USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare Pronto M91 with SureStep
Image of INVACARE Pronto M91 with SureStep
Bariatric Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• SureStep technology (patent pending) for smooth driving over thresholds and transitions up to three inches in height.
• True center-wheel.
• Six wheels on the ground provide optimum stability.
• Semi-recline van seats or full-recline van seats.
• Rehab seat frame available for additional positioning requirements.
• Turning Radius: Front: 19.5" Rear: 21.5".
• Product Weight Capacity: 300-lb. (Standard) 400-lb. (Optional).
• Speed: Maximum of 6.5 mph.
• Charger: 5 amp (on-board).
• Incline Capability: 9 degrees.
• Warranty: Base frame: 60 months
Seat frame: 60 months. Electronics: 12 months. Motor/gearbox: 18 months.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1101
Durability?4.0003.00
Ease of use?3.9105.00
Meet expectations?3.4501.00
Overall Rating:3.360.001.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


John from Bay St. Louis MS. United States of America submitted this review on January 6th 2014 at 02:24 PM. John is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:My M-91 400lb. capacity chair is the most comfortable and reliable chair out there on the market today. I don't intend to be hard on it but I am a 300lb. man. I am a right leg amputee. This chair I bought new in 2005. I have used it every single day since I got it. I have had to replace the batteries only once, chair arms chunk out as they are soft foam. Replaced the seat and control (brain) of this chair. Speaking of brains, I live on the MS. Gulf Coast. There is a lot of salt in the air. Also salty sand. So after I had to replace my control & joystick combo
for $700.00, I got a brainstorm. I cut the corner out of a freezer bag. Put it over the end then sealed it with sealing or see through packaging tape. It keeps the dirt, salty sand and other elements that might damage the transistors under the soft buttons on the control. That was the best idea I ever had. That seals out all the things that will make your control module wear out. This second one is now four years old. Don't ever drive an power-chair in the rain. (I mean electricity and water don't mix right?) I did have to replace the seat only because of my big caboose. But if you get a ROHO cushion, you will feel like you are floating off the ground. I live in a very small space. This chair turns on a dime. The motor and brakes are still factory. You simply can't beat the Pronto sure-step M-91 for durability, ease to use, and comfortable to sit in all day long at my computer. If you need a power-chair I would tell you to buy this chair.
Weaknesses:Not at all with the Pronto M-91. But the Jazzy Quantum 1420 500lb. capacity the V. A. Med Cen bought me is JUNK!. The left motor went out the second month I had it. It has huge 7" front anti-tip wheels and footplate that will not allow you to get near the refrigerator, pantry, kitchen sink, stove or bathtub. The rear wheels are huge as it is a front wheel drive but with 9" high wheels that get caught up in throw rugs, tears up the carpeting in my van and is very weak. It won't handle a charge for a full day just to the store and back. It also has an off board charger where the M-91 has an onboard charger. My M-91 has gone two days before as I forgot to plug it in the night before. However I have never once lost any of the green lights on it. It has power and speed to spare against the Jazzy model.
Comments:I say go with the Pronto M-91 by Invacare. This old chair has taken quite a beating and keeps on going. I used it all over the N/O French Quarter over cobble stone streets when a couple that I know came to the Gulf Coast to visit and go to New Orleans. I am only 50 miles just inside the MS. State line from LA. My M-91 has gone two days before as I forgot to plug it in the night before. However I have never once lost any of the green lights on it.It has power and speed to spare against the Jazzy Quantum model 1420 bariatric chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Zachary from Holden, Missouri, U.S.A. submitted this review on October 19th 2007 at 10:02 AM. Zachary is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Big enough for my size and got me around OK
Weaknesses:Heaven help you if you ever have to buy new parts for it. I have a three year old M94 and the controller went out, $1047 from Invacare. You would think that a $12,000 dollor chair would last a little longer than three years. Well it is heavy enough to make a good boat anchor.
Comments:I will NEVER buy another Invacare product
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jim from Cleveland Ohio USA submitted this review on September 5th 2007 at 11:20 AM. Jim is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have the newer, "improved" Pronto M94, have had it since November 2006. It works great to get me around, far better than a manual chair. Speed is okay, can even get over most small bumps (2' or less). Nice and wide for me, since I'm a big guy. Batteries hold up well now that we've fixed the speed/torque settings. Nice looking chair, too. "No flat" tires are nice.
Weaknesses:Footplate not deep or wide enough, my feet hang over the edge. Air cushions are too narrow and too hard. Seat gives me nasty, frequent pressure sores. The back, even with the van seat, is not made for tall people. Tight fit through older, narrow doors. The lights to indicate battery charge are a joke, why not some sort of gauge? There's no place to carry anything, can hang a backpack on the back of seat but cannot reach around to access it. Arm bags rip off when going through tight doorways. "Six wheels on the ground at all times" is a joke. Very bad idea to design with just an on/off switch. If the $1,200 scooters have a key switch, why not the $12,000 motorized wheelchairs? No light kit, no reflectors, I've been hit twice already, finally installed my own lights and reflectors. No horn!
Comments:We're ordering a rehab seat with built-up gel cushions, and extra tall back for me. Good chair for big people, but needs far better seat design. Needs wider, deeper, stronger foot plate; keyed power switch; better arm cushions; option for higher back; option for better headrest; needs lights or reflectors. Needs a horn!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
WILLIAM from LINCOLN MAINE USA submitted this review on June 5th 2007 at 10:49 AM. WILLIAM is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:NONE
Weaknesses:THE TRACKTION ON WET GRASS IS NO GOOD. HARD RIDING NEEDS SHOCKS
Comments:CAN YOU TELL WHAT I CAN DO TO SOLVE THESE PROBLEMS
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Steve from Kankakee, IL submitted this review on January 28th 2007 at 01:04 PM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Strong Chair Plenty of torque. Plows through the snow, and I once went through a foot of water (by accident)
Weaknesses:Batteries, Travel distance, I might get 12 miles on a good day. No battery indicator just a guessing game with the one LED. If you sit to long in the yard to long you sink. armrest pads dont last long.tire valves snap in a door frame, use the solid tires instead. Speed is ok, even though I know It can be turned up, but then I would probably get only 6 miles a charge any corrections on my distance would be a good help. Sooooo HELPPPP!
Comments:HELP! I need more travel time!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Betty B. from Citrus Heights, CA, USA submitted this review on August 9th 2006 at 11:49 AM. Betty B. is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:When it is in good working order it takes me where I want to go. The height places the user halfway between sitting and standing. Chair is strong. Despite its weaknesses, without the chair I'd be bedbound in a nursing home or an assisted living situation instead of living independently.
Weaknesses:Height prevents chair fitting under table. Rrequires minimum of 55" clearance for total height. You have to stand on your head to use the charger. With a width of 29.5" must square up before going thru doorways or other narrow areas to keep for hitting - peeling paint. Controls don't indicate the level of charge left in battery. Only a green light ot RED light so I must remember how large/long I have traveled since las charge. Diaphrame in motor can rupture, causing oil leak. One of the motors failed in less than three years. When motor fails the drive wheel on that side can be free wheeling causing chair to move when it should be locked. Although I got 2.5 years on the first set of batteries, I've had two additional sets installed in last four months that won't hold charge. The controls are testing in the OK range. Foot board is too short so that feet hang over, thus setting the user up for foot injury. No longer foot board is available for this model. My SUV tail gate opening is 3/4" too low to place lift inside but chair is too high to get through opening so I have to use lift that fits on bumper. Overall, for the amount of time the chair has been used in the last three years, it has not held up.
Comments:Chair is routinely provided with controls that don't indicate level of battery charge. There is another control that is more expensive that not only shows the battery charge level but can be programed for various settings speed vs. response - inside and outside uses, in response to various levels of spasm depending on time of day. Tie down points can be affixed to chair but is not routinely offered. Location of on board charger should be changed for ease of accessibility. I needed a reclining feature, but the one provided does not meet my needs.
I thought I had done my homework prior to being fitted with this chair to insure that I had the justification to get my means met with full coverage by the insurance company but failed on the controls and reclining feature. I also thought that the poundage rating of 300# would be effecient but I did not take into consideration weight gain because of inactivity nor baggage so the 400# would have been better. My insurance limits replacement to every 5 years unless medical condition should change and now that MEDICARE is envolved who knows! Almost as much $$$ has been spent on repairs than the original cost of the chair! When does good money follow bad and it's time to start over!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Dawn from Rhode Island, USA submitted this review on January 28th 2006 at 02:05 AM. Dawn is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very durable, can get just about over everything in it, flies over grass, in and out of dips, and over small fallen tree trunks. Plus the usual city obstacles. Batteries hold a good long charge. I have rehab seating which is very comfortable with tilt/recline. Best powerchair yet. It's my 3rd.
Weaknesses:The footrests and their components break easily. I have had about four or more footrest repairs in one year. Also can't tell when the chair is done charging. If the suspension gets wet, and you don't have it dried, it rusts.
Comments:Best power wheelchair I have had! If only the footrests were more durable, it would be perfect.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Susan from Oviedo, Fl. U.S.A. submitted this review on March 4th 2005 at 03:52 PM. Susan is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very manuverable and stable ride. I formerly had a Jazzy 1170XL for over three years and got fed up with the 'bucking bronco' ride and wandering steering. The M91 feels solid, goes over bumps and threshholds well and the steering is very tight. It easily carries my considerable weight as well as armrest bags, tons of stuff in the back pocket and a large basket full of groceries. (Basket rigged up by my husband). Fits into my Windstar better than the 1170 did. I have the flip up footrest as well as the ELRs and switch back and forth with ease when I need to. This is my 5th chair and so far my favorite.
Weaknesses:Plugging in the cord for charging is a pain. The big bolts that hold the armrests on work loose easily and have to be tightened several times a day. The left foam armrest pad is getting chewed up by door frames and will have to be replaced soon. The seat needs either more padding or some automobile seat type springs for better support and comfort. Does not travel well over grass or dirt.
Comments:A good chair for heavy people. Smaller footprint than the Jazzy 1170 with much more manuverability and better control. Just once I'd like to see Companies that design and/or manufacture mobility equipment and so called 'accessible' bathrooms actually consult those of us who use their products. I would sure give them an earful.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Reid from Brookshire, TX USA submitted this review on March 1st 2005 at 12:54 PM. Reid is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am a large person and have the bigger one. I have no problems with it and use a Bruno Lift in the back of my Van.
Weaknesses:I have to get down on hands and knees to see the status of my charger. Please modify this and maybe make a small remote unit that could be fastened to the chair with velcro that would have LED's to see the status of battery charging.
Comments:The only fault I have with the unit is the charger
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
tom west from 20 opeloyeru street orile iganmu, lagos state, Nigeria. submitted this review on February 11th 2005 at 04:50 PM. tom west is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:weak
Weaknesses:dont work fine
Comments:it was sent by one of my friend to me in usa.and it does not works fine.i now search for your company online so that i can teel you.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
craig from meadvill, pa. ,usa submitted this review on September 15th 2004 at 09:14 PM. craig is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:the bigger tires with no flat gets me everywhere ( just has to get use to how to get up, down hills .
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
George from Blairstown, NJ submitted this review on August 18th 2004 at 09:10 PM. George is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very sturdy and well made. Very easy to operate. I like the fact that armrests tilt up so you can get right up to a table. Nice when you eat out. I have the reclining van seat and find it very comfortable. Very tight turning radius.
Weaknesses:It has a built in charger which is great but there are no visible lights to tell you the charging status. Also has a charging port in the joystick assembly that allows an external charger.
Comments:Overall a fine chair. Fit and finish is very nice. The one drawback is no charging indicator. I charge across the lawn (I have a BIG yard) and have only managed to tip it once. I have people frequently want to try it out.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End Pro-2 All Sport Wheelchair
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Heavy Duty Power Wheelchairs)
255 Pc
710 PC
888ws_500hd
926p 20
Betatrac
Big Bounder
Big Bounder H-Frame
Bounder Plus
Chairman HD
Excel
HP3
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jet 2HD
Nutron R51 LXP
Pev 2000
Power Wide Recliner 2540
Prairie Cruiser
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quickie QM-715HD
Rascal 314
Rascal 645 Pc
Rascal 710
Rover Express
Sahara RTLE - HP7RTLE
Scout 6 & 6.75
Scout Boss 6 & 6.75
Scout Boss 6NS
TDX SI
Teknique XHD
Titan C - P11C
Wide Power 2500
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy