USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Quantum Jazzy 1122
Image of Pride Mobility Quantum Jazzy 1122
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• Single-lever brake release and a height and depth-adjustable solid foot platform.
• Drive Wheels 14” pneumatic (solid tires optional).
• Rear Casters 8” solid, articulating.
• Anti-Tip Wheels Adjustable 6” solid; front mounted.
• Suspension Full suspension with
Active Trac rear caster suspension.
• Maximum Speed Variable up to 6.25 MPH.
• Brakes “Intelligent Braking” via electronic, regenerative disc park brakes.
• Ground Clearance 3.5”.
• Turning Radius 20” .
• Overall Length 40.5”.
• Overall Width 25.4”.
• Medium Back Seat Carrera Sport seating.
• Contoured medium-back (standard).
• Deluxe High Back Seat Upgraded high-back with headrest.
• Reclining seat.
• Manual Recline Available.
• Synergy Seat Available.
• Versa Tilt Seating System Available.
• Power elevating option.
• Drive Train 2-motor, mid-wheel;
high-speed motor package.
• Battery Two 12V, group 24.
(NF-22 batteries with the power seat option).
• Per-charge Range Up to 20-25 miles per battery charge (Varies with Passenger Weight).
• Battery Charger On-board.
• Battery Weight 44 lbs. (each).
• Battery Well Weight N/A.
• Electronics 70-amp P&G Pilot controller. 70-amp P&G Remote Plus controller.70-amp Dynamic Europa remote controller.
• Weight Capacity 300 lbs. Maximum.
• Base Weight 83 lbs.
• Seat Weight 29 lbs.
• Colors Candy Apple Red, Viper Blue, Forest Green, Purple Pizazz, Gray, Caribbean Teal, Champagne, and Onyx Black.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews800
Durability?3.2500
Ease of use?3.8800
Meet expectations?3.0000
Overall Rating:2.750.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


MARY from GEARHART, OREGON submitted this review on March 17th 2013 at 10:27 PM. MARY is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I take the chair everywhere. . .on trails, over bumps, over tree roots, sturdy, handles rain great(I cover joy stick), very dependable and fast
Weaknesses:I have found none
Comments:Love this chair. Great motors, batteries and joy stick. All original equipment so far after 6 years. Like how heavy it is.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Beverly from Hurst TX submitted this review on November 11th 2010 at 07:03 PM. Beverly is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:When it works properly, it is fantastic. I'd like a bit more speed but that is so I can get to my van when it is raining when it hot or raining.
Weaknesses:The foot rest is made from cheap cast aluminium. Mine broke and I was quoted $300 to replace it. Another place quoted me between $250 and $300. I called Monster Scooter Parts and bought it cost $133.99 including delivery charges. Also the joy stick falls off so frequently that I've given up on it and drive it with justs the holder.
Comments:Overall, it's a great chair. Getting it worked on, however, can be a long, drawn out affair. The Scooter Store, from which I purchased it. AFTER SIX WEEKS, I called them requesting something that I could use until they got the proper parts: The rear wheel assembly had fallen off. They loaned me a three wheeler that barely moved and finally, while at a conference, it totally failed. I had to get help to get to my van. When I told the Scooter Store they blew their stack. They had expected me to push the chair down three flights of ramps and then up the ramp to get it into my van. Sorry, folks, I'm 70 and DISABLED from a massive stroke and spinal arthritis. When the theological place of eternal punishment features ice skating, I'll do business with them again. Oh, it took TWO TIMES for the tech to repair my 1122 because they'd been shipped the wrong parts.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Anthony from Gainesville FL USA submitted this review on May 17th 2010 at 04:46 PM. Anthony is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I am 25 years old, I have been in a wheelchair all my life and have 20 years driving experience. I have had chairs from the United Stated and England and I have abused my chairs in about every way that one can (going as far as driving one into a pound one time!!) I have read the comments of some very frustrated people and decided to post this to help out:

I am the owner of two chairs: a 1122 Jazzy and a type EC Cirrus Plus. Being a military historian with a BA from UF I always compare my chairs to military technology because it’s what I know so bare with me in terms of the following analogizes.

first of all, making a chair is a series of trade-offs (weight/speed etc.). Every person is going to need their chair to do something different in order to meet their needs. When comparing my two chairs I tell people the Jazzy is like an AR-15/F-15 the Cirrus Plus is like an AK-47/MiG-21. One is simple, the other, complex. My jazzy has an elevator on the seat that allows me to reach cups in the cabinets and stuff like that, basically put: it is complex and requires lots of maintenance when something breaks (with lots of connections and wiring as many of you now know). The more complex the chair, the more maintenance it requires. By contrast to the Jazzy, the Cirrus Plus is no more than a frame, four wheels, two batteries, two motors and a joystick. This makes it very low maintenance compared to the Jazzy. Just as the MiG-21 required two steps to operate (gas and go) the Cirrus Plus CE is charge and go. I've done my research and I have some SPECS for you (there are advantages and disadvantages to both, remember it’s a trade-off). If you need the advanced tech of the Jazzy (ie the elevator on the seat) then get the Jazzy (however I would not recommend the entry level model as it will have more problems than its worth) but if you just need the chair to go from A to B without any advanced adaptations I would highly recommend the Cirrus Plus CE by Drive Mobility.

Center Of Gravity
The jazzy is center wheel drive while the Cirrus plus is rear wheel drive: this makes the jazzy more maneuverable in tight spaces (turning radius 21’’) because the center of gravity is right under you; in the CP your center of gravity is behind you (turning radius 30’’). This means that the two require different skills to operate just like two different types of jets or rifles.

Speed/Range
The speed at which a chair will travel as well as its range is dependant upon the weight of the operator, the more weight the slower the speed and the shorter the range. On average however the Jazzy will do 6.5 MPH for 20 miles while the CP will do 5.4 MPH for 15 miles.

Cost
From low to high end the CP ranges from $1,100-$1,500. The only difference I can find between the models is the width of the seat, ranging from 16-16’’ to 16-20’’
The Jazzy starts at $4,500 and can cost as much as $15,000 depending on the options. Repairs are costly with the ladder model!! For what you would spend to build one Jazzy you could build as many as ten Cirrus chairs. Personally my Jazzy cost $11,000 and my CP cost $1,300

Batteries
Though the Jazzy posts a five mile longer range the bottom line is that you’re going to have to charge them both every day anyway. I am a fan of what I call the “Russian method” (make it simple, make it cheap, make it easy to repair/replace). After all, the purpose of a chair is to go from A to B and no matter how fancy it is that’s all every chair does when it comes down to it.

Weight
This is the CP’s biggest trump card along with the cost. Unloaded it weighs 130 lbs while the jazzy weighs 300 lbs. One must add these numbers to ones’ body weight to figure the total. You plus the chair is what the batteries and motors must support. When traversing hilly terrain the Jazzy tends to give out due to the chairs inability to support the passengers’ weight (like up steep ramps in my case). They both post a weight capacity of 300 lbs but one weighs less in the Cirrus Plus then the Jazzy.

You could write a book on the comparison of chairs, I have only touched on a few things. Someone wrote “all my friends have had to become chair techs” and “lucky for my wife she has an engineer for a husband.” These comments were written by people that can’t stand the maintenance of the Jazzy. I would urge these people to look at the Cirrus Plus CE as an alternative if they don’t need any of the high tech stuff associated with the Jazzy. For me it has been a “no maintenance required,” “gas and go” wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
MATTHEW from JONESBORO, TEXAS, USA submitted this review on May 30th 2009 at 12:34 PM. MATTHEW is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:NONE!!!
Weaknesses:ROUGH RIDE. TERRIBLE SEAT
Comments:I HAD NO LUCK WITH THIS SCOOTER. I HAD A JAZZY 1120-2000 THAT WAS GREAT AND WAS EXCITED ABOUT GETTING A NEW SCOOTER. A JAZZY 1122 BUT IT DIDNT WORK OUT NEARLY AS WELL
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Richard from Tama, Florida submitted this review on May 7th 2007 at 01:45 PM. Richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have been in in this chair for going on 5 years and it is well made.
Weaknesses:The plug-ins and monitors for the battery charger are located in the back and down below the seat level so not accessible to the user in and normal usage. Should be better engineered.
Comments:Sometimes called 'pot' metal. The chair mount is one of them and wears out where the chair mounts to the mounting frame. The footrest snaps off, I have replaced the foot rest 4 times (at $95 each) because they break easily at holes factory cut which make it weak. Cannot see the charging gauge and breakers below due to poor engineering.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Neal from Salem, OR USA submitted this review on April 22nd 2006 at 04:21 PM. Neal is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Extremely smooth ride, very comfortable, better speed than most other chairs I have used (most limit to 4mph this can go 7mph (I know it says 6mph but clocked at 7mph), attractive, been very dependable for me. Great turning radius. A LOT of power in those motors, made it up the hill to a friend's home with a 9% grade.
Weaknesses:No real weaknesses that I have come across. Owned and operated for almost 3 yrs.
Comments:My home has VERY narrow halls and doors... require under 23" turning radius to get around and the 1122 surpasses that by a good margin. I am able to comfortably navigate in my home as well as in crowded stocked stores like 7-11 where you have to be almost a 5 yr old to get around without hitting anything.

All in all I am very impressed with the Jazzy 1122 and would highly recommend it to anyone.

PS - I use the footrest plate not the leg lifts, if that matters as well as the swing away controller for sitting at tables.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Betty from Covington, KY USA submitted this review on March 28th 2006 at 11:30 AM. Betty is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable to sit in and has a great turning radius. Tilt seat and power adjustable footrests are great for me since I live in the chair all day.
Weaknesses:VERY mechanically unreliable. I had one motor replaced in Aug., 2005 ($800+) and just last week had the other motor and both batteries replaced and some electrical work done ($2,000+). Two days later it started pulling to the left and then began to hesitate. By the end of the third day, it would hardly move. It now sits imobile as I await the technician to check it out again. It's a real piece of junk and I have been thoroughly disappointed. The Jazzy 1122 should be recalled!
Comments:I have post-polio syndrome and have barely enough strength to push my old manual chair. Yet I find that I'm spending more time in it and can't leave my apartment. I can't even make it downstairs to get my mail. I have just about decided to get a new chair and it will NOT be a Jazzy!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Dixie from Bettendorf, IA submitted this review on August 26th 2004 at 10:49 AM. Dixie is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:For a wheelchair, it is comfortable. Has a good turning radious.
Weaknesses:Very unreliable
Comments:I have had nothing but trouble with my Jazzy 1122. The field person has replaced just about everything on this chair and I still get stranded and I have to find someone to reset the button in the back of the chair. I have made myself housebound because of the fear of being stranded so much...I cannot seem to get this chair replaced so I can be independent again...I find the support from the company very inadequate at this time.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel Scooter
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory 9 Scooter
Victory Sport
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy