USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
Ti Lite TR
Written by Stephen
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare Top End - A4, F4
Image of INVACARE Top End - A4, F4
Manual wheelchair with rigid frame.
Seat Width: 12" - 22".
Seat Depth: 14" - 22".
Overall Width: 18.75" - 36.5".
• Product Weight: 14.5 lb. (15" x 16" w/o wheels & accessories).
Product Weight Capacity: 300 lbs.
Caster Options: 3", 4", 5", 6".
Rear Wheel Size: 22", 24", 26".
Seat To Floor Height: Front
17" - 21". Rear seat to floor height: 14.5" - 20".
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1000
Durability?3.4000
Ease of use?3.2000
Meet expectations?3.0000
Overall Rating:2.800.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Billy from Coeburn, Virginia, U.S.A. submitted this review on September 11th 2008 at 03:09 AM. Billy is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very tough chair. The tailgate on my truck fell open while going down the highway at 60+ mph the chair rolled out and hit the pavement. Twicked it just a little and busted one of the axel pins. I think other chairs would have been in pieces. Fairly light weight, I've slung it around for five years.
Weaknesses:Only a few things over the years have gone wrong. The brakes need to be adjusted all the time. (I don't even use them anymore). The upholstery could be more duriable. I've replaced it several times and it's never been cheap to do. The pull string to let the back rest down doesn't stay adjusted like it should. The changeable camber tubes are a plus but you have to really tighten them back up and keep them tight or the tube tends to slide in and out of adjustment.
Comments:I've been in a chair now for 15 years now I've had several different chairs, this is my second A-4 so I've really put them to the test. I'm fixing to get a new chair here real soon if age and shoulder problems weren't a problem I'd get another A-4 but I think I'm going to get a lighter chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Doug from Lynden, Wa, Whatcom submitted this review on December 10th 2006 at 07:57 PM. Doug is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Overall pretty tight
Weaknesses:Frame
Comments:Pretty saticfied w/t chair. Very comfortable...
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
patro from conway, nh, us submitted this review on December 4th 2006 at 10:40 PM. patro is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:manuvers well. i use this chair outside and in the dirt exclusivly. i have the frog leg suspension front and rear and i can drop about 2' before i feel unsafe. i weigh 195.
Weaknesses:very needy chair. if you dont keep up with it, it may go to crapola quickly. this chair needs to be maintained.
it is also very heavey, i have an 06 a4 and i dont care what invicare says, it has junk in the trunk.
Comments:not a good everyday chair (i own a ti-lite tr and a quickie gpv titamium chair, my compairisons). still a great chair for thrashing outside. better than any folder, i have been thru alot of wheelchairs and when it comes down to it the a4 is good but nothing to brag about.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
bill from Oakville, Ontario, Canada submitted this review on March 18th 2006 at 10:48 AM. bill is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have not found any strengths.
Weaknesses:I have broke every part on this chair including the frame which is bent this has all happened in the first month of using and getting warranty parts has taken longer than 6 months to get and i am still waiting
Comments:I do not recomend this chair unless you have a lot of money to throw away i payed $5500 for this and it isn't worth half of that you get get a better chair for 1/3 of the price
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Tom from Orofino Id. submitted this review on August 23rd 2005 at 11:12 PM. Tom is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:nice color
Weaknesses:junk, junk, junk. Heavy, hard to push. Spokes bent easy, brakes need constant adjustment and are in the way during transfers. Chair is way tippy forward. Footrest ground down too fast causing cutting hazard. string pull for backrest is weak.
Comments:This chair was my first chair and until I had a new Ti Lite o compare it to, I lived with it. Ive gotten back into the A4 since Ivebeen in my new chair, and I never want to get back into the A4 again, its like pushing a rock Vs a cloud, the ride is the same.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Nathan from Baldwinville, MA USA submitted this review on March 31st 2004 at 02:03 AM. Nathan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It got me where I wanted to go, but that's about it.
Oh yeah..... and the camber adjustment is kind of cool. I don't ever use it, but I'm guessing that it'll be a good selling point for someone that wants to be able to adjust thier camber fairly quickly.
Weaknesses:Here's a list:
1. It's HEAVY! Although on the invacare site it says that it's lightweight, it's NOT. This thing's a beast.
2. Adjustment mechanisms in the backrest wear out relatively quickly and make an unholy noise when you move around in it.
3. Part of the frame on the back end sticks out when you don't have/use anti-tip bars and become sharp after using it for a few years. Also, the metal footplate becomes sharp in the front. I've been cut by it many times.
4. The push handles are a HUGE pain in the a$$ to put in and take out. Matching up the holes to get the locking pin in is NOT an easy task.
Comments:Look at another chair.
My experience with this chair has been nothing but a headache.
I should know. I've had it for over 4 1/2 years.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Karl from BC Canada submitted this review on June 6th 2003 at 01:29 AM. Karl is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:adjustable
Weaknesses:weight, & durabilty, stuff is either breaking or going out of alignment
Comments:Really wish I had kept my Action AC going instead of getting the A-4. I have the old style A-4 & the new one isn't much better in my opinion. This is my 3rd & final Invacare product. Going to look at RGK, Ti-Lite or the Better Made Wheelchair company instead.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
John from Georgia...USA submitted this review on September 11th 2002 at 06:08 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Heavy duty frame, looks great, and adjustable cambers on one tube.
Weaknesses:Orginal rims bent easily, heavier than other chairs I'm currently looking at, and the back is annoying making noises anytime you move plus it unlocks by itself when being pushed.
Comments:I have been using the A4 since January 2000. I liked the chair back in 2000 but its behind in technology. I think my next chair will either be from Ti or Quickie.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Ronald from Norwood, NJ 07648 submitted this review on March 5th 2002 at 04:51 PM. Ronald is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a srrong, well made chair. It is easy to manuver.
Weaknesses:The frame is heavy. I must lift it withone hand to put it into my car. The low mount brakes are akward to use but they have been with all other wheelchairs I've used too.
Comments:I use a net under my wheelchair to carry things. The net had to be modified becase of the sloped lower frame rail.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Doug from Suffern, NY, USA submitted this review on January 30th 2002 at 11:41 AM. Doug is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable rigid frame. Has needed no repairs to date.
Weaknesses:Ajustable back posts are wobbly. I have tried to tighten them with no success.
Comments:I am spinal cord injured for 15 years T-9.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End Pro-2 All Sport Wheelchair
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Rigid Frame Wheelchairs)
1000
A-6S
AC2
Act
Activ
Active Univers
Advance
Advantage 4
Advantage 4
Aero R
Aero T
Aero Z
Airlite
Airlite
Airlite Pro
Airlite Pro
Avenger
B2
Blizzard
Boing
BT
BT Ballistic
BT-G Tribal
BT-Mg
BT-Mg-A
BT-Mg-AS
BT-Trail
BT-X
Carbon Black
Champion 3000
Champion Wheelchair
Classic TI
Competition
Daily Chair
Dupont Modulo Active Chair
Eclipse
Elite
Evo
Extreme
Fusion
Hallmark
Hi Lite
Hi Lite 3
Hornet
Icon A1
Idra
JAG
K Series
K-Nova 300
K3
K4
Krypto
Leggera
Leggera Compact
Leggera XL
Leggera XT
LY-5000
M1 Marvel
Max Lite
Maxima
MRX
Mtm
Netti 1
Next
Octane
Panther
Panther AX
Pcht
Performance
Performance Superlite
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Prodigy
Quasar
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 5R
Quickie 7 Series
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Q7
Quickie Q7 NextGen
Quickie QRi
Quickie R2
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie XTR
R33
Razorblade
Roller
RoVa 4
Shockwave
Shockwave
SL-5000
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Ti Titanium
Spazz
Spazz-G
Speedy 4all
Speedy F2
Speedy F4
Square Standard Frame
Stiletto
Street Classic
Street Xl
Style
Switch
Switch Attack
Taper Squeeze
Taper Standard
Tilite TRC
Titanium
Titanium
Titanium XL
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Reveal
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Twirl
TR
TRA
Tripod Lt
Tsunami
Typhoon
Ultima
Veloce & Vivace
Voyager
Wolturnus Tukan
Wolturnus W5
Wulturnus W5
Zephyr
ZR
ZRA
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy