USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie Xtender
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie Xtender
Power assist add on unit for manual wheelchair.
• Assists in manual propulsion of wheelchair.
• Product Weight: Approx. 35 lbs. off-chair.
• 11 in. - 22 in. seat width.
• 10 in. - 20 in. seat depth.
• Product Height: 18 in. seat to floor.
• Product Weight Capacity: 250 lbs.
• Overall Width 20.25 in.- 30.75 in.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1100
Durability?4.6400
Ease of use?4.7300
Meet expectations?4.3600
Overall Rating:4.360.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Ryan from Memphis, TN, USA submitted this review on March 15th 2012 at 10:02 PM. Ryan is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:•Very Durable
•Easy to maintain a slow jog speed for long distances with little effort
•Runtime depends on terrain but usually last around 5 hours. I have 2 batteries and on days that I am going to be out for long periods of time I just grab both batteries and I'm good to go!
Weaknesses:If batteries do die then pushing it by yourself is like pushing a tank! Though if you want someone else to push you the all you need to do is turn the power switch to off and it's like putting it in neutral, not as free spinning as a full manual chair but that's the price you pay.
Comments:I have read a lot of the reviews here and though I agree with some things people are say but not all. I think this chair has plenty of power and is totally menouverable on all kinds of terrain. Unlike most I happen to have 2 batteries and I would highly recommend having 2 batteries. Battery life depends on terrain but usually last around 5 hours. Like I said previously said these wheels have plenty of power. I take this chair off road all the time with no worries. I have had this chair for just over 5 years and it's still kicking, it's very robust and durable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Hilary from Melbourne V Australia submitted this review on January 16th 2010 at 01:54 AM. Hilary is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:i agree with the people who have described the widening of their world, and the independence gained with these wheels. my neighbourhood is suddenly open to me owing to the extra grunt i have with this marvellous system.
Weaknesses:woe betide you if anything goes wrong, especially here in australia. [listen to me gripe!!] customer service is too appalling. i took a bus trip 4 weeks ago and the motor in my left wheel burned out when i was wedged against the side of the bus. no-one here knows how to repair it, and i have no idea why a replacement wheel, which i requested immediately, still hasn't come, nor will anyone tell me why not!
the other weakness is definitely battery limitation: when out and about i can get about 4.5 hours out of a fully charged battery - nowhere near enough for an active woman at the sales.
Comments:i love my xtender wheels, and would really appreciate improved battery technology.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Maurice from Phoenix, AZ USA submitted this review on January 11th 2009 at 02:16 PM. Maurice is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Wonderful device if one needs to go beyond the house. Good quality, reasonable transportability. A truly remarkable invention.
Weaknesses:The batteries don't last long enough to operate with only one battery.
Comments:The price of batteries is highway robbery. Totally unreasonable. It works fine for people with good medical insurance, but for those who don't have insurance the price is prohibitive. That is a very shameful way to make money. Please think about this.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bill from Mishawaka, IN submitted this review on March 6th 2008 at 12:44 PM. Bill is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I really like the chair for ease of control and pushing. It has helped my shoulders from getting so sore after rotator cuff surgery. I'm a C-6/7 quad and like the fact that I can still push myself long distances over all types of surfaces that I encounter inside a home and outdoors. The Xtender has allowed me to work as a Substitute Teacher and move from classroom to classroom and long hallways independently.
Weaknesses:The worst thing about this chair is the cost of the batteries, over $800 and only a one year warranty. The batteries only last about 12 or 13 months, or less, before they stop holding a full charge. Breaking the wheelchair down is a little inconvient because the chair dosen't fold up as tight as a manual chair and the wheels are a little ackward to take on and off, but worth the inconvience for my mobility, as long as you have a big trunk or back seat in a car.
Comments:I would really like to get the price of the batteries down, maybe if they could be rebuilt or replace the rechargeable C batteries inside or whatever. The Xtender is a good product and in my case, has let me have some of my independence of mobility.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Erin from Pittsburgh, PA submitted this review on January 12th 2007 at 12:42 PM. Erin is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I could push about 3 blocks in my regular manual chair, but am able to push more than a mile with the Xtender wheels. I can easily tackle hills, gravel, grass, steep curbcuts and carpeting. Beaches are no longer a problem...having a friend hold the chair in a "wheelie" position while I push the rims makes going through sand a breeze.
Weaknesses:The chair is heavy in terms of breakdown and set-up...I cannot independently load it in my car. It only comes with one battery and additional batteries are quite expensive.
Comments:The Xtender system has changed my life (sounds corny, but its true). I had previously had the e-motion system, but I did not like it nearly as much as the Xtenders. While walking with friends, I can easily keep up without relying on someone to push me. I can run my own errands in the neighborhood and my independence has been increased 100%. I would recommend these wheels to ANY wheelchair user!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
David from Riverside, California submitted this review on August 5th 2006 at 07:08 PM. David is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Definitely makes handling hills, grass, gravel, carpeting, etc easier. Also keeps you from burning your hands going downhill with it's buildt in braking system that limits your speed when going downhill.
Weaknesses:Batteries don't last long - if going to amusement park or anywhere you'll be pushing they will only last 4-6 hrs of normal movement depending on the terrain.
It's like trying to roll a tank when you loose battery power - product claims to freewheel like regular wheels when not powered on - it doesn't at least on the 3-1 model. Makes it much harder to be pushed as well.
Breakdown of system for transport can be a hassle and putting the side back on that also holds the battery is awkward as the battery holder always wants to be straight down though you can't get it on the chair that way.
They charge WAY to much for back-up batteries - you can buy 2 or more electric wheelchair batteries for the price of one of these.
Comments:As long as you don't have to break it down/put it together for transporting and don't plan to use it for outings then it would be fine. Around the office, home, small school campus, etc it would be fine.
If you are doing an overnight camping trip or something and have a second battery then it will be great in that terrain as well.
It is a little on the noisy side whether it's on or not - not quiet like the EMotion which my friend has. You definitely won't be sneaking around the house at night to use the restroom!
I didn't like that the system was limited to only a few Quickie chairs where the Emotion can be attached to any chair. I had to buy a whole new chair to get this product even though I already had another Quickie chair but couldn't get the other due to insurance.
I found Quickie's support to be lacking too when it needed some adjustments.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Laurence from Biloxi, Mississippi submitted this review on February 7th 2006 at 04:39 PM. Laurence is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am a Polio Survivor and it is wonderful to keep up with people for a change.
Weaknesses:The battery does not last long enough. It needs to be hurricane proofed. Katrina got my first one.
Comments:I fought getting into a wheelchair for years. The Quickie Xtender has not only made it acceptable but fun too!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jodie from Greenwood Village, CO, USA submitted this review on November 6th 2005 at 11:44 PM. Jodie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Really helps with hills, distances and uneven terrain! Has been very helpful in my office that is carpeted also! These wheels can be fitted to a Quickie GT - They look totally cool!
Weaknesses:Adds a lot of weight to the chair. Can be difficult to transport. The chair has to sit at a certain height to be used with the Xtenders (I think it is 17 inches... Only allows for 1 inch of seat dump but - this can be resolved - if you need more seat dump by using bigger front casters).
Comments:I totally LOVE this chair on days where I don't have to do a lot of in and out of the car. Just FYI - you'll need 2 power packs to get you thru the day if you are really active.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
DC from BUFFALO NY USA submitted this review on October 29th 2004 at 09:25 PM. DC is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:EASY TO USE, EASY TO CHARGE
Weaknesses: 
Comments:WHAT A CHANGE FOR GOING UP HILLS, ALMOST EFFORTLESS
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Charles H. from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania submitted this review on July 6th 2004 at 12:04 AM. Charles H. is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:go all round up hills it will out do the rasal 245 I have for five years over all it is bedder the the 245 and I got my hands an arms back.
Weaknesses:the rubber on the hand rim start it to come off a bout a month & ahalf after I start it using it.
Comments:I have told other people that are in Quickie 2 HP chairs that it works very well on the hill that we have here.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
heather from charleston sc submitted this review on May 1st 2004 at 05:23 PM. heather is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:i like the way it looks. it can fold and go in the trunk of a car. it is easy to use, as far as ease of use and the ability i have to turn it off and on; specifically if i need to get into a small space or manuver it more.
Weaknesses:when other people pick it up it is heavier than the standard quickie. i have found no other problems with it yet in the last four months.
Comments:i love this new chair. i feel as if i have so much potential now to do things and go places i once could not do or go alone. it helps me keep my independence. i was not ready for an electric wheelchair yet and this is the answer. i love this chair. i feel as if it helps me have the power to change my life. i would love to do any type of promothion for this. i have told everyone who asks about it how wonderful it is and life changing.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Attitude Hybrid
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QRi
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
S-6 Series
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Voyage
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Wheelchair Power Assists & Add Ons)
Attitude Hybrid
Drive System
E-fix
E-motion
E-Move
E-Support
Firefly
iGlide
Jw-2
Magicwheels
Motive
Power Trike
Powerstroll Powerpack
Ramp Runner
Ramp Runner
Roll Aid
Samson
Samson PD3
Samson PD4
Samson PD7
SmartDrive
Swiss Trac
Tailwind
Viamobil
Wheelchair Propulsion System
z50
ZA20
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy