my previous post. I will be posting everytime something breaks on this brand new chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
J. David from Coatesville PA 19320 US submitted this review on May 31st 2010 at 12:08 PM. J. David is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Not sure of any except nice to stand up, except its always breaks
Weaknesses:Plastic part that break gear boxes that break often may have had the chair for 2 1/2 years used it for 6 months. $43,000.00 piece of junk what a rip off. How do you people sleep at night? Taking advantage of the handicapped is not only wrong but immoral, judgement day will come. I have a chair that was serviced 9 times in 6 months, think somethings wrond with that picture. Wish I could get rid of it and I never got it. Poorly designed, poorly made, cheap parts, and high prices. Think something should be done to prevent others from making the same mistake. Luckly, I'm a school teacher and have union laywers that wont cost me any more money. Anyone else feel this way please e-mail me to make things right
Comments:You should be ashamed of yourself. Taking advantage of the less fortunate is a crime
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Stephanie from Brunswick, GA submitted this review on May 25th 2010 at 09:01 PM. Stephanie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:The knee bolster keeps me from sliding ot of the chair. It is nice to be able to elevate my legs and lean the chair back. Standing upright is great.
Weaknesses:The chair is extremely unreliable. I have had my chair for 2 months and it has boken down 3 times. The stand actuator (makes the chair stand) broke after 3 days. One month later, I was trapped in the standing position when the fuse blew. One week after that, another fuse blew and then the leg actuator broke. Customer service is awful. Trying to get in touch with the salesman/technician is impossible. The owners son, Sam Redman, is the only one that might be able to help.
Comments:DO NOT BUY THIS CHAIR. Check thw www.fda.gov website for more info regarding this chair. I wish I had known to check that before my insurance company paid $42,000 for this chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Mary Lynne from Boaz, AL 35957 submitted this review on May 10th 2010 at 04:29 PM. Mary Lynne is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:It is too large and clumsy to maneuver.
Comments:My husband has never used this chair. I would love to sell it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Tom from New Holstein, Wi USA submitted this review on April 27th 2010 at 08:01 PM. Tom is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:see my previous review, too. I would like to update with this review. Redman has been excellent in its warranty replacement. Sam Redman came up with an alternative to the glitchy ALM unit. Many of the previous weaknesses have been changed over these last three years. One surprise: the lighting system is handier than I would have imagined.
Category 24 batteries have lasted three years so far. They appear easy to replace.
Weaknesses:The armrest leveling gear had to be replaced; I do not use it for lifts, although I certainly lean on it for support. Like all products in this category, the cost would get you a hybrid vehicle...somehow it boggles my mind.
Comments:I had a drive motor showing intermittent failure this year. Sam immediately diagnosed it and had a replacement shipped in no time. It was fairly easy for my son to swap.
The chair is much more reliable without the ALM as part of the electronics. I like being able to speak to the support personnel in Arizona.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Isobel from Wilmington, DE USA submitted this review on October 12th 2008 at 01:24 PM. Isobel is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is comfortable, elevates the legs, reclines and stands as stated by manufacturer.
Weaknesses:The chair fails without power for no apparent reason, leaving user stranded. The Company has failed to honor the warranty. Chair was purchased with the promise of an EZ Lock device installed so that I could drive a vehicle. The chair was delivered without said EZ Lock device and I am unable to drive using the chair.
Comments:Do not purchase a Redman product if you want or need to be independent.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Bernice from Gardena, CA USA submitted this review on June 26th 2008 at 06:43 PM. Bernice is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Stands up very good. Lays down very good. Easy to use. Power level can be adjusted for speed. Stable when standing. Easy to use.
Weaknesses:Rear wheels needed springs - they will give us new wheels with springs to accomodate our needs.
Comments:All of our questions are answered when we call. Each request for assistance is answered quickly.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
LORRAINE from BURBANK, CALIFORNIA USA submitted this review on May 28th 2008 at 01:05 PM. LORRAINE is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:THE SOLIDNESS OF THE CHAIR
STANDING FEATURE
THE NUMEROUS POSITIONS FOR LEGS & BACK
COMFORT
5 LEVELS OF SPEED-POWER
DISTANCE ACHIEVED ON A FULL CHARGE
CONTROL
EASE OF COMMUNICATION WITH REDMAN
Weaknesses:WITHOUT THE KNEE BOLSTER, THE EXPOSED PIPES THAT HOLD THE BOLSTER ARE SHARP AND CAN SCRATCH MY LEGS AS I AM TRANSFERRING. REDMAN HAS ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE AND NOW HAS PLUGS FOR THESE SHARP OPENINGS.
Comments:THIS CHAIR HAS GIVEN ME BACK MY INDEPENDENCE! I LOVE BEING ABLE TO DO MY OWN SHOPPING AND THE STANDING FEATURE ALLOWS ME TO REACH ANY ITEM IN THE STORE. I HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY CHAIR. SAM, MIKE AND TERRY HAVE ALWAYS TRIED TO PROMPTLY ADDRESS ANY OF MY CONCERNS. EACH CHAIR IS CUSTOMIZED TO THE INDIVIDUAL AND SOME TWEAKING WAS NECESSARY AT THE BEGINNING. SINCE THEN AND IN THE FIVE YEARS I HAVE OWNED THIS REDMAN CHAIR, I HAVE REPLACED THE GEL BATTERIES ONLY ONCE. WHEN MY BATTERY CHARGER WAS DEEMED LESS THAN OPTIMUM, REDMAN EXCHANGED IT FOR THE NEWER MODEL. UNDERSTANDABLY, AFTER A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF USE, ALL SCREWS & CONNECTIONS NEED TO BE CHECKED AND TIGHTENED. THIS IS MY VEHICLE AND I USE IT AS SUCH. EVERY DAY I AM THANKFUL I RUN ON BATTERIES & NOT GASOLINE. SERVICING AND MAINTENANCE IS PART OF ANY VEHICLE OWNERSHIP AND I FIND MY CHAIR SATISFIES ALL MY NEEDS WITH MINIMAL
SERVICING AND EXPENSE. I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT REDMAN IS CURRENTLY ADDING MORE FIELD SERVICE REPRESENTATIVES. I WOULD & HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS CHAIR.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Delbert from Nekoosa, WI 54457 USA submitted this review on November 20th 2007 at 10:51 AM. Delbert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have put REDMAN Powerchairs through every possible test from snowbanks to rolling them over and they will handle almost anything. they are built to last. Their very efficient service staff are always willing to help if you do have a problem. The chairs are built in such a manner that it does not take a brain surgeon to do the repairs and if you do need a part it is in your hands quickly. You do not have to have them ship it in from across the water and wait six weeks or longer.
The newer ones are more compact and lighter and you cans see the result of years of experience in designing and building a great chair. I can drive right up to my deckboat and transfer right in.
Weaknesses:It tracks the hardwood floor and I get chewed out for it.
Comments:I have had nothing but good luck with Redman chairs and I have no desire to own anything else.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tom from New Holstein, Wisconsin, USA submitted this review on November 11th 2007 at 10:26 PM. Tom is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Programmable speed and torque modes. if you make the software and cables part of your contract. Plenty of power.
Narrow, fits through 28" doors.
Intuitive controls. Made in America.
Guaranteed fit. They built me a new chair when the first did not stand me completely.
Many position options and some high quality components.
Weaknesses:Customer service. Roving technician visits our area a few times a year. Mike is best one.
Knee bolster compresses and then does not straighten my legs correctly. It seems to require either replacement after 6 months or drilling new holes to keep it close to my thin legs.
Electronic glitches. Replaced one motor after two months; loaner chair sparked and blew fuses. Replacement motor has a very high frequency noise; Sam says open the unit and squirt a lot of WD40 into it. I have no faith in that as a 'fix', might hear later that it voids the warranty if this one fails.
Comments:I paid for this chair myself. I am 62 years old, a 3 year para, > 6 feet tall, about 170 pounds.
Sam Redman, your support contact, is knowledgeable about problems, but scores low on the 'how can I help you?' scale. He doesn't understand how hard it is to work on a chair for me, a T7 para with damaged shoulders. A university rehab expert confirmed that there are a lot of electronic glitches, that a Permobil was more reliable and produces less shear. Don Redman is a good salesman, sounds very sincere; if I did it over, I would test more than just this one.
I told them early on that I had seen relatively low scores on this site (after I had paid and taken delivery). They assured me that I would be able to submit a glowing report after a year's use. Wish I could; the chair has a lot of good quality components...company lacks follow through and never has sent a customer satisfaction questionnaire.
I plan to submit an update in another year.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Jim from Los Altos Hills, CA submitted this review on July 12th 2007 at 01:45 PM. Jim is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Horrible drive train, broke approx 4 motors and 10 gearboxes in 4 years. Frame cracked twice. Get a Permobil instead.
Comments:I cannot begin to describe how bad the chair and experience was with Redman. My wife is normal weight and did not by any stretch of the imagination abuse this chair. The gear boxes failed on a regular basis stranding my wife in random places. This happened during her pregnancy and out of cell phone coverage. The stress and hassle of fixing this chair constantly was more that we could bear. Sam assured us that this hardly ever happens, but after 10 gearboxes, his claims are laughable. Our Permobile has given no trouble.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jenna from San Diego, CA, USA submitted this review on August 22nd 2006 at 06:49 PM. Jenna is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I love my Redman. It gives me the mobility I need while at the same time allowing me to stand and function as if I was able to do it on my own. I have had nothing but compliments on my chair since I bought it in 2004. I would buy it again and again.
Weaknesses:Expensive, but worth every cent.
Comments:I would recommend this chair to anyone that would like the reduction of pressure sores and the physiological benefits of being able to stand.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Dana from Akron, OH, USA submitted this review on October 11th 2005 at 11:56 AM. Dana is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The basic concepts of the Redman 107SXR is good. .
Weaknesses:However, I have had extremely poor support and service from the very beginning of the purchase of this chair. The fact is they do not have any local service centers and no local dealer will
service the chair as they know nothing about a Redman. I am stuck with a very exspensive chair that I can not get programmed nor serviced!
Comments:As I stated this has an overall good concept for a standing chair, BUT, I warn anyone thinking of such a exspensive investment of a life-line such as what my chair represents forme, think twice about the the Service and maintaince..Will the company make sure that your location has locations near where you can get any problems fixed in a timely manor!

Two years of POOR Serivce has soured me on Redman Power Chairs!
As far as I am concerned the Warranty means NOTHING when a company fails to provide serious maintaince on the most important part of it's Drive system. My chair has never been programmed correctly and this is beyond a breach in the service contact!

I spent my savings of nearly twenty thousand dollars and what I have is a lemon..so the next step will be to contact my laywer to see I should do next!

I am not a happy camper!
If anyone has had this problem with Redman Powerchair please contact me!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
Contact

You can contact Dana at- dvancenza_jrross@ameritech.net

 
Haley from Madison, WI USA submitted this review on November 5th 2004 at 10:23 AM. Haley is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very Maneuverable, can easily change sitting/standing/reclining for maximum comfort.
Durable and reliable
Weaknesses: 
Comments:My chair is always there for me. It goes fast so I can keep up with friends. It fits under tables at Perkins and McDonalds. It looks cool. My chair is blue with aluminum wheels. The chair allows me to change the way I sit so I don'y get uncomfortable or sore spots.
Mine also has a loud horn and headlights!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Beth from Benbrook, Texas USA submitted this review on June 2nd 2004 at 09:03 AM. Beth is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Recline function is great, and leg lift helpful for DVT/swelling and relief of pressure on buttocks. Standing function cannot be well evaluated as I wasn't able to use it for long, but was promising.
Weaknesses:Does not handle "curbs" or "dips" well, even low curbs the footrests hit the pavement. Also, my chair began to malfunction after 12 hours of use; first was a Battery cable fault, then problems with the motors not working correctly (loss of power-wouldn't turn), severe paint chipping. They sent a repairman who couldn't properly repair the chair, even after taking it to his shop in Beaumont for the week, and it was returned to me in worse shape with the leg lift no longer working. I got the chair in March of 2003 and couldn't use it any longer. They sent me a new chair in July of 2003. It falls forward when I stand, even on the flat, level surface of WalMart's floor, though the other features seem to work. Don Redman said it's because I gained weight (I went from 184 to 195 pounds)but Paula Redman said the chair is rated to 350 pounds and they have people of that weight safely using the chair. I told her I want to see it.If I hadn't had people to grab the handles and pull the chair to the ground, I would have been face down with a wheelchair on my back.
Comments:After numerous phone calls and letters trying to resolve this situation, I have resorted to calling Medicare to try and straighten this out as I have an unusable wheelchair that I haven't used since December 8, 2003. Redman says for another $4,000 they can fix it so it doesn't fall forward any longer.I say return the money to Medicare so I can get a reliable chair that works. I am not saying that this product won't work wonderfully for another person, I am only stating the problems I've had with it. If you are considering getting a Redman Series 107 power chair, I'd suggest insisting on being allowed to use it for a few days, as a 4 hour "sales call" may not be sufficient time for you to accurately determine if the chair is meant for you. And being able to stand for the first time in years may cloud your vision so you don't accurately assess the chair. Also be aware it is a salesman they send, not a rehab specialist (or at least in my case). I hope this somehow gets straightened out.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy