USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Action Manufacturing Action Trackchair
Written by Rik
Magic Mobility Extreme X8
Written by David
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Steve
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare Storm TDX4
Image of INVACARE Storm TDX4
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• 4 pole motors
• weight limit up to 300 lbs with a top speed of 6.3 MPH or a weight limit up to 400 lbs and a top speed of 4.5 MPH.
• MK5 electronics with MK5 EX controller and the MK5 DPJ driver control.
• SureStep suspension configured for obstacles up to 3" and rear suspension.
• Can be configured for two 22NF or two Group 24 batteries.
• Up to three 22NF batteries can be used to accommodate a ventilator battery
• Designed to accommodate the full line of 2G Tarsys powered seating systems.
• Speed: 6.3 mph (standard); 4.5 mph (w/optional HD package); 7.5 mph (w/optional TTHD package).
• Seat To Floor Height: Min. 16.5" @ 0 degrees tilt; Max. 21" @ 5 degrees tilt (18.5" and 19" with Tarsys respectively).
• Product Weight Capacity: Standard user weight capacity - 300 lb. with ASBA, 250 lb. with Tarsys, 200 lb. with Tarsys and vent.
• Overall Height: 33.25" with 16" back height on an ASBA; 41" with Tarsys and 20" back height (0 degree seat angle).
• Overall Width: Base: 25.5"; Seat width to outside of joystick (18" width): 24.5"; Seat width to outside of joystick (20" width): 28.5".
• Turning Radius: 22.1" (with CTMR and 18" deep seat) - 23.6" (with 70NHD and 18" deep seat).
• Arm Height: ASBA/2GT: 9-13"
2GR/GTR: 10-16".
• Incline Capability: 9 degrees.
• Overall Length: Base (caster to trailing caster): 35.25".
• Product Weight: 260 lb. (with ASBA seat). 338 lb. (with 2GTR Tarsys).
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1010
Durability?2.902.000
Ease of use?3.604.000
Meet expectations?2.302.000
Overall Rating:2.201.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Chrissy from Worcester, Massachusetts, USA submitted this review on May 31st 2012 at 01:52 PM. Chrissy is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I live in the city and am out in the community everyday. Where I live there are sidewalks but most of them are bad so I ride on the roads. I like the ride. I have the MK5 DPJ joystick. It's extremely responsive and accellerates well. Manuverability is a definate plus. This chair can take a licking and keep on ticking. My chair is 6 years old and I've had no major problems with it.
Weaknesses:The battery indicator does not give enough warning when the chair is about to die. I've been out on the road and everything will be fine, but if you've traveled extensively in a day, beware that it will slow down and die quickly and without warning. If it's a sunny day and you can't see that your battery indicator has two little red blinking lights, you have no way of knowing when your battery will die. Be prepared to carry a cell phone and have someone on standby who can get you home because you can die in the middle of the road. I've done it too many times to mention.
Beware if you have mid wheel drive and your back caster wheels are wearing thin, because the casters are always in contact with the road or sidewalk, large chunks of the caster wheels can come off and make your ride a nigtmare. Stay on top of how much tread you have on ALL your wheels or else you will lose performance and ride comfort quickly. If you ride in the city or travel extensively, get solid tires for better performance, ride comfort and peace of mind.
You feel bumps a lot more than I think you should in a chair, especially if you are riding at full speed and do not see a certain bump, you're going to feel it more.
Comments:Depending upon your weight, chair performs more smoothly in a slight tilt. With a slight tilt chair seems faster and you won't feel the shock from bumps as much.

I will be getting the Storm TDX SP in a month or two. I am excited for my new ride but I've grown sort of attached to this one and will miss it when it's time. We've covered a lot of ground together.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Helen from Penticton BC submitted this review on February 1st 2012 at 09:49 PM. Helen is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:seating uncomfortable, speed is lacking. switching between functions is jerky. It often stops mid-move and reverses direction when it stops.
Comments:Very disappointed and can't wait till I'm in a better one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Abdallah from Los Angeles submitted this review on March 2nd 2011 at 12:15 PM. Abdallah is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is durable, maneuverable, and fast. Could turn on a dime. Lasted since 2003 to yesterday. I didn't have any of the extra features like reclining or electronic footrests. So it has lasted for quite some time.
Weaknesses:In the last year things seemed to go wrong with the chair more frequently.
Comments:Loved the chair, I hope my next chair is that good. Based on all the other reviews about this chair I think I got a diamond in the rough.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Sharon from Lancaster, PA, USA submitted this review on October 10th 2009 at 06:20 PM. Sharon is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Seat is comfortable.
Weaknesses:We have had the chair for 4 1/2 years. The last several years have been terrible. We must wait weeks to get parts so the chair can be fixed. The tilt system stops working. Chair loses power when it goes over bumps. Service people took the chair for several weeks and said their was a problem with the "board" but didn't know how to fix it. Support from supplier is terrible. I have called 3 times for help but calls are not returned because the won't deal with wheelchair problems on the weekends.
Comments:If you must keep a chair for 5 years as we do, because of insurance, I would not recommend this one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Melinda from London submitted this review on February 12th 2009 at 03:33 PM. Melinda is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:sleek design, easy to maneuver indoors ( and outside if its sunny warm and not even a threat of clouds)
Weaknesses:motor faults constantly! This chair is afraid of rain and has thrown me literally into the road on 4 separate occasions. Being a user with cervical and nerve damage all down the spinal cord, this chair is a definate NO. This name should be TDX Sybil, not STORMTDX4 because it definately IS the devil in disguise. The vendor even held it hostage for over 5 months and didnt work on it because he couldn't get it to "fix up" either.
Comments:DEFINATELY not a chair for people on the go and who have to be out in diverse weather. This chair was NOT designed for Canadian climate, unless its solely indoors in a nursing home! Would never purchase , or recommend this chair OR Vendor to anyone! Now have a different vendor and new chair and love both!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
dan from ottawa, ON, canada submitted this review on November 10th 2008 at 10:03 PM. dan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:when changing direction on a ramp it produces strange noises (bangs) and has the tendency to loose control.
Dissappointing!!!!!
Comments:from day one the battery gauge on the Joystick piece have been indicating full battery, although the battery was occasionaly almost out of juice. No way to know the power left in the battery. That's unnaceptable since even a $20 mp3 player has such an indicator.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ray from cincinnati. OH USA submitted this review on September 5th 2008 at 07:23 AM. Ray is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable and quiet
Weaknesses:very dangerous! Center wheels when going over any small bump, threshold, or when going down a ramp can stick up in a retracted posiiton which throws the chair out of control.
Comments:This chair has almost killed me several times. The center wheels after retracting in a upward position over bumps or declines can stay retracted. Sometimes just one of the center wheels retract and then the chair throws you to one side.Sometimes both center wheels have stayed retracted and then they just spin.
I have been thrown off ramps. Almost thrown off an embankment and thrown into traffic.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
rick from barrie, on, canada submitted this review on October 10th 2006 at 08:11 AM. rick is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:it's a power chair
Weaknesses:chair is uless outdoors. is deathly allgeric to rain. an engineer's of a bad joke. it is difficult to push as my wife and other people have had to did it often.
Comments:lots i have had nothing but problems since day one vendor of chair refused to fix it for the first three months. chair had tried to kill me upteen times. hence the chair's affecinate nick name of Christine. If had to do it again would not recomend this chair or vendor that I recived it from.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
j from usa submitted this review on August 21st 2006 at 06:36 PM. j is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:at least it gives me freedom in being a power chair.
Weaknesses:many. as soon as the chair was paid for we have had no more help from the seller and the pt person. the chair does not do what it was implied to do; and there were parts they sold me that don't work with the chair. also as soon as the chair was 1 year old.
Comments:if i had to do it over again, i would have done more research and tried several chairs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
David from Lancaster, Pa, USA submitted this review on January 10th 2005 at 07:45 AM. David is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable chair with good power and torque. Turns on a dime and is great for indoor use
Weaknesses:This chair terribly lacks traction!! Do not take this chair off of a smooth hard surface or you WILL get stuck. The drive wheels cannot overcome the friction of the smaller casters when turning on loose stones or dirt. Don't even think about going up a wet hill. Three words.....spin, spin, spin.
Comments:Don't buy one unless its strictly for indoor use.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
openhighway from VA, USA submitted this review on July 16th 2004 at 07:47 AM. openhighway is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Once programmed correctly, performance is excellent. Highly manuverable and quick. Great range for all day use with the group 24 batteries. Big hills don't phase it.
Weaknesses:The supplied charger takes forever. I got a Soneil 8 AMP, 24 V charger and it's great.

The small, solid front castors make for a somewhat hard ride.
Comments:Rugged and reliable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End Pro-2 All Sport Wheelchair
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
J6 Wheelchair
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 600 ES
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Air
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-7 Series
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy